We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sjet1980

Value for money...for what it offers

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 16, 2012
I actually stayed at this hostel on September 2010...it was the formula 1 weekend and I was really excited about my first international trip and watching my favorite sport live...the hostel was quite good for the price I paid at that time (35 SGD per day) it had shared bathrooms, they would charge $1 for a few basic amneties but that was ok...I didn't mind...the rooms were small...had bunk beds and no windows....it was air conditioned and we had free high speed internet all the time....again we didn't mind as we were mostly out and returned late for rest....the host was was very friendly and we always had a bottle of water delivered to our rooms at no charge....the location of this hostel was very good...about 5 mins away from the MRT and close to anywhere you want to go. All in all I would recommend this to the budget traveler who does not want to spend much but wants to enjoy the splendor Singapore has to offer.
Date of stay: September 2011
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$106
$96
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    $100
0.5 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$196
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $205
0.8 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $88
  • Expedia.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $100
0.6 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
Booking.com
$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $88
  • KLOOK
    $83
  • Expedia.com
    $100
0.3 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$196
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Official Website
    $196
1.3 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$177
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $166
  • Expedia.com
    $167
1.5 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$163
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
    $147
1.5 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
Booking.com
$123
  • Priceline
    $103
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Vio.com
1.8 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$163
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Vio.com
1.4 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$800
$571
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    $800
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    $571
1.3 miles from Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
2
5
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2
5
11
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

55 SGD = 34 € for having a 6 sqm room : shared bathroom, no blankets, no towel, no soap, no shampoo
You have to pay 1 SGD for having a towel.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Before writing reviewing, it's important to mention that Singapore is a completely different kettle of fish to the rest of South East Asia both in terms of room size and price. So yes the rooms at Superb Hostel are small, but there is a lot to keep you busy in Singapore, so the likelihood is that you will only be using it to sleep in anyway!! The bathroom is shared and the first and second floors have toilet and shower combo cubicles, with the top floor having more spacious showers, with no toilets.

Ron was very helpful throughout our stay, giving directions when asked and also allowing us to use the laundry facilities at a reduced rate (I researched Laundrette's in Singapore and they weren't cheap, so this was a godsend since we had a lot of washing to do!)

The hostel is located in a good area, around a 5 minute walk to Bugis MRT station and within walking distance of the Raffles complex and Little India (highly recommend going to Mogul's in Little India - the Samosa's are superb!) If, like us, you don't mind a walk, the Marina is only a 20/30 min walk and, as Singapore lacks the heavy bike traffic, feels like a safe walk in comparison to other big Asian cities.

Overall, nothing to complain about here when compared with other Hostels, would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed there during my Malaysia and Singapore trip. The Hotel is conveniently located from major attractions of the city. The Service is not so good but location compensates for it. In an all you can stay there if you want no frills hotel with value for money.

Room tip: I stayed there during my Malaysia Singapore Trip, The hotel is conveniently located from major attractions. Cleanliness is ok.
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muneeb529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed there in 2008 and the place was a gem. Today, it is very much ran down (e.g. damp on the walls) and the rooms are separated by a very thin wall that does not even go up to the roof, so you can hear the noise from the neighbors. In addition, construction work is being done in the place and in the surroundings (without prior notice by email) so impossible to sleep after 8am. We had to leave earlier than expected, as we were so disappointed, and were not reimbursed.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My friend and I checked in here after we arrived in Singapore at about 1am. Mr Tang checked us in as soon as we arrived and he was very friendly. He gave us lots of advice about the places to eat and see nearby.

Our room was a twin room. It was pretty small, but had everything we needed - mattress, pillow, table, chair, fan, air-conditioning and blanket. It was all very clean. The showers on the top level were great. There were also computers with the internet available to use. However, the toilet was tiny and had a shower above it which was a bit weird - and they were smelly. I tried to avoid these as much as possible!

Overall, it was just what we needed after our long flight, but I wouldn't recommend it for any stay longer than one night.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeeTee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews