We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ranked #62 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Fuerth
2 reviews
“Perfect for sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as part of a Singapore Airlines stop-over package. Room was a little small but clean. Fridge, coffeemaker and flatscreen TV. No carpet (I hate carpet in hotel rooms). The bed was comfortable with firm pillows. Bathroom surprisingly roomy with a large glass shower. Good water pressure. Bathroom very clean as well. Vending machines on every floor, coin laundry on third floor. Free Wifi in lobby and room. I used it quite a bit and had no problems, even streaming videos from Germany. Staff was friendly and helpful. I didn't use the hotel restaurant, too many interesting places to eat in the neighbourhood :-)
In summary, this was a very nice hotel, perfect for sightseeing and if I'm ever back in Singapore, I'll stay there again. If I had to complain about something it would be the towels. Although clean and fresh smelling, they were quite threadbare and on the grayish side of white.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Papparino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    3,442
    886
    97
    44
See reviews for
1,257
2,226
885
1,108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good location, very hard bed, rooms too small for anything but overnight stay. No comfortable chair in room - only one wooden seat for 2 people! No facitilites at hotel apart from very mediocre "restaurant" Bar without Tiger Beer one day and no Savignon Blanc for 3 days.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Regret to hear that you felt that the beds were too hard. For guest’s who prefer softer mattress we do provide additional mattress overlay upon request.

We do appreciate you bringing to our attention some issues pertaining to the restaurant Bar, rest assured that your experience has been highlighted to the Food & Beverage team for their immediate follow up.

Thank you for your contribution towards our improvement and we hope you would give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Namirah
Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location is so good ... Close to MRT, Bugis shopping, temple.
I really like the food court, the foods are so delicious and very cheap.
The room is small but neat and clean.
The staff is very nice and polite.
No ice machine but can get it from the bar for free.

Booked the room during Accor's special sales.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Ibis Bencoolen, the hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

If you arrive on an early morning flight I would advise booking an extra night for the night before, as early check-in is done on a waiting list basis. We arrived at the hotel at about 6.30 am and had a 3-4 hour wait for our room (still not bad though considering official check-in time is not until 2pm).

The hotel has it's own coin-op laundry which was really handy for us. There is nothing fancy like a gym or pool though which would have been nice in the steamy singapore weather.

Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and there are USB charging ports built into the wall in the rooms a definite plus.

Be wary of the bar prices, we ordered 2 drinks without looking at the menu/pricelist and it cost us $35 SD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Conveniently located . Staff is quite helpful and the whatever is promised is given. The hotel overall and the room is very clean and comfortable. There is complex nearby where vegetarian food is available. at least 3 7 eleven shops are also nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChennaiRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
ibis Singapore Novena
#102 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#56 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Joo Chiat
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#107 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Property: Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Address: 170 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189657, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Singapore
#37 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel location in Singapore next to Singapore shopping & business centers with an 8-minute walk to Bugis MRT. TASTE Restaurant serves international cuisine and local Singapore dishes daily. Best Economy Hotel in Asia Pacific by TTG in 2009-12. Certificate of Excellence awarded by Tripadvisor in 2012-15. FREE WiFi access, international adaptors, USB chargers, complimentary access to 2,300 newspapers, free use of a bamboo bicycle and Reloadable EZ-link card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Singapore On Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Accor Singapore On Bencoolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing