We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ranked #67 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Back in Singapore and stayed at the Ibis Bencoolen Singapore (IBS) once again. Stay period 22/03/13 to 24/03/13 and 31/03/13 to 05/04/13

Lost count on the number of times I had stayed with the IBS since my first.
For me the experience is consistent, both the pros and alas the cons.

Location:
Fantastically conveniently located. Bus stop immediately outside its entrance facing Bencoolen Street. Close by to malls, shops, train station, foods. All within 5-10minutes walking distance.
5star

Room:
Though quite small in size (about 28sqm) it’s surprisingly very comfortable and non-claustrophobic. IMPRESSIVELY BRIGHT & CLEAN. Kettle, coffee satchel/tea bags, bar fridge and combination box safe in room. Bed mattress is hard.
4star

Facilities and general
- Free Wi-Fi in room (acceptable speed) and access terminals in lobby
- 24hr lobby restaurant serves breakfast and ala cart menu of local dishes.
Advice: Don’t have breakfast there for more than 2 days during your stay. The spread doesn’t vary much and gets boring. And the presentation/taste is ordinary to poor (eg pastries are dry and unsavory)
- Laundromat and ironing equipments on 3rd floor (do your own laundry and save)
- Signs at lobby with information for guests on bus services and their corresponding popular tourist destinations (very thoughtful and helpful) … see picture with this review
- Sign on room floor promise all guest complaints be resolved to satisfaction within 15 minutes …. see picture with this review.
Note: I had not had the need to put it to a test in all my stays in the IBS.
4star

Front desk:
The reception people are consistently cold, woody and unwelcoming but thankfully efficient. They never seem to improve (on guest engagement) and could easily be replaced with self check-in machines. They contribute little to the satisfaction of all my stays.
3star

Housekeeping:
Every encounter I had with a housekeeping staff in all my stays has been DELIGHTFUL. They are all engaging, happy, smiling, polite, helpful and very good at their job in keeping the room spick-and-span clean. I often wonder why IBS management hasn’t put them at the front desk instead.
Advice: When in the room do ensure the security latch is engaged. Twice during my stay this time the housekeeping staff (a young lady) had opened the door and walked into the room without first knocking. Had I not been decently dressed it would have been really embarrassing … for her. I think she’s just inexperienced and not properly trained.
5star

Overall experience
Extremely good value for money (for hotels short Singapore), comfortable and very good location.
MUST STAY if your budget is SGD$150-$200
4star

Kewlmeister
Sydney Australia

Room Tip: If you want a room close to elevator ask for xx42 On the other hand xx10 will be at the far end awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kewlmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,004 - 3,010 of 6,548 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thee were staff great. It was an location excellent for accessing the sights.The breakfast was very good and catered to many different tastes. The room was compact but sservieable and the regularly cleaning was good. thank you all

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank artictiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are extremely pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Glad that you found the location accesible to most attractions spots and that we provide various selection of food choice to choose from for our buffet breakfast.

Hope to be of service to you again soon!

Best Regards,
Nam
Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ibis on Bencoolen is a budget stay, 3 star hotel well situated in the Bugis area of Singapore. Easily accessible from Bugis train station (10 minute walk). Our room was small but contained the necessary amenities (we have found most Ibis rooms are on the small side). Our room was clean and tidy and safe.

We found that the reception staff were not as knowledgable as we would have liked. They seemed to struggle with simple queries such as the Singapore Zoo and Changi prison attractions. Our check in was a little disappointing also - cold in reception and was the only hotel during our month long stay throughout Asia that did help us upstairs with our luggage.

Overall, we would recommend Ibis Bencoolen for it's location and value for money.

Room Tip: High floor away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate your review of your experience at the ibis Singapore Bencoolen.

Glad that you found the hotel’s location is easily accessible to the train station, rooms clean and the necessary amenities suits your needs.

We regret to hear that the reception staff was not knowledgable in answering to your queries on the details of our local attractions.

Rest assured that we have taken your comments into serious consideration hence we will reiterate and are constantly retraining our staff on the details of the local attractions. Your feedback serves as a strong reminder that it is an ongoing process.

We appreciate your kind recommendation of the ibis Bencoolen for its convenient location and value for money.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nam
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stay at the Ibis during all my business visits to Singapore. The hotel is very well located, connected to major shopping areas and metro stations. Walking distance to restaurants and malls. The rooms are small, but very clean. Staff is very efficient and always happy to help. Very safe for a single lady traveler. The breakfast spread is large, but mostly the same items on all my visits, gets boring. the toilets are small and functional, spotlessly clean. The restaurant serves good food and at all hours. Pillows could be a bit Very worth the money spent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

stayed in this hotel because of the reviews here and it's TRUTH AS ADVERTISED.
THE GOOD
COURTEOUS PERSONNEL-the positive prompt reply by email when we amended the dates of our stay without penalties.
With the way singaporeans conduct themselves, it's easy to interpret them as rude and unpleasant. but not in this hotel, they were nice and accomodating.
LOCATION--few minutes of leisure walk to Bugis, shopping of all levels, from cheap bargains(little red dots) to international brands( bugis plus, bugis junction). and they're all connnected and in the same direction.
Food- 7 eleven beside the hotel, there's a hawkers center on the way to Bugis. fruits stalls in Bugis, Food Opera-food court in bugis junction mall.
Bugis Mrt, on a hot day(everyday), can be easily reached by passing thru air conditioned bugis plus and bugis junction malls.
a big plus! they provide samsung inote phone per room for free use. make local calls free. very handy especially, in our case, 2 families, 2 rooms. getting in touch at the end of the day for dinner meet ups, bargain info sharing and more importantly, inside theme parks!
free wifi inside rooms.. right across the street, a bus stop for free shuttle service by Sentosa going to Universal studios and Marina bay sands!
another nice touch that we appreciate- we're a family of 2 adults 2 kids. we went for 2 single beds, we realized it wasnt enough...so i decided to join the two beds together, it created a gap in the middle of the two beds..it was ok..but after room service, when we got back to hour hotel that night, they fixed the bed in such a way the gap was barely there..looked like a king size bed! great!....thanks Ibis Bencoleen!
.the only negative i can think of...hmmm..room interior not so chic, subjective.
elevators will only work with room card keys again subjective.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was my second stay at Ibis Bencoolen and loved it even more this time. It is in such a great location with loads of shopping and great food choices just a few steps away. Bus out the front, MRT just a short walk, taxis always available. The rooms are a little small but so clean and modern that it really doesn't matter, we only came back to sleep there. Hotel serves great food although we didn't try the breakfast. For great food don't be shy about trying the Albert St Food Hall, so much to choose from and for great Chinese food try Fatty's - 2 doors down from Burlington Square - you won't be disappointed. Sim Lim is on the corner and a great Perfume shop across the road - really good prices. While this may not be the cheapest hotel going, it is great value because of it's location. Staff are lovely and checking in and out is a breeze. Try it, you won;t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank shezrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife, 11 year old daughter, and I spent four nights for the Easter holiday at Ibis Hotel at Bencoolen. We booked a room with two single beds which we joined together in order for all of us to fit. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the room is around 21 sqm with 4sqm comprising the bathroom. They just provide the basic accommodation but at least the room is cleaned everyday. In addition, it is located in the Bugis area near Bugis Village and Junction; and just across Sim Lim Square. The Bugis station is from 5-10 minutes walk and the Bras Basah station is from 10-15 minutes walk. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel wherein you take buses to different locations around the city. In front is Summerview Hotel, wherein you can take the Resorts World bus to Sentosa for free (you have to be a tourist and have to show your passport). With all these advantages in accessibility, you pay 30% to 40% lower than the higher end hotels in the area. Truly the "PERFECT HOTEL AT A BUDGET".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarloRago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
953 reviews
ibis Singapore Novena
#99 of 317 in Singapore
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#59 of 317 in Singapore
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Address: 170 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189657, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Singapore
#37 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel location in Singapore next to Singapore shopping & business centers with an 8-minute walk to Bugis MRT. TASTE Restaurant serves international cuisine and local Singapore dishes daily. Best Economy Hotel in Asia Pacific by TTG in 2009-12. Certificate of Excellence awarded by Tripadvisor in 2012-15. FREE WiFi access, international adaptors, USB chargers, complimentary access to 2,300 newspapers, free use of a bamboo bicycle and Reloadable EZ-link card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Singapore On Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Accor Singapore On Bencoolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing