We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frequented by "ladies of the night" and noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 - Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 81 - Heritage
Ranked #205 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Frequented by "ladies of the night" and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Don't stay at this place. It is very noisy, particularly from the click of stiletto heels all night. The comings and goings are amusing, but annoying when one wants to sleep. Staff was indifferent. Unfortunately, we had to upgrade and pay more for a different room, but that was still noisy from street noise. Don't pre-pay via some outfit like Agoda which is non-responsive to any complaint and totally lacks any type of customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    40
    16
    13
See reviews for
45
33
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

It was not our first option in Singapore.
We first booked a room in the BLP hotel (for the price) but it was disappointing.
We stayed at the BLP only one night. We then looked around and found the Hotel 81 on the Beach road but it was full. However the Heritage one was not full.
So we ended there.

We stayed 3 nights. The price is higher than the BLP but the room service, television and bathroom (with hairdryer :-) ) were worth to pay.
It is a quiet hotel even if we are on a main road.

The good surprise was the neighbourhood of the hotel : Arab street.
It is a living and nice area with lot of restaurants.
The streets are colorfull and lovely.
I guess it is an area you don't expect to see as such in Singapore!
It is a bit downtown but you have the Bugis station.
Finally we were really happy of our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antiti0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

My stay have been a wonderful at hotel 81. The room is clean n the location is surrounded with great eating places n historic sites..worth every penny i spent 

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZukZuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

It is a sad statement on a country's hotels when hotel like this gets an average rating - but in Singapore it is fair.
The rooms are tiny, but clean. The sheets are very plasticy, which is quite disturbing but again reinforces the cleanliness.
We got home late and spent very little time in the room, which ok - that is how they're meant to be used. It helped that the hotel was quite empty. If the hotel had been full for some even (e.g. the grand prix) I think this place would be a hell hole. The walls and doors are paper-thin, and you can hear every footstep down the wooden floored hallway outside.
Location is the big plus for this hotel - it is just a short walk from the centre where busses from Malaysia arrive and depart. There are also numerous small pubs and restraunts within a short walk. Walking to the CBD is a little far - but it is an interesting journey, past little india and various other locals. For a quicker trip the train station is less than 10min walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyro_104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#196 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#146 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#229 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#124 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Hotel 81 Selegie
#200 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#215 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Heritage

Property: Hotel 81 - Heritage
Address: 71 Jalan Sultan, Singapore 198985, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 81 - Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 81 - Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Heritage Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing