We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hostel with recurring balance miscommunication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore
Ranked #108 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Taipei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“basic hostel with recurring balance miscommunication”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights in the 14-pp room. the room is pretty standard for a hostel: not a lot of spacing but at least it's kept cool and well AC'ed at night. there are hangers and space to hang up some clothes by the window - a nice touch.

the only (but major) downside was the check-out staff. both times when my friends and i checked out on different days, the staff said that we had a remaining balance to pay - something that came as a surprise to us because we had paid in full when we first checked in. my friend ended up paying his when he checked out a day earlier than us. knowing that, we checked with the lady the night before we checked out that we had paid for our rooming in full, but still the next day, the (different) staff guy sprung on us that we had some balance left to pay. we refused, obviously; plus they hadn't issued a receipt. the guy at the counter wouldn't believe us until he called up the manager to confirm, and only then did he let us go without having to pay this "balance."

still not really sure what this "balance" was supposed to be and there seems to be miscommunication/misunderstandings staff-to-staff and staff-to-guest. if we were never told about it when we checked in, we should not be surprised by it when we're checking out. not very cool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
18
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The shower is literally inside a toilet cubicle.

Private room very small no window.

Got money refunded and stayed elsewhere after argument with reception staff, Asian woman was quite rude who called manager.

Good value if backpacking, good location. Didnt see the shared rooms but take some shoes for that shower!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernersEC, Manager at Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Catherine,

We are disappointed to learnt that the room did not match your expectation. Our rooms are non en-suite and without windows. However, they are well ventilated with access to all day Air-condition use. Our CCTV replays also shows that the staff concerned were not rude in any way and has in fact, provided you with the full room refund. We understand that you may be unhappy that we have forfeited your complementary River Cruise tickets which is only rightful as they are reserved exclusively to our guests only. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we wish you well.

Fernloft Little India Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Small room without a window and intermittent Internet.
Some helpful staff.
10mins to metro and little India.
Very thin walls and shower and toilet in one room so frequently in use.
Basic breakfast included and computers to use.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Although this is a hostel, it seems like it is a small hotel. The only difference is that you share a room with strangers. The service is good, the hostel is clean & offers a free breakfast (basics like coffee, tea, peanutbutter, two different jams, butter, toast) and free internet in the lobby (the hostel offers 3 computers) or in the room, where the connection wasn't as good as downstairs. In the lobby you can find chairs, sofas & are welcome to watch the news on TV or take a book from the shelf. I stayed in a 18-mixxed dorm which had aircon & several fans.
I would always come back again, because the personal is very friendly and the hostel is cheap and clean! Had a great time here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the mixed dorm room. We went to sleep at 11 pm and the lights didn't go off until after 3 am because people kept coming in and being disrespectful. The windows next to our bed were THIN and NOISY. We could hear everything on the street.

The air conditioner was turned on too high and the room was freezing. We were only provided thin blankets. Another guest requested that they turn it down, and the room was humid and hot for the rest of the night. Nobody came to fix it.

The worst night of our vacation

Room Tip: Don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeykorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hostel is nice, staffs are friendly, i stayed in the summer room 4th floor and it was nice :) The only thing bothered me was, there was another guess who did a work out in front of my door only with the towel on, lol! That's not a big deal though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

for me, this hostel basically pretty good. It really really good for my budget because work for a long-period at a luxury place as SIngapore you have to choose the best budget.It nor so far from the center, easy to work. Staying at mixed-beds room was not a trouble and all amenities in room was clean, spot. some pc at lobby always ready to use. usd $20 for a mixed-bed room and include breakfast was really nice. Maybe i will come back to stay here for my next plans

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waiyki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Blue Jazz Hostel
#106 of 227 in Singapore
8 reviews
7 Wonders Hostel
#85 of 227 in Singapore
65 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#163 of 227 in Singapore
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#92 of 227 in Singapore
75 reviews
Little India
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#46 of 227 in Singapore
203 reviews
The Mitraa
#58 of 227 in Singapore
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore

Property: Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore
Address: 259A Jalan Besar, Singapore 208934, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernloft Little India is created as our flagship branch of Fernloft Group of Hostels! Apart from our traditional values that govern all Fernloft Hostels – comfortable, clean, convenient, cheap, caring and with loads of character, Fernloft City (Little India) is established to create a near hotel experience but yet without losing the fun hostel appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernloft Little India Hotel Singapore
Fernloft - City Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing