We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay in Hotel Royal Singapore -15 to17 October”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #245 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Two night stay in Hotel Royal Singapore -15 to17 October”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprise with this hotel.After initial mix up with rooms, we were given nice room on 16 th floor.Very nice room.Although Hotel is bit old it has good and excellent location to tour Singapore.Easy reach to all form of transport,bus stand just outside the hotel. MRT/LRT walking distance. Two medium size shopping Mall close by.Hotel served good breakfast.We looked at lot of hotel to stay in Singapore,hotel Royal, Newton road come up with good value for the price(£110 per room per night).We also found tourist office very helpful and booked our night safari with them.Only small complain I have is about checking in and checking out staff at reception, very slow and seemed new to the job.

Room Tip: Choose room on 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLASH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    240
    244
    99
    77
See reviews for
194
116
53
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was just round the corner from my son. The staff are brilliant very helpful and attentive. The room was a good size and very clean, each day we had a cleaner coming in and the roomwas left perfect. They give you a list of items taken from the mini bar so you could easily check.

Room Tip: we stayed in 1220 good quiet room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senseijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location just 5 mins walk from Union Square Mall and Novena MRT. Rooms are of a reasonable size but the decor is dated and could do with a refresh. Nevertheless this is a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks in their "Royal Residence" building across the parking lot from the main building. It had everything we needed for a 2-week stay and we had no complaints. The room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very accommodating to our schedule (and serviced every day, not the case with some extended stays). It's very safe as the building required a key card for access. The bed was comfortable, the LCD tv was large with a nice selection of programming, and the dishes/sivlerware/glassware were all really nice for us. There was even a small balcony off of our room. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Novena stop on the North-South (Red) line of the MRT. I liked the location because it's close enough with the metro to get to everything, but it's not in the middle of downtown so it's not too busy and loud at night. The staff was very nice and helpful throughout our stay. The only negative thing was that the breakfast at the hotel was hit or miss. One day the food would be pretty good and then the next it seemed like leftovers (not quite as nice 24 hours later).

Room Tip: If you are staying, you may ask about the "Royal Residences" building. It seemed more mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, ideally situated for the Centre of Singapore. The rooms are clean and the bed confortable. The rooms we stayed in, 1418, was very quiet as well.This hotel is also well situated to easily jump on the MRT.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1418 and it is at the back of the hotel so not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 281059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovacik, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

At first glance, the hotel looks a bit "tired and needy", but the friendliness of the staff, the size of the room and the atmosphere make up for it in heaps. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which was clean, fuly stocked and very well maintained and that suited our needs to the hilt. Location is a bit further out of the city than we expcted, but the hotel staff are quick to get you taxi's that em to come along every few minutes and there is a bus stop right outside that takes you right to the centre in a short space of time. Although a moderate charge for the wifi, it connected quickly, though the busines centre computers are so old it was impossible to use them for what we wanted. The bar is a bit on the gloomy side, we chose to drink and eat elsewhere just due to location, choice and price, we still enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as an adequate place to stay in an expensive city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jopiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of the SIA holdiay package so no cost to me, it is my second stay and it certainly wouldn't be my choice if I had to pay.
The hotel is accessible to most of the tourist spots via the MRT which is close by.
Breakfast was included and catered for both Europeans and Asians, it gets very crowded but there is plenty to eat.
Front office staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal at Queens
Hotel Royal at Queens
#168 of 312 in Singapore
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Hotel Singapore At Zhongshan Park
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#148 of 312 in Singapore
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Furama RiverFront
Furama RiverFront
#99 of 312 in Singapore
2,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
York Hotel
York Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
1,331 reviews
2.8 mi away
ibis Styles Singapore on Macpherson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Property: Hotel Royal Singapore
Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing