We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Avoid it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Beach Resort
Save
You added City Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #291 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were musty n smelt terrible. Cleanliness suspicious. Breakfast was very very simple n totally inadequate. It was to be from 7-9am. When my friends n I came at 830am, there was only plain porridge with absolutely no condiments left. They confirmed that they were not replenishing! Worse! Even the bread had run out! We only had plain very very very watery porridge and hard boiled eggs. No refund either for what we paid for. Seriously, avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank D77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is perhaps the worst 'hotel' in Singapore. A total insult to the beautiful city. The rooms were of sub-standard condition - small, cardboards were falling off, extra bed was very squeaky, bathrooms were not clean, toilet had weird noises coming out once in a while, chairs were moldy (yes..). The front desk staff could barely speak proper English (mainland Chinese I suppose), safety protocol was flawed... There was an instance when I locked myself out of the room. I proceeded to the front desk to ask for an extra key and GUESS WHAT? They gave me the MASTER KEY! Dining area's mood and atmosphere can certainly be improved to a 3-star hotel's standard. Food was plain and there was a lack of variety.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TheFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Never, ever, stay in this resort. Totally made my holiday terrible!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lleoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Personally I have been to Singapore for sport competition. This hotel is near the river and of course a nice view. So it's good for us. But for those of you who want to travel only in the city. DON'T choose this hotel! first, It locates in the alley which is very far to walk in from the main street, like a kilometer. In the main street, it has a bus stop, number 100 to the city. (if I'm not wrong.) This bus will pass to Vivo City, Merlion, Esplanade etc. Check for the specific schedule again.

The price isn't cheap much for backpackers. For business man and who need to stay in a beautifull resort. The breakfast food is suck. I don't quite like muslim food of their tastes. There are a seafood restaurant in front of the resort also a small bar in the corner. The room is...well not bad actually. Cable TV is suck and the air conditioner is so hot. The bathroom is good. Heater like other resort.

TIPS : If you have to stay in this resort, make sure you have a map cause it's quite hard to find for tourists like us. Some Singapore people, they don't know the way. If you have your own car, will be better. If you want to travel in the city, please don't stay in this hotel. It's far for you to catch a MRT station. It's like 20 minutes to city by a bus, no traffic jam.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank daniworldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

On nov 27,2009 I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights .on the first night, there was a cockroach in my room . I saw it with my own eyes . my friends and I quickly ran to the lobby for some help. We requested for a room change. But they didn't let us change our room till the second night. So we had no choice but sit and wait in the lobby for 1 whole night.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dfhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

My group of 5 families (10 adults & 7 children) stayed there on 14 March 2009 for a school holidays' getaway! We booked 5 Premium Rooms at a group's rate of S$120 each with complimentary breakfast for everyone.

This is not really a resort but an ex-army camp converted into hotel rooms, caters more for China tourist groups.

The location is inconvenient as It is far inside the Labrador Nature Reserve, only good for those who drive, free parking on site.

The staffs were friendly and helpful but almost all the staffs on duty that day were Chinese but could speak simple English. The check-in (2pm onwards) and check-out (2pm latest) were fast.

The Premium Rooms are spacious with a double and 2 single beds, the toilet has only shower, no complimentary toiletries but has bath gel and shampoo provided in the shower room.

The breakfast buffet was Chinese style with fried eggs, noodles, mee hoon, mini hot dogs, bread, etc and hot drinks which served between 7am and 9am.

There is a seafood restaurant just opposite the hotel.

The 'pool' is only good for children's water play, not really a swimming pool.

I won't recommend this hotel to light sleeper as it can be noisy at the corridor early morning when the tour groups depart.

But i would recommend it to the locals who want a short getaway or overseas friends who prefer a hotel in a nature reserve location but with rental car or transportation arranged .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sc_myinitial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
0.7 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
#183 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Viva
Fragrance Hotel - Viva
#237 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Hotel Singapore
Bay Hotel Singapore
#138 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
#296 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
2.6 mi away
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#127 of 305 in Singapore
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
#84 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beach Resort

Property: City Beach Resort
Address: 8 Port Road City Beach Resort, Singapore 117540, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
City Beach Hotel Singapore
City Beach Resort Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing