We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staffs and inproper sleep place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Ranked #138 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staffs and inproper sleep place”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The staffs don't seems to be friendly at all upon arrival. There are bunk beds along all the corridors which causes uncomfortable feeling and inconvenient to walk around the place. The sound proof is really bad, as the room is not fully partitioned up to the ceiling, the lights are not working throughout the two days of my stay. Not able to even talk in the room, no privacy at all. The wifi connection is not stable. Even staff working there did not bother to flush the toilet after using it. However, the cleanliness is acceptable and the location is great. Also, there are plenty of power socket available. In short, I will not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are some beds without curtains where people can see you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    60
    78
    23
    32
See reviews for
18
59
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location of this hostel is fantastic - in the heart of Chinatown and super close to everything. MRT (Chinatown) just a few minutes walk away. Buses at the end of the street, very easy also to get taxis from here.

I had a private double bed room which was very small but cosy and comfortable. It had multiple power sockets which was just awesome! the room also had very good aircon which I appreciated greatly. This building is a converted shophouse, so there are no elevators and you will have to carry your bags upstairs, however this was no problem for me. The bed was pretty comfortable, however I personally found the pillows to be far too soft. The lockers in the rooms are great and there is a large size wardrobe in the room as well. It was wonderful to be able to use a very quick and efficient washing machine for free having been on the road for two weeks.

The bathrooms are okay, yes as some others have pointed out it is a little annoying to have water on the toilet seat but hey, whatever....you get over it! The showers are good and you get a good nights sleep and a nice shower - heck, it's Singapore man, you should be out exploring the city!

Internet wise, sometimes I could connect to the wifi and sometimes I couldn't but there are computers on each floor that you can use with nice fast Internet so no drama.

The staff were super accommodating, super friendly and helpful and were absolutely fantastic. I was very well looked after and the guys went out of their way to help me which I really appreciated.
On service alone they get 5 stars! I'd come back anytime to this hostel just because they were so damn nice and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaguegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed there in July 2013 with my friends. My room was the 4-people mixed dorm. Overall, the room was nice. The bed an sheet were clean. They also provide blankets and towels in room. Electricity plugs and reading lights are available beside each bed. I was lucky to have a private air con in my room so we can set the temperature on our preference while my friends on the other rooms needed to share and felt cold every night.

The internet connection was excellent but there was only one computer for the 1st floor guest.
They have heater in bathrooms, but the cleanliness is poor. we needed to clean it up before we use it. The best thing about Backpackers Inn is the location. It is located only 5-minute walk from Chinatown MRT station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent there 4 nights in the end of May 2013. Rooms are clean, but our's did not come with a window - we did not bother though, we are used to it in Asia. There is fast free Wifi and a computer and kitchen facilities and laundry for free use! Location is very central with lots of shops and eateries close by. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I chose to pre book here as I heard beds full up fast in Singapore. Looked it up online everything looked ok, free laundry and powder was something other places didn't seem to offer so I went for it. Was extremely disappointed when I arrived, I had paid a couple extra dollars for a bed in a 6 bed mixed dorm thinking if there's 6 beds less noise etc, the 6 bed dorm was actually just 6 beds curtained off from the rest. Further more my top bunk was right beside the kitchen and laundry area and the curtain didn't go across all the way, so there was always light coming through to my bed and noise from the washer and dryer. I ended up using it as a motivation to get the most out of my day so i only had to be there to shower, sleep and make use of the free wifi. Also during the 7 nights I stayed I only met one person to have a quick chat too, the main clientele seems to be middle aged Asians either alone or with their families. Also the bathrooms weren't the best, they had both shower and toilet in the one room and often other guests didn't think to put down the lid when showering so you have to wipe down the toilet pretty much every time you use it. The staff were helpful but most never went out of their way or were overly nice... Overall it's not the worst place to stay but for the same price or a couple dollars more you can do ALOT better in the same area.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a smaller no. Of beds dorm if you are a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffymossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were in Singapore for just one night, and this was the perfect place for us to be. The location is great, and it's just found the corner from the Chinatown stop on the MRT.

The room was okay - very small, no windows, but good AC and seemed clean enough. The bathroom was also just okay. There is no real 'hang out area'.

Overall, a decent place with a great location. I would stay here again if I was coming to Singapore for a short time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gaby0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

A affordable place for Singapore safe good location opposite people's park center beside metro Chinatown five minute walk to split into two parts large sleeping areas contained in curtained room's. Friendly staff 24 hour r3ception can book online 10% deposit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyUKandIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#150 of 231 in Singapore
57 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#84 of 231 in Singapore
76 reviews
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#56 of 231 in Singapore
179 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#39 of 231 in Singapore
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn Chinatown

Property: Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Address: 30 Mosque Street 27 | Chinatown, Singapore 059508, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inn Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Backpackers Inn Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Hotel Singapore
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing