We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Teochew Restaurant Huat Kee
Ranked #6,567 of 10,680 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Huat Kee on Sat early evening for 17 persons. Dishes ordered: prawn roll (hae cho), steamed pomfret, goose meat combo, spicy crayfish, fish maw soup, fried Kai Lan, fried chicken with glutinous rice, birthday buns and orh née dessert. Meal per table costs $398.

Huat Kee is an established Teochew restaurant known for its good staple Teochew dishes and we came with high expectation for a nice hearty dinner to celebrate our mum's birthday.

We were the first group of diners at 1830 hrs and all the food served were lukewarm and lacked sufficient seasoning for a delicious dinner. Service and ambience is better than the food! Very disappointing and what a letdown. Not sure if their regular chefs had an off day but this will be our first and last dinner there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food reasonable price”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

a family run teochew restaurant. food is good and robust. do not expect fine cooking but its typical comfort teochew food. go for the cabbage wrap chicken and olive with minced meat. this dish is best with a bowl of piping hot porridge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
630 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“A taste of teochew”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

agree with other reviewers the food here is authentic teochew in a nice business like setting. We have the usual/standard fare, cold dish (with ngoh hiang/springroll), steamed pomfret, fish maw soup, half small lobster in bee hoon, steamed kailan and to top it up with tao suan and on nee (yam dessert laced in gingko nuts) which my teochew friends claimed to be the best in town (see my pix).

Yes, i would come back again but be forewarned those with western or cantonese food preferences, you may have a different opinion. It s enjoyable for me though my normal preference is cantonese as opposed to szechuan or hokkien style. Enjoy !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Authentic Teochew food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went there for family function for Sunday lunch.

The restaurant serves authentic Teochew food at ok prices.

It's my 2nd time there. Food quality is consistent. Would revisit and repeat dishes which are nice and avoid so-so dishes. Service is fast.

Steam pomfret, Teochew style: delicious and fresh, a big fish for 9 of us, $70. We enjoy it though it's not cheap.
Braised goose meat slice, good, $14
Braised cabbage with chicken in a pot, flavourful, $18.
Oh luak (fried oyster omlette): I like it, slightly crispy, eat while it's hot, $16.
Braised pork (mix of lean and fatty meat), a bit dry
Spinach in hot pot, so-so, take some getting used to the taste
double boiled soup: watery, $30, I will avoid next time
oh nee (yam paste with gingko nut and mashed pumpkin, a Teochew dessert), good, not as oily as others, $4/bowl
red bean/lotus seed paste balls (a dessert), OK, $10 for 10 balls.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Teochew cuisine”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Established and well-known restaurant located in Chinatown. Helmed by the Owner, the Kitchen offers all the traditional Teochew favourites, eg Braised Goose, Cold Crabs, and Ohr Nee. Consistently high quality and very tasty food. Patrons are welcome to bring their own wines and the service is first-rate. Nice ambience and decor to match.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmFLoge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teochew Restaurant Huat Kee also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Teochew Restaurant Huat Kee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing