We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum

Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum
288 South Bridge Road, Singapore 058840, Singapore (Chinatown)
65 6220 0220
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$29*
and up
Uncover the Gems of Chinatown Singapore
Ranked #11 of 733 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum (BTRTM) was founded in 2002 by Venerable Shi Fazhao. It was registered by the Registrar of Societies in 20th February 2003, and as a charity under the Charities Act in 8th January 2004. The Temple is dedicated to the Maitreya Buddha, which means 'The Compassionate One', and also called 'The Future Buddha'. Weekly Free Guided Tour of Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum BTRTM is pleased to offer a 1 1/2 - 2 hrs long guided tour of the Temple every Saturdays at 2pm. The tour will be conducted free-of-charge in English by the temple's Volunteers guides. Limited slots are available per weekly session. Confirmed registration is based on first-come-first-serve basis. Things to take note : * Avoid wearing hats, shorts or revealing tops * The organizer reserves the right to cancel the tour due to unforeseen circumstances. In such instances, registrants will be notified via their mobile phones.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stop by during a Buddhist service if possible (my wife and I were lucky enough to stop by during an investiture of Buddhist nuns. The entryway elevator leads to an excellent balcony view of the interior. One block from the Maxwell Food Court and in the southern corner of Chinatown.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank VinCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,806
    1,320
    282
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Calm and Tranquility in such a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited several temples during our stay and we must admit the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple was the most stunning of the temples we visited,it is situated over several floors and the architecture and decoration is beautiful. well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank webboWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place is so beautiful and serene. It is a must to explore each and every floor to fully appreciate the marvellous statues and background stories to Buddhism and Buddhist related topics.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“cultural experience for western visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

100s of devout worshipers; giant golden figures and eye catching sacred altars, incense burning. Wonderful experience and an easily accessible during your Chinatown visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brigantinebeach_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant diversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped to take photos and then went into the temple. It is very clean, was surprised to see a library and tea house on the upper level so we stopped for a tea. Very nice place and very peaceful. After this we were blessed by a monk and we made a offering of flowers with a candle burning. You should stop by an after shopping the stalls go inside the temple for some peace and quiet time to reflect and be a little mindful like the Buddha teaches

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing