We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most Beautiful house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L Residence
Ranked #208 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most Beautiful house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

we Have had a wonderful time bed & breakfast in the most beautiful house and kindly service.,,,,,,,i like that it makes me feels like m at own home...
i loveeeee to spend more time there
want to back in near future


i like the new look..... amazing!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterxavier28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
14
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
237 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

You are not going to find many such accommodation options in a dense city, much less in the little island of Singapore - ample space, privately managed by the owner of the property.

Off the beaten track, me and my spouse chose the L Residence over the swanky, stiff hotels in Singapore.

The room we stayed in was big and clean, with an attached bathroom.

We were impressed by the size of the property, the tastefully decorated hall that leads to the many rooms in the villa. There is a nice size patio for you to unwind and listen to the birds and enjoy the sun. Yes, the owner keeps many feathered friends as pets in a little aviary, including Mandarin Ducks! How cool is that. There is even a basement swimming pool. We had the whole house to ourselves for most part of the stay (we stayed for 6 nights) and the experience was truely private and relaxed.

Breakfast is served everyday. The house keeper was helpful and available. Internet access available via WIFI FOC.

There is ample parking spaces to the property and you would need to have a car (or rent one) to make your stay more convenient. Situated at Upper Bukit Timah Road, you have easy and quick access to the highways (PIE,CTE,BKE) and 5min to hit the downtown.

I believe the owner allows booking of the hall for private functions and events/dinner. If one's house is not big enough to host such an event, this can be an interesting choice.

Overall, an incredibly unique experience which, as a Singaporean, I am not aware of until now. Book early to avoid disappointment.

For those who needs the pampering of bellboys, turndown services and hotel reward points can look elsewhere. Travellers with 70 pound luggage and full cartbag of golf gear to note: No elevators to the rooms at the 2nd and 3rd floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I was there last year for few days when I wanted to stay away from hotels in Orchard road area. When I need a few nights accommodation last week, I booked and stayed there again, this time with my wife.

Again we liked the location, the help we got such as booking taxi, and the normal B&B benefits. My wife however was not happy about the condition of the bathroom... very simple and not very well maintained. We were trying to keep it clean but the whole bathroom gets messy very easily but difficulty to clean it up. Other inconveniences are no cups(holding our own toothbrush), no slipper(you will need them at least in bathroom).

I likely will stay there in the future but do have concern about the condition of bathroom there. Just wish the owner put more effort running this B&B or get some one with hotel or B&B training... particular when I recommend this even to my Singapore colleagues-:)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

We arrived fairly late in the evening and caught a taxi to the residence (the airport shuttles do not run to residences or B&Bs - only hotels). The house is up near the Botanical Gardens in a very pleasant residential area about 20 minutes walk from the western end of Orchard Road.

We were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and helpful with answering questions regarding location etc. The lobby is very big and spacious and nicely furnished which gives a lovely first impression. Leading off this area is the dining room and also a covered outside terrace where guests can also take breakfast. Downstairs is a lovely indoor pool for guests use (however the area around the pool seem to be a bit of a storage area with boxes and spare furniture stacked about).

Our room - The Oriental Pearl Suite - was very spacious and nicely furnished with a four poster bed (with another one which we weren't expecting - however, this would be a good family room). The bathroom had a lovely rain shower and guest toiletries provided. Whilst our room was perfectly comofable the photos on the website do portray a VERY luxurious view of the rooms.

A personal breakfast menu is provided every day for guests to choose from a good selection of western and Asian foods on a tick box system (ie, egss, pancakes, noodles, fruit etc). This sometimes ended up with some strange combinations on one plate but overall the breakfasts were good.

All in all a lovely small B&B hidden away in the vast hotel saturated metropolis of Singapore. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

First the not so good:
1 We booked 9 months in advance and the full amount was charged at that point to my credit card - when I queried it I was told it was their policy
2 A few days before we were due to depart (from Malaysia to Singapore) we tried calling them - message said "incoming calls blocked". So we went to their website to see if we could find another number or email - website was down - message said domain name not renewed.
3 I rang Singapore Tourist people who told me L Residence was not registered with them and they could do nothing

The good news:
1 We needed have worried - on arriving in Singapore the owner was warm and friendly - their site had crashed.
2 Location is great (if you want to stay a bit out). Near to excellent buses and a short walk to the Botanical Gardens which are magnificent
3 I got food poisoning (from a meal at The Wine Company) and the Flipino cook and housekeeper at L Residence could not have been more supportive and helpful.

So to summarise - yes this is different: its in a really upmarket residential area and yes there is building work going on up the road though it did not affect us or me when I spent a day in bed. Its a bit faded but has charm and character unlike many of the other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

booked a room online got even a discount it all sounded to be very good, but went wrong upon arriving, house keeping had left my windows in the room open and it was full of mosquitos, the a/c was placed in such an awkward position that outlet would blow straight onto your bed.
breakfast was finished and not available anymore, there is a huge construction going on next door which wakes you up at 7am.

all in all staff was not very helpful i would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepsapphyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

+ Deco: Rustic, lux retro feel

+Room: Spacious, well lit, beautiful furnitures with media entertainment neccessities thrown in (40+ inch LCDs, cable tv, ample channels to surf, media player)

+Breakfast mostly wonderful, curry is especially good

+Pool & Patio provides another theme of entertainment

-only breakfast is served, stock up if you are the consistently muching type

-location calls for personal transportation means, granting stone throw's driving distance to major spots, likes of Botanic Garden & orchard road

-plenty of room for improvement in cleanliness, rooms are well maintained though

=Great big ticks for its exclusive special charm the main reason for returning again & again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sati1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
RELC International Hotel
#181 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore
#35 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Rider's Lodge
#269 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Value Hotel Thomson
#193 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
VIP Hotel
#202 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Residence

Property: L Residence
Address: 19 Lewis Road, Singapore 258616, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tanglin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your L Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L Residence Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing