We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Nearby Hotels
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$186
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$215
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$253
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
$202
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$212
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$143
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$290
$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$114
$92
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$528
$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
46
49
31
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
49
31
16
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 154 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed at POW for just under a week for the F1, location is perfect ...close to MRT,choice of food and drinks from the upmarket to our faves the hawker markets.Debbie the manager really gives POW life with her warm wit and genuine interest in making sure you are comfortable. we had private roomperfect for us just wanted a comfortable bed and somewhere to leave bags while we enjoyed Singapore.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked 2 nights online. When booking, we mentioned we only land at 1am,and will probably not arrive before 3. They took our money without mentioning that the reception closed at midnight. Obviously, they did not read our note, or didn't care.
We arrived at the hostel door, range the doorbell for 20 minutes, called both branches on the phone. Nothing. We then found another hostel and stayed there. The next day we returned, and stayed the night, having already paid for it, assuming that even if we could get a refund for the first night, we have no case for the second. During our stay, we asked to speak to the manager. Multiple times. The staff kept sending us from one person to another. Each claiming it wasn't their responsibility. All we wanted was a simple refund for the first night. We didn't even get an apology. Just before we left for the airport, the manager was there, but she pointed at another employee, saying he will talk to us about the refund. We thought he could be her superior, but he turned out to be the poor bartender, and all he could say is that she is the manager, and there is nothing he could do. She turned her back and left without a word. I have NEVER been treated this way in all my years traveling, and can not recommend this place in any way, regardless of the facilities. Speaking of which, the facilities are poor. The private room was not very clean, the AC was weak and the room was hot and humid. The bathroom was just average. On our return to Singapore, we stayed at 2 other hostels and the differences were striking. Do yourselves a service, and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gil_fruchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved the place; cool, relaxed, very friendly and socialble management as well as other guests at the hostel, clean, some of the best showers I've ever used within two years of backpacking, and you got not ONE, but TWO eggs for brekky (or perhaps you could be cheeky and sneak in a couple more!!). Life complete. What more can I say?

But yeah, totes rad. You have my recommendations, so take heed and treasure them, you shall not regret it.

Room Tip: Depends on how flash with the cash you are, there's not a massive amount of choice, but either way - as intimidating as the largest share room (gold coast room) seems - it's totally fine. You're gonna sleep well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

1. Fantastic staff (manager Deborah is extremely friendly and accommodating)
2. Amazing location: very close to Clarke quay, train station and lots of bars and eateries
3. Clean and bed bug free sleeping areas
4. Good mix of other patrons at the hotel
5. Bar down stairs with down to earth bar staff
6. Good outdoor bar area for those who smoke
7. Breakfast: Eggs and toast are provided (cheesey omelette is good) and for those who stay a bit longer speak to Deb (manager) who is more than happy to get you some local treats for breakfast
8. Toilets and shower are clean
9. There is wifi
10. Safe: there are lockers to store you valuables and at night the main door is closed so only those who are staying in the hostel have access to enter

Room Tip: mixed dorms are great to meet people girls/couples can select the private dorm extra privacy ask for the private rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rararachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I was thoroughly disappointed with our stay here.

We booked 2 nights in a double room online. On the online form, I specifically mentioned that we only land at 1 Am. Upon arrival, we discovered that the hostel was locked. No one bothered to open the door or pick up the phone, so we ended up going to another hotel. We came back to POW for our next night's stay. The room and toilet weren't that clean-our room actually still had someone else's stuff in it! In addition, there was no soap in the bathroom (unusual for Singapore).

The hotel staff stalled for time when we asked what happened the night before. A manager was supposed to call us back, but she never did. They didn't answer our email either. In short, I found the service and value for money in this place lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonPrinceofWales, Manager at Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Lucy
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
Our operation hours are clearly indicated on our website, booking receipt and multiple websites. We apologize for any confusion that may have occurred.

I would like to make it clear that the Prince of Wales is not a dishonest institution. Our staff is friendly and honest! Our business practices are honest and clearly stated.
I'm personally offended and my staff is also disappointed by your comments. We work very hard to provide a wonderful service to our customers and it’s a real shame that after all our hard work that you had a negative experience. We do appreciate that you decided to stay with us for the remainder of your time in Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews