We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”

Si Chuan Dou Hua Restaurant
Ranked #285 of 10,497 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Fusion, Diner, Healthy, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: The Quays
Description: Si Chuan Dou Hua has been around for over a decade, and has honed its mastery in exceptional fine dining. With authentic Sichuan cuisine, the art of tea and an elegant ambience with a location set atop the UOB Plaza in the heart of the city, it offers an experience that appeals to all senses.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'm not a great fan of Chinese food, but this was pretty good. They should have tried to make the views more accessible (there are ornate designs in front of the windows that block 20% of the view, which is crazy).

But back to the food - the wasabi prawns were excellent. Greens nicely cooked. Cashew nut chicken(?) dish good too. I didn't like the beef dish (too fatty). Didn't like the dim sum, but that was probably just me.

Busy place, so I guess people who are better at judging Chinese food than I like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    98
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great, spicy food and great view”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

you need to book ahead but it is worth it. some of the best Sichuan food (with all levels of spiciness) with superb view on the city (restaurant is located on the 62 (?) floor). I reco beef in black pepper sauce and if you like spicy food - Sichuan style chicken. prices are ok but you need to be prepared to spend 50+ per person without wine if you take 3 dishes. net, go for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
410 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Sichuan food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I went to Sichaun Dou Hua for a business lunch.
The restaurant is very popular and gets very crowded. I suppose that a combination of a reputation for great Sichuan food and a view from the 60th floor makes for a pretty good lunch venue!

We had a number of differnt dishes - xiao long bao, braised pork belly with steamed bread, cold pork with chilli sauce, tea smoked duck and wasabi prawns. I thought the food was quite excellent and of a very high standard. It was certainly better than any Sichuan restaurant I have been to at home in Sydney.

The view is very impressive too although the way the restaurant has been built doesn't seem to really take full advantage of this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“You won't get better Sichuan food in Singapore”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Perched atop UOB Plaza, the view from here is stunning, though you do have to stand up and go to a window to see it. What you'll see from your table is really just a very understated and classy Chinese restaurant.

I wasn't too keen on the vegetable dishes, but the soups, Peking Duck and Sichuan specialty dishes were great.

There was a tea waiter there on the night we dined, keeping everyone topped up with flashy pours from a long-spout pot. The staff are all well trained and food and plates came and went in perfect rhythm.

Unlike most Chinese restaurants, this one has a nicely curated wine list.

If you're looking for Chinese fine-dining, with a few specialist dishes to tempt your jaded tastebuds, this restaurant does it all well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CreativeSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Street dim sum at sky high prices”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The standard has declined for both the ala carte dim sum menu as well as the Tian Fu set menu.

Not only are the portions miserably pitfiully small, the taste is far from a typical Cantonese in taste.

In fact, it would taste much closer to post Cultural Revolution PRC, which reminds one if the har gow is really what it is.

I had 4 different items.

1. steamed prawn dumpling with chives - did this come from a clean farm?

2. Deep fried yam with seafood - all flour and not even golden brown. Whats' the filling again?

3. Steamed siew mai with roe - not bad with loads of the piquant soy paste chilli sauce.

4. Fried spring roll with shredded duck - Where did the meat fly to?

I really feel so sorry for the owner M/s Oei who had put some much effort into the expanding chain of restaurant and it was really good at one time.

And it was unforgettable how the motherland proud waitress from the Mainland insisted I had to speak to her In Mandarin

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jounaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Chuan Dou Hua Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Si Chuan Dou Hua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing