We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely south indian food”
Review of Murugan Idli Shop

Murugan Idli Shop
Ranked #483 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Little India
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Homely south indian food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been to this eatery many times every since this place opened a few years ago and is always our go-to place when we are seeking reasonably priced and homely idlis and dosas. The idlis are outstanding and so are the 4 delicious chutneys they serve alongside in unlimited quantity. Dosas, vadas and pongal are excellent too. Finger-licking good. The service is generally very good though during busy times e.g. weekend evenings, the service may not be that great. This is not a place for ambience (which is very basic) or for wide variety of eating options (menu is limited), but if you are looking for hot, fresh, delicious and very satisfying idlis, dosas, vadas, pongal etc, this place will not disappoint!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NUPURJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    98
    25
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
“Outstanding & Authentic Fare served with a smile!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Modest looking Murugan Idli Shop dishes out authentic South Indian snacks with mouthwatering taste! The service is polite and brisk and families are welcome. Price is very reasonable. A must- visit in Singapore, for sure!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VSKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent spot for all three meals”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were living on staple food from Komalas while on a five day trip in Singapore, till we happened to notice Murugan Idli one road behind our hotel Grand Chancellor. Our first impression on breakfast was that breakfast was very homely. Then we had takeaway for lunch and on another day we had dinner. Enjoyed all the meals, would rate this as one of the best Veg joints in Singapore, even with its limited menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravi512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good For Idli only”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food is expensive and they have limited choice of food. Service is good. You can get better food at komalas

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SUNPAWAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Good place for idlis, unfortunately vegetarian only”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I missed the opportunity to visit the MIS while at Chennai, so naturally when I found out there's one in Singapore, didn't give it a miss. Their steaming hot idlis are perfectly cooked, saambar (gravy) was runny as it should be for idlis and they have variety of chutneys. If only they have chicken or mutton curry, I'll be enslaved at this place for their food. MIS are vegetarian only shop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murugan Idli Shop also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Murugan Idli Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing