We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Ranked #41 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it!! Very friendly and helpful staff, the bathrooms were so nice, very comfortable beds, amazing to have the all day breakfast with peanut butter, and the free access to computers was so great! I would return to Ruck Sack Inn in a flash!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 370 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012 after using a different hostel on previous occasions. This hostel was great, close to Clarke Quay and accessible to all that is on offer in Singapore. I was in the main drom that slept about over 20, although this sounds a lot there was no issue. There was a great wifi connection and a nice place to chill and relax watching tv or movie. The beds were comfortable with ample power points. There were lockers to hand too. The main door could only be accessed by a electronic card, so everything was secure, although the front desk was manned 24/7. There was only 2 showers for all that stayed, but I did not see this a problem as I got up at around 10am and maybe missed the busy time, where maybe it could have got busy. The free breakfast was ample amount of toast, butter and jam, which was perfect as it was free....lol......The rate of SG$26 is great value in Singapore (as Singapore hotels are very expensive) and would for sure stay again.......:)

Room Tip: Main dorm rooms are just perfect
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

stayed here with my family in August 2011.
Friendly staff.Place was always clean and the never ending toast and peanut butter supply was great. Highly recommend for other families needing cheap accommodation in Sinagapore.

Room Tip: the road frontage can be a bit daunting once inside and up the stairs all is revealed
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mummydearest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I will admit that when we saw the outside of Rucksack Inn on Hong Kong street, we were a little skeptical about what the place would really be like. However we though to ourselves "Well the location is great at least, and we won't even need to spend much time here so it won't matter much if it's not great." But we were wrong with our perceptions, because as soon as you enter the stairwell which will lead you to Rucksack Inn the walls are covered in writing, which were all travellers' comments stating how much they'd enjoyed their time at Rucksack. This gave us a more optimistic idea about what the hostel would be like, and as soon as we entered the facilities, we were not disappointed! Everything is absolutely spick and span, there is free internet, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom facilities are modern and clean. There was no sense of cheapness or 'cutting corners', which is something that we'd partially been expecting after paying such a low price compared to any other accommodation in Singapore!
But seriously, the location is excellent. I returned to Singapore a few weeks later and stayed in Little India but I much preferred my time in Clarke Quay at Rucksack. The MRT is an easy 5 minute walk, Central shopping center is practically across the road, and Boat Quay and Clarke Quay which are buzzing with nightlife are right on your doorstep.
I'm certain that anyone who stays at Rucksack Inn, whether short or long term, will never look back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matkakucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Dont let looks decieve you. Not even the strairs. Once you enter inside Rucksack Inn 1, you will feel welcome in an instant. It's like an extensiion of your own home.
I feel bad I learbed about this place just now. I wasnt aware that there are better places than the ones I (we) used to spend overnight transits in singapore.
My sleep was amazing. Staff were helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Book online to get the online rates and book in advance as the beds get filled up especially on publ...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The dorm rooms are clean and everyone is very respectul. The common area had a great backpackers atmosphere with modern comfy furniture and several computers with Internet that you can use for free. The staff is helpful and there is also free toast,tea and coffee all day. The location was also close to transit, shopping, restaurants, the waterfront and Chinatown.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The location was great. The room was very clean. And they kept the AC running at night so it was cool and dry in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And, yeah, a Singapore Sling at the Long Bar would set you back more than a night's stay at the Rucksack Inn.

The only only inconvenience was that I had a morning flight out of Singapore and had to wake up around 7am. The room is kept pretty dark so it was difficult trying to pack while not waking the others around me. But hey, this comes with the territory of staying in a backpacker's inn.

This is not a place for those who need the privacy that comes with having your own room, but it doesn't try to cater to that crowd. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends backpacker friends!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Botayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 234 in Singapore
681 reviews
Chinatown
Chic Capsule Otel
Chic Capsule Otel
#7 of 234 in Singapore
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
#15 of 234 in Singapore
120 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown

Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 058597, Singapore (Formerly Beds and Dreams Hostel Temple Street)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $18 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing