We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Probably shouldn't touch guests” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 98SG

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
98SG
Ranked #170 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably shouldn't touch guests”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at 98SG in March. My wife and I stayed in the 4 bed dorms.

We made the mistake of staying at the cheapest hostel we could find. Keep in mind, this was still not cheap. After the final billing it worked out to $14/night/bed in a four room dorm. No bueno on the budget. So, this hostel. We got there hot, sweaty and not really having a good time. I had pulled out a little bit of cash but didn't go nuts. Our hostel Nazi demands payment in full, in cash, plus additional fees not mentioned in the booking. We booked this place through hostelworld.com and had read the fine print pretty thoroughly. None of this was included. This was not mentioned on the website, either. So, I ran back to the train station, hit an ATM and paid our Chinese Ilsa. After all the hidden fees, the beds were almost 40% more than we had booked them for.

The hostel had two things going for them: the A/C unit was a beast and they had fantastic water pressure. The rest, not so much. The hostel was plastered with printer paper telling you what not to do. The common area was at most 10' wide and 30' long. There was seating for 6 at a table, which was demarked as the only place you were allowed to eat. Rules, rules, rules, rules, rules.

Additional fun at the hostel: Random and inopportune enforcement of THE RULES: No TV after midnight. This can be enforced anytime between 11:15pm-12am, usually at the climax of the film. The plugs are pulled, A/C is turned off and remotes are gathered and locked up.

The Saga of Meep.

Now, Meep is an interesting character. Normally she would inspire pity, sympathy and understanding. This is not one of those stories. You see, Meep is disabled. I'm not sure exactly what the issue was, but it was pervasive and thorough.

Her working at the hostel would not have been an issue, except that she ran wild. To inform me that breakfast was over (10 minutes early according to their clock) she pulled food out of my hands. To get me to move my legs, she hit me with a broom. Three times. At three separate occasions. She shut doors in peoples faces. She threw a fit and dumped a load of laundry on the ground. In one notable instance, I was not feeling well and was sleeping in my room. She grabbed my foot, woke me up, threw me out of bed, sprayed me with bug spray and proceeded to roach spray the entire room, including our bags. She would grab my arm and try to pull me. I really don't like it when strangers touch me in an aggressive fashion.

Service and Value got one dot because I can't put in negative quantities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Glamm808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    16
    3
    13
See reviews for
3
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hostel is affordable, next to mrt, very near the food court. They have a homey feel to the hostel so it's like going home after a tiring day. Very clean as well. 1 thing that's going to be a problem if you're a group is it is not certain that you will be in 1 room together, hostel follows a first come first serve thing, but you can arrange once people have checked out...over all, Very much recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croodslovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you just stay one night in Singapore and have to catch a flight in the morning, this is definitely a good choice. Close to the metro station and at a fair rate. On the other hand, the rooms are small, the shared facilities not the cleanest and there is a strong smell of urine in the staircase.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this place for few nights and tried to spend as much time outside as possible, because this hostel is simply a joke. Bad joke. Stuff consist of one person only, a woman who You can see only two times during You stay - when You check in and pay the money and when You check out and give back the key. Otherwise she is so busy watching TV in her room that she cannot help You in any way. Whole place is stinky and dirty, furniture are broken, walls in washroom are moldy. Don't stay there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Michal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was looking for cheap and clean hostel in Singapore and here it is:
thew room are with aircon.2 pillow and a cover for every bed. 2' walk for the MRT.
nice staff ,free internet, free breakfast and nice location. i paid 18S$ per night and we was 4 in the room. great value.
the bed are clean and you can smell it. great job , continue like that. i will come back.
you can choose different room category , even double bed for couple.

Room Tip: book with hostel.com to be sure you get space. dont arrive ther wwithout booking while good places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Sverige
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Cheap and clean (found a dead cocroach through) all the common rooms gets cleaned daily. Breakfast included, really white toast.. Ac in rooms but not on in common rooms. No good atmosphere. Staff had notes put up that no one could use tv/that lights had to be out at 12pm. Also you had to pay extra if you arrived early/late.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great little hostel that's perfect for backpackers on a budget. It's in a great unassuming but characteristic area. A little out of the CBD but right next to an MRT station so this is really no problem, there are many great food outlets in the area including a lovely authentic south Indian place where I went for Masala Dosa in the mornings, There is free breakfast in the hostel if you want it, but the best free service in the hostel has to be the free massage chair! We grew quite fond of these whilst waiting for trains in KL and it was nice using this after a day walking around Singapore - even if I doubt whether the massage actually does any good!

At first I didn't appreciate the 2pm check-in and the lack of flexibility given that we were there at 9am after a flight from KL but all in all this was a great little hostel and a good price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#68 of 219 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#165 of 219 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#8 of 219 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 219 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#86 of 219 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#26 of 219 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98SG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98SG

Property: 98SG
Address: 96A Lorong 27 Geylang, Singapore 388198, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 98SG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
98sg Hotel Singapore
98SG Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing