We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean hostel in a good location”
Review of ABC Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ABC Hostel
Ranked #268 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Cebu
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean hostel in a good location”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Traveled to Singapore on route to KL with 5 other friends. We chose the 6-bed dorm type room for our first night stay at ABC. No windows. It was cramped and we barely had room to move around. There is only one electrical outlet so it was always a race to who's the first one to plug her charger in. But for the price of SG$ 21/bed, we really can't be choosers. We were basically out the whole day, so we didn't really miss our accommodation. It was just basically a place to sleep and rest.

The pantry where the guests take their self-service breakfast has a well-stocked bread basket, 2 types of jams, coffee, tea, hot water.

Bathrooms are clean, didn't see any molds at all. Towels are clean, ditto with the bedsheets, blankets and pillowcases.

On our return from KL we stayed at ABC again and this time we booked the 10-bed dorm type room. Now, there is a lot of space to move around. We paid SG$ 18/bed/night. There are already 6 of us so we just paid extra for the 4 other beds so we can have the room exclusively to ourselves. In this room, there is a multiple electrical charger that can accommodate up to 6. Room and shared bathrooms are likewise clean.

Walking distance to Bugis Junction, Bugis MRT Station, Sim Lim, Arab street and the bus stop.

We were able to buy discounted tickets to Universal Studios, SG$ 62. We went to US on a weekend, and the price of the ticket, if bought on site, was SG$ 72. That's SG$10 saved.

Cons:
1. Chinese receptionist (morning) looks perpetually a mixture of irritation, annoyance and anger. The night shift receptionist (Zeny) is more accommodating and pleasant.
2. More electrical outlets should be provided for the multiple bed rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clamoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    50
    10
    18
See reviews for
20
10
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

There was a sour smell in my room and the sheets and pillowcase looked like they hadn't been changed. The showers are so cramped and there's black fungus all over the door. It was so disgusting that I didn't even want to hang my towel or clothing on the hooks. To make things worse, the Chinese receptionist always looks angry and is not polite. If your hostel isn't up to standard, the staff could at least be friendly! All in all, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Futur88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We chose ABC Hostel because it was cheap and located near the MRT station (about 10 minutes walk). I wouldn't say this was a great place to stay but if you don't mind living short-term in a small room without windows, it's an affordable place.

We had a private room with attached bathroom at SGD$ 75 per night.

Pros:
- Walking distance to Bugis Junction/MRT Station
- Restaurants & cafes around the area. Most are halal
- Free bottled water
- Clean bathroom
- Lounge area with a TV
- Cup noodles and drinks were available

Cons:
- Blanket was so thin and small for the both of us; we had to use a towel for more coverage
- WiFi wasn't working on our first day of arrival
- Bed bugs
- Staff refused to lend us an umbrella when it was raining

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Good choice for female solo traveller! The price is affordable and also the location is accesible. You can get here by bus, MRT, or taxi. just simply alight at Bugis MRT station / Bus stop. There are some budget restaurant near the hostel. The location also near to the bugis junction.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesuisputi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The locaton is good, only 10 minutes walk to Bugis MRT station, and there are two bus stop near the hostel. But the toilet is not sufficient, I have to stand in queue to use it in the morning. The toilet condition is awful, full of garbage with a small bin. The shower room is too tiny, it's not easy to move my body without touch the wet wall even my body is so tiny. I also found the staffs are not friendly (two girls) I don't know about the male staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta - Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

1. The hotel is located at Bugis area, 5 minutes walk to Sultan Mosque and 10 minutes walk to Bugis Junction where you can take MRT. Buss access is vary, easily taken from hotel main street.

2. Surrounded by restaurants, mostly served indian and melayu meals, there will be no difficulty for you to find food from here, start from S$ 3! If you want to splurge a little, take a walk to Bugis Junction, you will find various meal there.

3. The room is standard with old bed sheet and furnitures. But it all clean that you know the bed sheet has just been washed. Each room has air conditioner but no window, so you can not expect for fresh air. Well, you are travelling so you do not need to stay at room for a long time, right?

4. I took private room so I get private shower but I have to share toilet with other guests. Not bad at all, cos they clean the toilet every day. Clean!

5. They serves breakfast: bread, margarine, jam and kaya. They also has tea, coffee and creamer of course with sugar. Very standard breakfast but what I love about having breakfast here is you can take the meal to the back or front of hostel where they put several chairs there, chit chat with other guest while enjoying Singapore air.

6. The host is very helpfull, they will happily tell you how to get to somewhere you intend to, and they even will have chit chat with you while having breakfast or smoking at night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dewi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2010

2 days 1 night here, was a cool momment and had a fun here

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdiDunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Amrise Hotel
Amrise Hotel
#276 of 312 in Singapore
210 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#188 of 312 in Singapore
118 reviews
BudgetOne Hotel
#242 of 312 in Singapore
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#248 of 312 in Singapore
424 reviews
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#245 of 312 in Singapore
53 reviews
Home Suite View Hotel
#265 of 312 in Singapore
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hostel

Property: ABC Hostel
Address: 3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 199201, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ABC Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your ABC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotel Singapore
ABC Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing