We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in the Santa Grand....Little India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Ranked #161 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Santa Grand! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with advice and directions for places of interest round Singapore. The area is a lot of fun and the breakfasts next door were amazing!! The beds were very comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funtimesBlackheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment! We are glad to know that you have an enjoyable stay with us. I will definitely share your positive feedback with my team.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is fine, pretty good overall. But I really have a huge problem with the locality.. scary... can't walk without looking over your shoulders all the time.. on Sunday afternoon, millions of males starts to crowd the area. They swamped the area and just loiter around, disturbing traffic for cars and pedestrians. No females can be located, it's like they are hiding from all these males.. makes you wonder why... this place suddenly feels like you're in an alien world of males. And they didn't help the situation as their prying eyes were ogling at my female partner. We felt suffocated at this area.

Room Tip: Rooms are small.. good quality beds, poor quality pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dino_Zulkiffli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a pretty good stay with us overall.

For the location,we are sorry to hear that you have an unpleasant experience in this heritage area. Little India is an Indian heritage area where Indian, culture, food and environment can be experienced. Singapore is a safe place and the males that you have mentioned are mainly (Indian)foreign workers enjoying their weekend and they are generally not a problem given. In fact, there are some guests commented that you do not need to go to New Delhi to see India!

Whilst the location of Santa Grand Hotel Little India may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Felt suffocated due to room size, although very clean. The hotel nickelled and dimed me for everything from charging for an electric converter to not giving me breakfast voucher. Was penalized for checking in 3 hours early even though there was a room ready and available. I have travelled the world over and almost all hotels will let you check in if room available and ready. Had to request for bath soap; none provided if you do not request. Will definitely look for alternatives next time in Singapore, cost not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliyusufali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and noted some positive points about Santa Grand Hotel Little India.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our hotel procedures and have reevaluated our policies and made improvements including giving our frontline staff some flexibility measures to the policy with the intention of personalizing our service to meet guest’s circumstances.

As regards the breakfast voucher, we are sorry to hear that you did not receive the voucher until you requested. We have taken steps to ensure that all guests get the voucher on check-in. Thank you for bringing up this issue as we see this as an opportunity to improve ourselves.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a very small hotel for those who just want a room and nothing else. Most staff are very nice and helpful. The room is very small but with all the basic facilities -- TV, fridge, hair-dryer, water kettle, Internet. Furnishings showing age. Be warned that the whole area has only Indian shops and restaurants, and it is swarming with South Asian migrants who gather everywhere, including the hotel's doorstep, day and night. It is noisy and there isn't any 7-11 or non-Indian food in the area. MRT is 10 minutes' walk. Breakfast is included -- to be had in a dirty Indian eating shop downstairs -- after having had great Indian food in Malaysia, this is pretty horrid stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment about our hotel room.

At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Whilst the location of Santa Grand Hotel Little India may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

We appreciate your valueble feedback and we are sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. The Indian restaurant serves authentic local indian breakfast. While it reflects the ambience and the taste of India in this heritage area.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and look forward to serving you again very soon.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The three star rating is sort of mean - we thought 3 & half was fairer and really judged against other Singapore hotels in this price bracket maybe 4 stars would be right. It's small but clean and in a very colourful & yes, Indian, part of the City. We were only staying overnight before going on to KL the next day and it fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virtual_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment. We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at The Santa Grand group of hotels on a few occasions in the last year and most recently till today starting from the 11th of July 2012. Of these I have stayed at the Santa Grand Little India Hotel on two separate occasions, one for about 15 days last year and again for three days this year, this little hotel has earned my deepest respect mostly due to the dedication of its staff and their timely services, especially the work of whom I would consider the eldest and most experienced staff member, a nice lady called Jane Pang. Folks! if there is anything you need sorting out at that hotel, she's the person to go to.In addition to that, the cost is reasonable, the rooms are small but well equipped and comfortable which indeed has led me to conclude to my initial title for this review called SIMPLICITY IS THE NEW GRANDEUR ! Kudos to all the staff of Santa Grand Little India.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank premkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Your valuable compliments on Jane Pang have been passed on to the top management to recognize Jane’s effort and we are sure that she will be even more motivated in maintaining a high level of customer service.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and look forward to serving you again very soon.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Santa Grand is a great little hotel. It's tiny, but is in an excellent location in the heart of Singapore. Rooms are clean, if a little small, and service is great. It's also very safe, and they offer some great early-bird rates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sigatots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment and patronage at Santa Grand Hotel Little India.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#188 of 319 in Singapore
41 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#231 of 319 in Singapore
199 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#144 of 319 in Singapore
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#122 of 319 in Singapore
527 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#167 of 319 in Singapore
575 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#173 of 319 in Singapore
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Little India

Address: 3 Veerasamy Road Santa Grand Hotel Little India, Singapore 207309, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $61 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel Little India 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Serangoon and Veerasamy Road, Santa Grand Hotel Little India is surrounded by places of interest such as Arab Street, Little India Arcade, a Sikh temple, as well as the popular shopping haven Mustafa Centre. Converted from a five-storey 1950s building, the hotel is surrounded by the sights, smells and sounds of Little India. It offers all the convenience of a modern hotel with fantastic guest services. Strategically located in the heart of Singapore's Indian Cultural enclave, the hotel provides travellers the chance to immerse in Indian culture or festivals such as Deepavali and Thaipusam. The IT mecca of Sim Lim is a second major draw for Little India. With this internationally known IT mall on our doorstep, many travellers will select Little India specifically to take advantage of the fantastic selection of IT products and accessories that are on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Little India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Little India Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing