We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the "Fawlty Towers" of Singapore " DON'T BOTHER!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #246 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Caulfield, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This is the "Fawlty Towers" of Singapore " DON'T BOTHER!!!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel needs new management , a big clean-up and staff who at least listen! We stayed there under sufferance for two nights it was a nightmare. We eventually got a decent room after complaining but the toilet wasn't cleaned properly,black hairs found in the bath and maid forgot to clean our room on the 2nd.day.The hotel lobby furniture was filthy,they charged $S8 per hour wi-fi,$S2 for 15 mins Internet and wait for it $S1 per sheet for printing!
We are in our 70 's and when we arrived there was no bell -boy to assist us up the stairs with our luggage -BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!
Mr.Wong (manager) and Harry very apologetic when we complained but the damage was done.

Room Tip: We were in room 1104 which was spacious and quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    242
    247
    99
    77
See reviews for
197
117
52
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from May 4 to May 8, 2013. And it was the worst hotel stayed experiences we've ever had. The hotel was too old and some staffs were very incompetent and rude. The cost of $150/night/room for three family rooms were too much for the services/rooms we had. The three family rooms we paid for had beds which were a little too small for 6 adults and 3 children (6, 8 and 13 years old). Two of the rooms had running AC with no cool air coming out, and the third had absolute no running sound or air from the AC. The Hotel deputy/manager of the day didn't agree to move all of us to different rooms because he wanted to keep us all on the same floor, even after we had indicated that we don't care if we all have to be on different floors. After long wait to justify the broken AC with sweats and discussions, we manage to get only the room with broken AC changed, but the AC in the new room was still not much better than the other two rooms. The hotel maintenance staff told us that we should not turn the lights at the TV and the TV on if we wanted to feel the cool air; his reason was that the heat from the lights and the TV would had killed the cool air from the AC.
Also, the pool was too deep for kids and the hotel lobby was not much cooler than the sunny outdoor temperature, so if we wanted to cool down, we had to stayed a little longer at the Novena MRT station instead of rushing back to our hotel room/pool. Concierge was not very informative. The old chinese deputy of the day woman was not very friendly when we approached for currency exchange rate or at check out. During check out, we were standing at the counter waiting to be checked out, but the two chinese girls standing behind the counter didn't even care to ask what we wanted to do; I was thinking that they were still busy with the paper works for previous customer in line and was standing in front of these two girls for almost 20 minutes before I was told that it was a check in counter; check out is right beside but no sign saying so. The hotel also had wifi, but it was not free/included in room rate and was way too expensive. Not only that we had to sweat all night long for the whole stay, we also had to put up with old, damp, smelly moist from the AC. So, our advice is not to spend money at this hotel...find better one elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't even take any chance with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions for business because of the location to my business.

The hotel itself is like a Holiday Inn (but the older kind). The beds are very stiff, but everything has always worked well in the rooms. Plenty of hot water.

They have a great buffet in the morning for breakfast that you can negotiate into your room price (if it is not already included).

They also have a massage parlour that is pretty special.

The most interesting part of the hotel is the Karaoke bar in the lobby. They have professional girls there that sing, but if you go in there and have too much to drink, you could come out married. Only kidding...but the girls love American men and would love to sink their teeth into you.

Everywhere in Singapore is safe, so no need to worry about that kind of thing.

Room Tip: I would not stay too close to the top floors because they have a club there and the music is extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The toilet had a weird smell, my child had left his comic in room when we was check out,
the next day I call back the hotel and check with duty manager. Whether their had found it.
The duty manager did not sincere at all and help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the Singapore Airlines stopover deal. I had also read the reviews of this hotel by other reviewers before booking so I was expecting the absolute worse experience. First and foremost, the staff overall was decent, they were not rude, some were more helpful than others.

The room was ok, the carpet was dirty, the linen was clean, the bathroom needed an update, mold and mildew all over, the towels were not the cleanest, had brown spots on it, and frayed at the edges.

Lost power temporarily in the morning, thank-god I had taken a shower before this happened, otherwise, it might have been very tough all around.

I called the front desk to let them know, they promised to send someone over to check on it, no one came, after 30 minutes I called the front-desk again to complain, got the same answer, after about 1 hour later, the power came back. Am glad all this happened in the morning and not at night-time.

My room was on the 7th floor, make sure to request and non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor when booking the hotel, doing so at the time of arrival, will not help, I requested the non-smoking room based on another reviewer's suggestions, am glad I did.

Room Tip: Pros: lots of places to eat down the street from the hotel, (about a 10-min walk), there is also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanre90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived tired after a long trip to find that they didn't have a Non Smoking room for us. Instead they offered us an upgrade to a smoking suite. We took it. Glad I didn't pay for a suite. I would have been very disappointed as it was shabby. The bed was clean but hard, the furniture old and weary and the view atrocious.
On the positive side. It is well located near the underground Novena station. From there you could access the whole of Singapore in a cheap and efficient manner. The breakfast was OK. In fact it was all OK. Just!

Room Tip: You pretty much get what they give you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Singapore airlines offers tbathrooml as a budget option in their stopover holidays: $1 first night, $78 subsequent nights. Don't stay more than two nights because you'll be paying more than the $40 a night it's worth.

The room was tired and the bathtoom grouting needs to be re-done. It did not feel "dirty" just worn-down.

The staff know they're working in a second-rate establishment that markets itself as first-rate and they do their best, but this old jalopy of a hotel can't offer much more.

The pool was good.

I didn't eat here, there's better food at United Square shopping centre around the corner. Getting a taste of daily Singaporean life there was a reward in itself.

The location is fine, it's a short walk to the MRT.

Try Udders Ice Cream on Goldhill Plaza. Their liqueur flavours are to die for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal at Queens
Hotel Royal at Queens
#169 of 314 in Singapore
742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Hotel Singapore At Zhongshan Park
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#147 of 314 in Singapore
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Furama RiverFront
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 314 in Singapore
2,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlow
Quality Hotel Marlow
#275 of 314 in Singapore
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
York Hotel
York Hotel
#120 of 314 in Singapore
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Property: Hotel Royal Singapore
Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing