We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk on by!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Ranked #113 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walk on by!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had 2 nights at the PoW, it was one the cheapest digs we could find, as we didn't arrive until late at night. The member of staff who greeted us was friendly and efficent, once he could make himself heard over the noise of the music! The plus for this place is the potato wedges were good, (that was the only veggie meal I could see on the menu) and they give you 50% off meals if you are staying there and the welcome beer was appreciated.
Now on the down side:- As a couple, we had the private double room with shared bathroom, it was reasonably clean, it had no floor covering, other than a mat over the sealed concrete floor, the ceiling hadn't been finished off properly, so you got to gaze up at foil-backed insulation. (I think the money they spent on the large tv, could have, and should have been spent on better things!) The room had 2 windows, but only one had curtain!
The shared bathroom had a opaque glass door which is fine until night-time and you put the light on and you can see right in, (a shower curtain on the inner side of the door, would save much embarrassment! and not cost a lot. I'm not even going to mention the electrics!!)
First morning we go down for breakfast at 8.30 am (we had forgotten to ask what time it was served), there is no sign of any staff There is another young man waiting too, he doesn't know what time breakfast starts either, we find another guest and she tells us it doesn't start until 9! At 9.05 someone turns up, to start putting the things out for our DIY breakfast, it was after 10 before we got away. We have been traveling for over 7 months now and 7.30 is the latest we have known breakfast to start, I know we are 'older' travelers, being in our 40's, but the few people we spoke to, - even the staff, agreed 9 is too late! Sorry PoW!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
2
50
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

clean, cheap and very friendly, highly recommended
good bar with beer cold but upstairs rooms a little noisy due to the bar downstairs can't have everything. suitable for the party animal who wants to stay up rather than the dormouse who wants to sleep early

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_weelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the Canberra private room a couple of weeks ago at the Little India POW. The location is pretty good, a couple of blocks walk to the Little India subway station which is nice. Air conditioning worked great and the breakfast was...well toast and fruit, not exactly tough to nail.

As for the rest of everything, I was a little disappointed with what POW had to offer. The hostel itself has a cool vibe to it and is probably completely perfect for single people looking to party it up and have a great time. But if you are a couple looking for a cheap place to stay you may want to look elsewhere. The walls were pretty thin meaning you could hear the live music from the bar downstairs, people walking up the stairs to the hostel portion of the building and what seemed like a bollywood movie being shot each night outside on the street. The private shared bathroom was borderline disgusting and a priority is not put on the cleanliness or upkeep of it. The bed was a double bed, which is fine, but was very hard and on a cheap metal ikea frame.

I just had to keep reminding myself that this is in fact a hostel pure and simple but it is tough to go from amazing, cheap accommodation in cambodia and thailand to the POW in Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We recently stayed in the Little India branch and had a great time.
The dorms where clean and comfy & the Bar downstairs was good value (for Singapore) & great fun.
The location is pertect right in the heart of Little India, great food all around.
Hannah who manages the day shift, provides first rate customer service, she is hard woring and most importantly great fun.
She really took care of us & made sure we made it to the Roses gig in one piece !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco Garden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If good beer and good music is your idea of a good time then put the Prince of Wales on your shortlist. So convenient and great value! I had so much fun at Boat Quay Friday I went to the Little India site the next day and it, the vibrant location and the live music did not disappoint! Both sites are an easy walk from the MRT Clarke Quay and Little India train stations.

Room Tip: Choose the Boat Quay accommodation for river views and walk to all the CBD attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a bunch of legends...Very helpful and friendly staff who go out of their way to help you out. Don helped me out with my flights to various places from Singapore and is the man to know as he used to work on the airlines...Jerry, Brendan, Lily, we will miss you all and all the best for the future...Follow us on our adventures at www.thomoandscottydogg.com and we will definitely be back when we aren't poor as hell haha...laters dudes, luv Ian And Scott

Room Tip: Get the dorm!! As they only have dorms..shotgun top bunk so you're near the fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomoandScottyDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at Boat Quay for over a week and it was fantastic, like being in your own flat but with a pub downstairs and in a neighborhood you could never afford to live in. Super friendly staff, big shout out to ken, hanging out there was a joy and relief after a while on the road.

Room Tip: long stay room is a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvanfghwfgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Quarters Hostel
#37 of 231 in Singapore
277 reviews
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
#22 of 231 in Singapore
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
#155 of 231 in Singapore
7 reviews
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#78 of 231 in Singapore
240 reviews
River City Inn
#31 of 231 in Singapore
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Property: Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Address: 51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two hostels in varied parts of Singapore, Prince of Wales sticks true to its simple service promise of providing great Australian craft beers, Aussie-styled service and a safe and clean backpackers hostel. With free WI-FI, air-conditioning and the first anti-bed bug mattresses in any hostel in Asia, your stay at Prince of Wales is guaranteed to be comfortable and packed with excitement. Prince of Wales caters to every backpacker's budget with an offering of beds in mixed or female dorms, and private rooms. Stays include free breakfast of toast, marmalade/marmite, fruit and as much coffee and tea as you can drink. Breakfast is self-serve. Overlooking the river, Prince of Wales Boat Quay is located in the heart of the Central Business District, against a background of Singapore's towering skyscrapers, and a stone's throw away from the city's historical landmarks. Uncover layers of Singapore history as you walk down the river peppered with colonial buildings such as Asian Civilisations Museum, Old Supreme Court and Fullerton Hotel. Night owls will appreciate the convenience of walking right into Singapore's vibrant party scene located at nearby Clarke Quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Backpacker Hotel Singapore
Prince Of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing