We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean yet small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
Ranked #108 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Munich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean yet small”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

For a quick stay in Singapore, the Aqueen was fine. The room is very cramped, but the sheets were clean, bathroom spotless, so that is all you need. Balestier Rd has some excellent street restaurants to have meals in, and it is away from the tourist hype. Bus #131 gets you all the way to the marina, but the HRT is not walking distance.

Room Tip: Dont choose 4th floor as it is smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    197
    69
    14
    6
See reviews for
23
61
138
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
pasadena,ca
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at perhaps 20 hotels in S'pore and this is one of the better values. I had 2 stays, both in quiet rooms at the back of the hotel (rm 503, 603). On the plus side, the location is good except the very busy street, the staff is very polite, free WiFi, and the bed is good. My first room had no chair so work was difficult, the second had only a small stool. Also several lights were burnt out and not repaired even after a complaint. It has the problem most cheap hotels here have of the shower over the toilet. There is no refrigerator. A worker did loud work/vacuuming at 7 am one morning. I like it more than Fragrance or Hotel 81, but less than Summer View.

Room Tip: 503/603 or the ones on either side of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcf-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days in 2nd week of Nov 2012

Comments
1. Cleanliness is good in rooms
2. Rooms are too small - very compact - 100 sqft including toilet area of 3ft x 4ft
2. Location of hotel is well connected by bus
3. It is cheap as compared to other hotels in Singapore (slightly less than hotel IBIS)
4. No complimentary break fast
5. No restaurant at hotel
6. There is an Indian tandoori restaurant just opposite the hotel across the road - indians - must try it food is delicious
7. Staff toooo professional and curt, everything is charged extra
8. Good only for singles travelling for business purpose for short duration

I would rather try Ibis next time which is quite close from this hotel. If I dont get a reservation there, then I will go to Aqueen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmasterPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've stayed at Aqueen Balestier several times now and make it my base when I visit Singapore. I'd stayed nearer to Clarke Quay previously, solely as I hadn't been before, so thought it would make sense being near there. As Singapore is easy to get around using the MRT I decided to look further afield to get better value on my future stays. I found Aqueen and am more than happy with it, free wifi was included and though the rooms are small, everything is there for you. The first time I stayed was on my birthday last year and it was nice to to be wished a Happy Birthday by reception,obviously she read the date as she copied my details. Location is a good 10 minute walk from Novena MRT, but plenty of cabs pass by if you don't fancy the walk. Plenty of places to eat close by, so you'll never go hungry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked the hotel online for about 120SGD and arrived early afternoon. Check-in was a breeze, staff very friendly and helpful. The soon i opened the door i thought i was given the laundry room. It measures 2.5 x 3.2m, roughly 8sqm. Miraculously, it has everything you would expect from a good hotel. Water kettle, complimentary coffee&tea, amenieties, 2 bottles of drinking water / day, wardrobe, shower, toilette,aircon, flatscreen TV. Actually amazing how well the space has been used. The bed is on the small size, about 1.90x1,10m, good mattress though and nice pillows. Since i do not spend to much time in my room and use it mostly for sleeping a few hours every night i consider it compeletely sufficient and will certainly return to this hotel.
No restaurant at the hotel, but plenty of 24hr food places and minimart very close to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harald_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this nice boutique hotel. Actually the hotel is nice, clean, the price is good for Singapore standards however the rooms are quite small though it was not a problem for me as I have stayed alone but if you are planning to go with your partner, family or friend you better check other hotels as you will not be comfortable. The worst part of the hotel was about the staff at the reception.. During 2 days stay I had conversation with 2 receptionists and they were not polite at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emrah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel offers very good value in a reasonably central area..only 2 MRT stops from Orchard.

Singapore has many many expensive hotels!! This one is cheaper, if your spending your own money rather than your company.

MRT station Novena is around 10 minutes walk.. If there are 2 or 3 of you, it might be the same price to get a cab to Ochard area...

The room had all the mod cons.. safe, internet etc.. The bathroom clean but tiny.

Room Tip: Get the mini transfer from Changi airport direct to this hotel... 9 SGD (Its to far away from MRT t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkfromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
#102 of 306 in Singapore
57 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar
#142 of 306 in Singapore
241 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Paya Lebar
#84 of 306 in Singapore
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#94 of 306 in Singapore
354 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
295 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#146 of 306 in Singapore
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqueen Hotel Balestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Property: Aqueen Hotel Balestier
Address: 387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#72 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqueen Hotel Balestier 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer executive class hospitality to business & leisure travelers. We strive to deliver comfort, warmth, friendly service & genuine quality to all our guests. We are located close to the Central Business District & are conveniently served by the Mass Rapid Transit network. We are also near convention venues such as Singapore Expo and the Suntec Convention Centre. The Hotel is surrounded by Singapore's famous eating places as well as cultural historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqueen Hotel Balestier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqueen Hotel Balestier Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing