We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old hotel but good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #240 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very old hotel but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here from 29th-today (1st October)
Our first impression was old an outdated. We had a family room with double and single.
The bed was comfy.The shower was in the bath.The bathroom flooded with water.
The tv didn't work well. The quilt cover was stained. The reception staff don't understand enough English!

The Rickshaw food was very bland and not worth the $50 paid.

Overall, it wasnt bad but it wasnt good either!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anissa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    231
    241
    97
    72
See reviews for
188
111
51
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East End, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were put on the 8th floor. 3 adults. When we opened the door the stale smoke smell was overwhelming. Then we saw there were only 2 single beds. They didn't have another room for us so brought a cot. Which lead us to have to walk over beds to get around the room. Upon complaining again in the morning we were moved to the 13th floor that was renovated. Was like walking into another hotel! Internet is $8.60 an hour for 1 device. Upon check out Harry informed me since booking.com booked with someone else's credit card I had to pay and he would refund booking.com. Harry locked us in the office until I signed the credit card slip. This was the most absolute disgrace of any business practice and customer service that I have ever had.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoi an
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here on a $1 Singapore airlines stopover and wasn't expecting much after reading some of the reviews. However, we were quite happy overall as the hotel is modern and welcoming.It is situated on Newton Rd near the Newton Circus food markets that are alright to explore.Down the road to theVelocity shopping plaza and easy access to anywhere via the MTR .The Rooms are large,clean,we'll appointed and quiet.Couldnt want for too much really.Would recommend based on our experience. Beds are firm without a top sheet which isn't my preference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawanakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked for two nights in early Sept, then read the reviews. So I was apprehension about what I would find, I shouldn't have read the reviews, the hotel was great, my reception couldn't have been better. When you are tired after a long flight, you just want to get through the reception process quickly with no hassles and thats how it was for me.
Room was large, 14th floor, I couldn't fault it
My flight out 2 days later was a late one, check in at the airport was early evening, not sure if it was the manager at the reception that I spoke to, but a late check out was not a problem.
I never got the hang of the bus system, so would walk to the metro near Newton circus, no more than ten to fifteen minutes away.
So my experiences were all good!
Yes, I will book here again on my return trip in October.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The first room allocated to us on the 12th floor (my wife and daughter with me) was abysmal. The air conditioning wasn't working, room of poor quality and the bathroom below par. After I spoke with the Duty Manager Harry, we were moved to the 14th floor and feels like you checked in to a totally different hotel. I must admit Harry went out of his way to make everything was alright I commend him for this. The staff overall were very good except maybe the room steward English can be better. It took 2 days for them to give us the correct amount of towels require in the room. Reception staff service overall is good however it maybe better if everyone is fluent in English. Swimming pool is quite good however little more renovation be better. Location is very good as close walking distance to the Novena MRT station approximately 5 minutes depending on how fast you walk.

Room Tip: definitely insist on staying on the higher floors ie: 13th onwards. rooms are renovated and air-cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrado V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was there with a bunch of fellow performers who have apparently been staying there each year for the kite festivals. After reading some of the other reviews here I was nervous as some of them were quite scathing, but I had no problems at all. It is a little dated- no extractor fans in the bathroom- Internet facilities reminded me of ten years ago where you either go to the foyer for super slow emailing or paying for it in your room.

The room itself was completely comfortable and quiet, nice sheets and no bed bugs (!!) like another review said. Shower/bath clean and nice and hot. The air con was on the whole time, but I didn't feel like I needed to adjust it at all- the perfect temperature- a relief from the 100% humidity and 36 degrees C outside, and not freezing like some places.

Lastly, I loved the restaurant, staff offering help to the ignorant westerner that I am on which Asian dish goes well with what :-) the seafood laksa really hit the spot.

I've left the "value" spot I filled as my employer paid for it :-)

Staff friendly and accommodating. Thanks Hotal Royal, I'll be happy to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthMime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very efficient reception Charges for Wi-Fi Very old rooms inefficient air conditioning Hair in the bath and all over the bathroom floor Stale smell in the room I will definitely not be coming back avoid

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sw105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#160 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#146 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#149 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RELC International Hotel
#180 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Hotel Boss
#135 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Quality Hotel Marlow
#274 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Property: Hotel Royal Singapore
Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is strategically located right in the heart of Singapore's most exclusive district and is only minutes away from the renowned shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. The Novena MRT Station is within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. There are 3 major shopping malls namely Novena Square, Velocity and Square 2 are directly above the station. Public transport such as taxis & buses are also easily available from the hotel's main entrance to bring guests to all parts of Singapore. Guests staying in the hotel's newly refurbished 331 spacious guests' rooms and suites will enjoy 'Every Room A Home' feeling as all the rooms & suites are comfortably furnished with shades of beige curtains and bedspreads to blend with a contemporary colored wallpaper to enhance the cosiness of the rooms.Our rooms are among the most spacious in Singapore. For guests' convenience & entertainment, we have added a wireless broadband internet access facility and also additional satellite and cable TV channels linked to all guest rooms & suites, apart from the hotel's present 24 hours in-house movie channels. The hotel's 24 hours Trishaw Coffee House offers mouth-watering local delicacies and irresistible desserts. Room service is also available 24 hours. Weekend Hi-Tea Buffet is very well accepted by local & foreign guests. Other food & beverage dining like the Jade Room Chinese Restaurant offers daily lunch & dinner steamboat buffet and is a fabulous place to dine in comfort, whilst the Japanese restaurant Kandagawa (level 3), is well-appreciated for authentic Japanese cuisine & decor in the restaurant. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food.The latest added facilities are an in-house Gym for the health-conscious and also a Self-Launderette & Ironing Room for guests who prefers to do their own laundry whilst staying in the hotel.Please come by to Hotel Royal and experience the Traditional Royal Service that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing