We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Ranked #138 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
UK and Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modest and clean”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

A affordable place for Singapore safe good location opposite people's park center beside metro Chinatown five minute walk to split into two parts large sleeping areas contained in curtained room's. Friendly staff 24 hour r3ception can book online 10% deposit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyUKandIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    60
    78
    23
    32
See reviews for
18
59
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple and we spent 2 nights there. The room was too small, the bed was between the walls, so you can't walk or stay comfortable there.
The kitchen and the bathrooms also are too small.
It's a hostel to stop quickly there, no stay a lot in the room and in the building.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed here on a few occasions since 2012 till recently.

The location right at the heart of Chinatown is very strategic especially if you want easy access to the MRT and also to CBD.

From the private bedroom to the 4-bed dorm room to the 6-bed mixed areas, the beds are well maintained and clean. Air conditioning is adequate and comfortable for a good night's sleep. The bathrooms are always kept clean. If you need to do laundry, washing machine is available for rent and ironing facilities are also available to be borrowed.

The staff are professional and are always ready to lend a hand on any issues encountered.

In summary, I would choose to stay in this hostel again whenever I am in Singapore. That goes the same for my friends too!

Room Tip: Any room / bed is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our rooms was super small, us two could not stand up and dress up or look for smth in a bag. The room was clean, however, the common bathroom was not that clean. I think its needs a proper scrub. Its strange that the hostel does not have a common room, so if you want to have small breakfast, you have to eat in your room. Also, try to avoid the rooms into the steet side. We arrive on the weekend and below the hostel there is a bar, the music goes on till 3 pm, it was good that we were tired, so it did not bother us that much, but around 4am people there was a couple who where arguing in a street. We could hear everything.
In short, its an OK hostel with a little bit Improvement needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Small Rooms, no walls around the doorms only blankets - so you can hear when sb. 3 "doorms" away is snorring, the stuff punked me by paying in the www they wrote it only costs 150 per week but in Singapore they took 28 per each night, I can only tell how it was in the 20 bed&8bed&6bed doorm, the Toilets where 1 meter away from my pillow so I can Hear every ball of [--] dropping at night (wonderful) maybe the 2 bed room is better?? I hope so because all the other rooms Suck - the only good thing about this hostel is that u can wash your things without paying money .....
Ive travelled a lot in Hostels while Backpacking, and this was the most horrible Inn ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanchoBaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'll be honest - this is the smallest place I have ever stayed. We shared a room with 2 bunks. We couldn't store our backpacks in the lockers so I recommend taking a lock if you are travelling with a large or oversized bag. There is no space at all in the hostel. No communal area and no room at all in the "room". That said it was cheap and we were never home so it did the trick.Wifi is great and speedy (and free). If you can deal with how small it is then it's ok and it is value for money, Chinatown rocks too so the location is great. You would probably get cabin fever if you stayed more than 2 days.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room otherwise you will get a bunk in the open floor living are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiNZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On my last trip in July 2012, the reception take us to the other building - separate from the reception, which is clean, comfy, quiet - complete facility and free internet access. Perfect for gals traveler. Quiet near to Chinnatown MRT, Mosque, and Shrine. Food? plenty choices. There's lot of souvenirs shops.

Room Tip: ask to use next building; not too crowded. i use room for 3 person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#150 of 231 in Singapore
57 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#85 of 231 in Singapore
76 reviews
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#56 of 231 in Singapore
179 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 231 in Singapore
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn Chinatown

Property: Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Address: 30 Mosque Street 27 | Chinatown, Singapore 059508, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inn Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Backpackers Inn Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Hotel Singapore
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing