We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Ranked #104 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We recently stayed in the Little India branch and had a great time.
The dorms where clean and comfy & the Bar downstairs was good value (for Singapore) & great fun.
The location is pertect right in the heart of Little India, great food all around.
Hannah who manages the day shift, provides first rate customer service, she is hard woring and most importantly great fun.
She really took care of us & made sure we made it to the Roses gig in one piece !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco Garden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    47
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
2
50
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

If good beer and good music is your idea of a good time then put the Prince of Wales on your shortlist. So convenient and great value! I had so much fun at Boat Quay Friday I went to the Little India site the next day and it, the vibrant location and the live music did not disappoint! Both sites are an easy walk from the MRT Clarke Quay and Little India train stations.

Room Tip: Choose the Boat Quay accommodation for river views and walk to all the CBD attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a bunch of legends...Very helpful and friendly staff who go out of their way to help you out. Don helped me out with my flights to various places from Singapore and is the man to know as he used to work on the airlines...Jerry, Brendan, Lily, we will miss you all and all the best for the future...Follow us on our adventures at www.thomoandscottydogg.com and we will definitely be back when we aren't poor as hell haha...laters dudes, luv Ian And Scott

Room Tip: Get the dorm!! As they only have dorms..shotgun top bunk so you're near the fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomoandScottyDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at Boat Quay for over a week and it was fantastic, like being in your own flat but with a pub downstairs and in a neighborhood you could never afford to live in. Super friendly staff, big shout out to ken, hanging out there was a joy and relief after a while on the road.

Room Tip: long stay room is a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvanfghwfgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The original P.O.W in Little India is a laid-back place to grab a meal & a cold beer. Their accommodation is probably the best value for money in Singapore. They regularly have live bands & weekends can be crowded but fun. The new P.O.W on Boat Quay is more up-market, but still a great place to hang with friends & probably a little cheaper than other bars on the expensive dining/entertainment strip. Rooms available here, too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in POW, Boat Quay, from 21-24 June 2012.
The staff on duty - Don and Kent - were most helpful.
Thanks guys!
The strategic location is just great. So is the view from my dormitory window.
Boat Quay is in the Heritage District of Singapore.
Talk to people around you and make friends. That is travel.
From Changi Airport, just take the Green Line MRT to Raffles Place MRT Station.
Aim for UOB Plaza and walk for 10 minutes to POW, Boat Quay.
Enjoy your stay in POW Boat Quay. Value for money.
Cheers, guys!

Victor DL, Kuching
24 June 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just arrived in Australia after a 3 night stay at prince of wales, highly recommended, clean rooms, good air con and brekkie is good value. the location aint too bad either, flagging down a taxi to anywhere is pretty easy as well if you wana go further a field. 30 seconds walk in any direction the Indian food is epic,and there is a variation for any budget. last of all the staff were a good laugh and accommodating.
If we were to return to Singapore there is no doubt I would stay there again but remember to take (or remember) your passcode out with you. otherwise your end up staying in the hotel opposite (like me :))
this is by no means putting a downer on my experience but i am pretty sure salt was split on my caeser salad, but i didnt complain, i just drank more!!

Russ - England

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
No photo provided
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
#147 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
MET A Space Pod
#28 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Little India
The Quays
Quarters Hostel
Quarters Hostel
#29 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Property: Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Address: 51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two hostels in varied parts of Singapore, Prince of Wales sticks true to its simple service promise of providing great Australian craft beers, Aussie-styled service and a safe and clean backpackers hostel. With free WI-FI, air-conditioning and the first anti-bed bug mattresses in any hostel in Asia, your stay at Prince of Wales is guaranteed to be comfortable and packed with excitement. Prince of Wales caters to every backpacker's budget with an offering of beds in mixed or female dorms, and private rooms. Stays include free breakfast of toast, marmalade/marmite, fruit and as much coffee and tea as you can drink. Breakfast is self-serve. Overlooking the river, Prince of Wales Boat Quay is located in the heart of the Central Business District, against a background of Singapore's towering skyscrapers, and a stone's throw away from the city's historical landmarks. Uncover layers of Singapore history as you walk down the river peppered with colonial buildings such as Asian Civilisations Museum, Old Supreme Court and Fullerton Hotel. Night owls will appreciate the convenience of walking right into Singapore's vibrant party scene located at nearby Clarke Quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Backpacker Hotel Singapore
Prince Of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing