We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality (both on the pros and cons)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ranked #66 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Again I was in Singapore and stayed at the Ibis Bencoolen (IB) hotel of the Accor hotel chain.
Period of my stay 4 nights 08/09/13 to 12/09/13.
It's my hotel of choice in my regular visits to Singapore. I last stayed with and reviewed the IB in
March 2013.

The IB is a good value for money 3half star hotel.

Pros:
1. Great location in as far as accessibility to street & mall shopping, foods and public transport.
2. Very clean (abeit slightly small) rooms.

Cons
1. If it's service that you are after, then the IB is sure to disappoint. The front desk check-in staffs
are always sully faced, unwelcoming, unsmiling and unengaging. This has been the case ever
since I first stayed at the IB. But to be fair they aren't rude. Customer services in Ibis Bangkok,
Ibis Hong Kong and Ibis Sydney where I had also stayed with are all much higher stanadard than
that of IB Singapore.

Side note:
I generally find this similar low customer service standard throughout Singapore retail and
hospitally industries in comparison to those in Bangkok and Hong Kong. I often wonder why
then this island state tourism is still strong. I think it's because they have such great hardwares
(ie places of interest, shopping malls, hotels etc). Their tourism software (ie customer service) is
way below world standard.
2. The mattress is HARD and for me the quality of sleep in the IB is very bad.

So if you are looking for a good value 3half star hotel accomodation in Singapore, can forgo
good customer service and ignore sully faced reception staffs (just pretend they are check-in
machines not real people), then I would strongly recommend the IB.

I have moved to another 3half star hotel today for the rest of my stay in Singapore. Look out for my review of it in a couple of days time.

kewlmeister
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: All rooms of the Ibis hotel chain are almost exactly the same in layout and fit-out. It's like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kewlmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,687 - 2,693 of 6,618 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, room is small but clean. Check in and Check out was quick. Conveniently located near hawkers market for food, fruits, clothing, etc. Few minutes walk from Bugis Junction Mall and Mrt station. Taxis are readily available at hotel entrance. We got the top floor room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors and away from the elevators would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the ibis Singapore on Bencoolen and I am happy that you found the hotel well located and the room clean.
Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Nam
Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

In general Singapore hotels are expensive.. we got 2 nights at about 150 AUD/night with a great buffet breakfast. The room is clean, the bed was huge (think we got a ... queen suite? a room anyway with a giant bed), the service was efficient and the location really convenient. They also had a 15 minute 'satisfaction guarantee' in which they would try to attend to your request or problem within 15 minutes.

Room Tip: High level away from vending machines overlooking the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clara_T21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive feedbacks with us.

Glad that you found the hotel strategically located, overall ambience clean and the staff helpful.

We truly appreciate your comments and all our team is proud and happy to have played a part in your great stays with us.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nam
Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for just 1 night. Helpful staff, I managed to extend the late check out easily without any hassles.
Location wise.5-10 mins walk from Bugis MRT and it is just right at the back for Bugis temple. Accessible on foot to Cityhall and museum. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which you can take to Cityhall too.
Room is small, just what you know about Ibis hotel. But in Singapore, you just can expect much. Pretty near to a hawker centre - Albert Court which you may find very nice local foods there.
There is no toothbrush provided, make sure you byo. There is no complimentary drinking water like most of the hotels do too. No wardrobe, and room slipper. No swimming pool :(

Room Tip: The vending machine located at every floor does not accept new Singapore coins. Lucky there is a 7-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultraman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are extremely delighted that you found the staff helpful and accommodating to your needs in addition to providing friendly and hospitable service.

We are also please to inform that we do provide toothbrush and slipper upon request.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nam
Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank RonnieChua
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisBencoolen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank CHAK67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisBencoolen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank bwham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,197 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Singapore Novena
#100 of 317 in Singapore
1,386 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Address: 170 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189657, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Singapore
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $103 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel location in Singapore next to Singapore shopping & business centers with an 8-minute walk to Bugis MRT. TASTE Restaurant serves international cuisine and local Singapore dishes daily. Best Economy Hotel in Asia Pacific by TTG in 2009-12. Certificate of Excellence awarded by Tripadvisor in 2012-15. FREE WiFi access, international adaptors, USB chargers, complimentary access to 2,300 newspapers, free use of a bamboo bicycle and Reloadable EZ-link card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Singapore On Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Accor Singapore On Bencoolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing