We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Value Hotel Balestier
Ranked #182 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Whenever me and my fiancee need a break we will choose this hotel.It was a pleasant stay with affordable,clean room.Friendly staff like Mr Tan Kok Pul and front desk Addison,Mandy,Aden Edlynn really made my stay more pleasant.Check in was fast,as I always need extra pillow,the staff always made sure I have my needs.Thank you to the staff of Value Hotel
Location wise,there is a bus stop just outside the hotel.Flaging down a taxi is easy and is only 5-10 minutes ride to town area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AChin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 665 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Value Hotel Balestier lived up to its name. Here are the reasons I found a home in this simple yet very nice hotel:

1. It's a simple twin room and yet It's a real value for money. It's the warm hospitality shown to us by the staff of this hotel that made the real difference. From very responsive and courteous receptionists to very helpful baggage assistants who all go the extra mile to make you feel important and your needs attended to. The culture is just different. Whoever manages this hotel is doing a real good job. It's reflected in the attitude and quality of employees they hire. You, too, will surely find this hotel a home away from home.

2. Excellent location -- hotel is strategically located to bus stops -- just across the hotel -- (particularly for Bus 124 -- which comfortably passes by Orchard, Chinatown -- and goes all the way to Harbourfront -- where one can connect easily to Sentosa/Univ Studios via RWS8 bus)

3. Fast and convenient check-in and check-out.
4. Comfortable beddings and quiet place. Privacy respected. Every night we had a very good sleep.
5. Excellent hot and cold shower
6. Clean rooms and surroundings. Cold aircon throughout the hotel, including the lobby.
7. Free wi-fi internet. Made us feel just relaxing in the comfort of our own living room, while surfing the net and connecting to friends and family on FB.

Just a minor suggestion, would be great if there are more than one electric outlets in the room, and pls put it away from the mirror to prevent the mirror from breaking due to boiler steam. Other than that, everything else was a breeze.

I will definitely come back and recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Till next family vacation! You had no idea how you contributed to making our trip stress-free. Thank you. :)

Marijune -- Manila, Philippines (Dec 23-28, 2013) Family Vacation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marie835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had stayed for 2 nights here during the new year holiday with my family and it was a pleasant stay. Rooms was A-OK and clean. location wise was far from the city area but there a shuttle service provided for guest and its for FREE !!!!downside is they will only drop you off at novina mrt. But i will like to say thank you to Mr Rohaizad from front desk. His service is amazing, i believe he is the asset to the property because of his service as well as all the other staff. will come again in the future and will highly recommend this place to friends

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andylati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed here twice. Though the MRT was quite far but the bus stops are just opposite. The aircon is so cold and I enjoyed it because it's proper boiling in Singapore. The room is small but cosy. Check in was fast. I didn't encounter any problems on noise. Either I was too tired or there wasn't any noise. Overall, I would still like to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank active92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have traveled to Singapore many times and stayed in many hotels. But, I must admit the stay we had at the Value Hotel Balestier has been one of the best so far. Key highlights are..
- Friendly and helpful staff especially Bruce, Addsion and Rohaizad. The help we got in identifying the buses, mrt and directions from Tan Kok Pui is commendable!
- No questions asked access to internet tokens and good connection.
- Clean room and daily cleaning
- Easy access to bus stop (both directions just next to the hotel)
- Close to Toa Payoh stadium, gym and the swimming pool!!
- 7/11 and other shops near by
- Quick access lift
Look forward to staying again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you are on a holiday/business trip. Bus stop is right in front of the hotel and they run free shuttle service to MRT (Novena MRT 1.5 km) hourly till 12:00 hrs, daily. Really good budget hotel, if you really dont expect 5-Star facilities.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Ajith_Gopinathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff incl the manager (amin ) , staff include Bruce , Vearn and Edin , Addison , Mandy and June of the value ballestier has been extremely supportive and service minded for me , they have been always very friendly .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phantom634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Nice
#193 of 319 in Singapore
244 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#185 of 319 in Singapore
320 reviews
Value Hotel Thomson
#213 of 319 in Singapore
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#131 of 319 in Singapore
483 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 319 in Singapore
281 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#190 of 319 in Singapore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Balestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Balestier

Address: 218 Balestier Road, Singapore, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $59 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Hotel Balestier 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Hotel Balestier is a new hotel with 208 well appointed rooms, within a chain consisting of 3 hotels under the Value Hotel brand. Value Hotel strives to provide nice comfortable accommodation at good value. All rooms come with broadband internet (cable) connection (Free complimentary internet access when you book with us now), large LCD TV with cabled channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Value Hotel Balestier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Singapore
Value Hotel Balestier Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing