We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget choice (all things being relative)”
Review of Haising Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haising Hotel
Ranked #227 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good budget choice (all things being relative)”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Pros:
-good location
-friendly front desk staff
-good wifi
-very good communication for reservation
-good price for Singapore
-clean towels daily

Cons:
-very small rooms (but you knew that -- it's Singapore)
-very stained top sheets upon our check in (replaced apologetically with brand new ones)
-a few small cockroaches
-mouse droppings
-A/C only works when you are in room, so very warm upon returning each time

Room Tip: There is subway construction in front of the hotel, so perhaps you want to avoid a room in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
4
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
karachi
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

$50per night without windows or $55 with windows for a single person , you can't get a better hotel and location than Haising near Jalan Besar. If you want to spend 8-10 hours outdoors exploring the city and will be there for a two-three hour rest in between or 6-7 hour night sleep later, then this hotel is perfect for this. A small private washroom+working aircon+one clean bed and small space for your belongings etc. It is exactly what it claims for in its description : no extra bells and whistles.

pros:
Great location. Bugis mrt/little india mrt, bus stops, street markets, massage parlors, internet cafes,restaurants and malls like Sim Lim Square are a few steps away.Security is 24/7. cameras are installed. You can go out of the hotel at any time of the date be it early morning or late night, no restrictions imposed whatsoever.

cons:
I can't think of none. Just for the sake of writing a review, there is a construction work going on for "downtown line mrt" it won't even concern you if you are spending most of your time away from your hotel but still a little bit hammering going on......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Plus
- Friendly staff
- Storage available
- Amazing value for money
- Clean
- Shops/Malls/restaurants nearby (try the Indian restaurant next to it!)
- Wifi even on the 4th floor

Minus
- No elevator (wasn't an issue for me even on the 4th floor)
- Small single room (it's not as if you'd be spending your day in the room)

I stayed at the Haising hotel for 3 nights. Conveniently located near Bugis station, you can reach the city center (City Hall) in 15 mns by foot. Singapore is small so you can go out and still walk home late at night (25 mns from Clark Quay, 35 from Marina bay, etc.).

You can leave your key at the counter when you leave so as not to lose it. There is always someone in the lobby to open the door for you at night.

I had a single room on the 4th floor. As I'm quite sensitive to sound, I asked for a room without windows. Works great! Most people would think the room is small, but I didn't really care as I wanted a clean bed, a shower and an aircon to sleep at night. The room was VERY clean and the staff comes everyday at 4-5 pm to clean it thoroughly, including changing sheets/towels.

Wifi is of course available, and there are 2 power plugs in the single room - one UK style, and one US/JPN style.

Can't think of anything negative honestly. Great value for money!

From a French person on a short trip to Sg.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed there for business stay of 5 nights.
Rooms are really tiny and get cleaned (fresh towels) every day. If you are travelling with 2 and a lot of luggage you might have a problem.
There is no lift up the stairs, but free wifi in your room. Also hot shower & A/C
No breakfast is served but you are close to shops and malls to get a bite any time of the day.
The price for a double bed room, with window (can can`t noisy out on the streets/traffic) was SGD $65 on a weekday, SGD $75 weekend.

Room Tip: 414 is with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank belgajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

As an earlier reviewer said, you get what you pay for.

I'm a no-frills traveler and the Haising has everything I require. The bed is flat, comfortable and scrupulously clean (I know, I've seen them scrubbing mattresses on more than one occasion).

The shower is en-suite (don't share a room with someone you don't know REALLY well), hot and powerful.

The room is clean and well aired.

The air-con works well.

The TV has a couple of channels in English, Malay or Mandarin.

There is a kettle with free instant coffee.

The whole hotel has free WIFI.

There is a desktop computer with printer in the lobby.

They will collect you from the airport (but there is a good MRT link if you don't have much baggage)..

They have a big store room so you can leave your baggage after check out. If you have a really late flight, they have a bathroom out the back so you can shower before you fly.

The flights of stairs are a chore, and would be particularly unpleasant if you were lugging a heavy suitcase. However, if you specify a first floor room they will try and reserve you one.

Rooms with a window are extra and not worth the money, all you see is the facade of the building in front or the facade of the building behind. PLUS, they get all the noise from the street and Jalan Besar is always heaving.

There isn't room to swing a cat.

The beds do touch the walls on three sides. But, if like me, you come to Singapore to SEE Singapore rather than lie about your hotel room then it ticks all the boxes.

Plus, it's less than a five minute walk to either Bugis MRT (green line), Little India (purple) OR the Queen Street Bus terminal (Where the Malaysian buses stop if you arrive over land).
There is also Sim Lim Square (electronics), Little India (culture), Bugis Street (tourist), and Bugis Junction (shopping, food, cinema).

I've stayed here on more than one occasion, with partners, family and friends. If all you need is somewhere central to shower and sleep then this is as good as any and better than lots.

Room Tip: Two flights of stairs to the first floor! Rooms at the back are quieter. Rooms higher up are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nurhazlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I have travelled to a lot of places and we were actually staying somewhere else but we lost our key so just walked the streets until we found a hotel we could afford.

The room cost S$70 and was up 4 flights of stairs (no lift). When we walked in there was enough room for a double bed, and nothing else. There was a cupboard with a toilet and a shower in it but MY GOD I WOULD NOT SHOWER IN THERE!!!

The bottom sheet was covered in Urine stains (i don't know if the sheets had been changed or not) and so i put the top sheet down on top of that to sleep on. The top sheet was covered in blood stains.

There was no window either, and no electricity or clock so we had no idea what time it was but when the next door room turned on the TV we woke up and left very very quickly. The TV was so loud I swear I don't understand how it could be so loud coming through a wall?!!?

anyway... AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

if you want somewhere cheap to stay but still want your own room... go to a hostel... most hotels have double rooms or private singles.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ltravel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colnbrook
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

The staff at reception are relatively nice and can offer lots of information about the area.
I opted for a single room with a window. However the window was of little use - as it just looked onto the other side of the hotel - so nothing exciting to view.
The rooms are very small, and barely enough space to open a suit-case. There is no wardrobe - but you are provided with a few hanging hooks on the back of the door.
The en-suite facilities are small but functional and the air-con is a much needed component.
Laundry costs $10 to do.
Be aware the hotel is close to a Mosque and their prayers over the tannoy start at 4-5am in the morning - so you'll definitely wake up with that.
Other than that - nice small convenient hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room size - but you're made aware of that on the hotel web site
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Asphodel Inn Singapore
#278 of 315 in Singapore
121 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#199 of 315 in Singapore
193 reviews
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#262 of 315 in Singapore
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Inn Mackenzie
#169 of 315 in Singapore
311 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#182 of 315 in Singapore
172 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#153 of 315 in Singapore
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haising Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haising Hotel

Property: Haising Hotel
Address: 37 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208801, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Haising Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Haising Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haising Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing