We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Pleasant, but pool a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #246 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Pool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fairly Pleasant, but pool a let down”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really wanted somewhere nice to spend the last couple of nights on our holiday. Somewhere not overly expensive and was not really bothered with location as anywhere is accessible in Singapore. The room didn't disappoint. large and with a separate lounge area. Don't look too closely as there were bits of skirting board missing in places.
The pool, the main thing I was looking for, was a waste of space as there are only a few plastic seats, it looked largely neglected which is a shame as it could have been lovely. Next time I will go for a cheap hotel without a pool and visit Sentosa's beaches which were surprisingly brilliant and free!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    242
    247
    99
    77
See reviews for
197
117
52
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived after staying in a gorgeous resort in Thailand to this hotel and were really disappointed. Straight away we could smell cigarette smoke in the room, and the curtains smelt so badly that we could not use the bed nearest the window. The bath had a big crack across it and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Although we had booked for three people we had to request towels, cups etc for the third person as they only catered for two. Fortunately we only had two nights in this hotel, otherwise we would not have stayed. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and they held our bags until 6pm when we were leaving for the airport.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimandDianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armidale
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were concerned about this hotel due to reviews on Triadvisor but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were of a very good size. They easily fitted our family of 4 with a queen, single and even with the trundle bed added at no extra cost. Everything you needed including iron was in the room. The bus stop outside the hotel is frequent and convenient. It takes you about 5 stops to a great Hawker Centre with yummy traditional food. The pool was clean with extra towels. It is within walking distance of Novena MRT and shopping plaza. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again...To be honest, I don't know what all the whinging was about on this site???

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martysooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent a night here in March 2012 and returned for a few more in April 2012 . The hotel is one of the reasonably priced hotels for families in Singapore. The room was huge with twin beds and a roll out bed for our son . A lounge and large TV with satellite TV. Room service meal were limited but with Singapore having so much good cheap food we werent fussed. The bathroom was large and the whole room was clean. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and they handed in a hat we left behind and were able to pick it up when we got back a week later. Only downside was that internet access had to be bought separately - it wasnt overly expensive just inconvenient. But the price of the room and the size and comfort far outweighed this inconvenience. Taxis were extremely cheap and easy to get out the front in the driveway of the hotel - the hotel had a flashing light that taxis could see when driving past and pull in so you didnt even have to go out onto the street. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel but taxis were so cheap that for three of us they were cheaper than public transport to the tourist spots.The hotel had a pool that was a decent size but rather bland surrounds - we didnt have a swim but it looked very nice. The hotel was happy to keep luggage for us after check out and before we went to the airport. There was a huge shopping complex about 5 minutes walk away.Breakfast buffet had very good variety but was fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the family rooms at the end of the corridor as you dont hear your neighbors and they were h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I knew when I booked it was a budget hotel but This hotel should really be removed from Singapore Airlines Stop over hotels. Ok I'll start with the bad. Dirty carpets and curtains, whole of the 14th floor smelt of drains and at times over powering.Internet connection (which you had to purchase) was so slow it was virtually unusable. First day I had to ask for my room to be serviced as by five oclock it had not been. Beware only certain floors are non smoking so after 3 nights of smoke infiltrating the room and the smell of drains I complained and was moved to the 13th Floor which is one of the dedicated non smoking floors. Room slightly better but nothing to write home about. 3 nights running bath water was brown so skipped that for a shower instead. Not sure the shower would be any better but at least I couldn't see it!!!. I too witnessed very young girls being escorted by 'decrept Chinese men' in the foyer and cark park. It was obvious some kind of agreement was being reached.
My 'deal' was not inclusive of breakfast and after one sampling at the discounted rate of $14 (approx £7) I decided to skip that for the rest of my stay and bought some banana's and orange juice which I kept in the fridge. Cheap food can be bought in the local shopping malls.

Plus points. Towels clean and changed daily, nice selection of toiletries Bed linen clean and changed daily after the first day. I'm a big swimmer so enjoyed the pool although the pool patio area could do with a bit of a clean. Close proximity to MBT (underground system) and shopping mall. Air conditioning worked well.

Staff well they were a real mixed bag. Some helpful and friendly, some surly and aloof.

Would I go again. No. I'm afraid the good points did not out weigh the bad. This hotel needs to be demolished or at a mimimum totally revamped.
If you were thinking of giving it a try think again. They really need to clean up their act in more ways than one!!!!

Room Tip: Go elswhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My daughter stayed here recently as part of a sports tour group. Prior to the trip we'd been alarmed at TA reports of a brothel on the second floor and a hostess bar in the basement frequented by "decrepit Chinese gentlemen tourists" entertaining young girls, but we were assured by the organisers that the "VIP lounge" (euphemisms abound) had been closed and the hotel was safe and respectable. Absolutely not so. Plenty of lone, inappropriately dressed young women were to be spotted making a beeline for the second floor, and the basement lounge was thriving.

Consistent with the general tenor of the hotel, the rooms were also filthy - the worst my daughter has ever stayed in, and she's experienced plenty, from the cheap and cheerful to the very luxurious. Having checked in and been shown an ancient video in broken English on fire safety, they went to their dark and damp-smelling room, with its repulsively filthy curtains. The bathrooms had no ventilation and flooded easily, though the water was hot. The bedlinen was stained and badly in need of replacing, as were the towels and the carpeting. My daughter and her room-mates wore their own flip-flops in the bathroom, used their own towels, and my daughter fortunately had a sleeping bag liner with her so she slept in that.

The breakfast consisted of deep fried prawns, dumplings, rice, soggy hash browns, rotis, stale fruit loops and bowls of tinned fruit in iced water, all a bit risky so the toast was the safest option.

The pool wasn't too bad, fairly clean, and the leaves in it on the first day had been cleaned out by the second.

All in all an awful place, little wonder one honeymooning reviewer wept when she saw her room. My daughter asked if I could give it no stars. I said no, I had to give it one. What, not even half a star, she replied. Definitely the lowlight of an otherwise great trip. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MancMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A really mixed bag. Good location near transport, but too far from centre for our brief stop-over to be worthwhile. Good points: amazingly fluffy towels, hot water.
Bad points: dirty room, only clean where it showed, filthy net curtains, slow staff, no drinking water, all-night noise from large parties of children, bizarre arrangement of beds, leading to no bedside table or light.
I would certainly not stay here again, given that the better, more central hotels are not that much more than the advertised rate.
Breakfst was not included so we skipped the buffet and went to the local mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fltcanterbury_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal at Queens
Hotel Royal at Queens
#166 of 315 in Singapore
742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Hotel Singapore At Zhongshan Park
2.0 mi away
Furama RiverFront
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 315 in Singapore
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#148 of 315 in Singapore
1,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlow
Quality Hotel Marlow
#275 of 315 in Singapore
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
York Hotel
York Hotel
#119 of 315 in Singapore
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Property: Hotel Royal Singapore
Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing