We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Ranked #40 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The location was perfect (Clarke Quay). It's just a 5 min walk from the MRT station at Central. Chinatown, Merlion Park, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Raffles Place are all just a few minutes walk from the hostel.

I stayed at the mixed dorm. The bed was really comfy. I love the blankets. :) They provide everyone with lockers and keys.

The hostel is very clean. The staff are very nice, friendly and accommodating. The bathroom/toilet (shared) are clean. The internet is fast. Unlimited bread and coffee anytime of the day. They even allowed us to use the facilities even after we checked out cos our flight was really late in the evening, we left our baggage and when we came back we were still allowed to use the internet and even shower. Really awesome! :)

I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drifterboi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    133
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
38
102
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at Rucksack Inn @ Lavender. Only recently opened. 5 minute walk form a subway station. Amenities are all very clean. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Staff on hand at all hours. Small library. Small simple kitchen.
Rooms were tiny but very clean. Ours was a family room for 4 people with tv and air conditioning. No windows, but quiet and comfortable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daymow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed here with my girlfriend for just a night and didn't spend much time at the hostel, only when we went back to sleep. We arrived earlier than the check in time of 2pm, but they allowed us to leave our bags while went out the city.

Overall it was a very nice place, loved how it was designed -- the paint, the floors, the common area. Totally didn't feel like you were staying at a budget hostel (although by Asian standards, the rates weren't cheap, but that's just because it's Singapore). The best thing about the place has to be the location: it's proximity to Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Chinatown. You don't need to worry about getting drunk at night in these places -- you can just walk back without having to take a cab.

One thing: Bring a towel, because the ones they sell to you (they don't rent) is some strange "biodegradable towel" -- it's so thin, it takes effort to dry yourself and you'd also think twice before walking about wrapped in it!

Like most Singapore public toilets, theirs didn't have a bidet spray or hose - this info may help if you are particular about this.

But really, great hostel, highly recommended. Their service, amenities and great location supercedes the other petty concerns.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 28-bed dorm and my bunk was in the middle of the room and not against the wall, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthIronMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Rucksack Inn was our choice because we were able to get a four bed room very cheaply in a good location. The place was extremely clean but we were disappointed in the noise level when we were there. There was a lot of partying going on till late in the evening with it ending up in me getting up to complain at 11 p.m. It was impossible to sleep as the noise was right outside our bedroom door. There was also a lot of stomping coming from the floor above (we think). We also weren’t impressed with the shower/toilet situation. There were only two showers and two toilets for the whole establishment and I believe there were about 40 beds in the place. There was no hot water left mid evening. We liked the fact that the place was incredibly clean though.

Room Tip: The four-bed room we had was windowless and somewhat small being only 4 metres square. It felt claus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxrucksack, Manager at Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear valued guest,
We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and your compliment on our cleanliness and hospitality. At Rucksack Inn, we always strive to improve our service to create a pleasant experience for our guests. Just to clarify what happened during your stay with us, there was a large group booking during that same period. Under normal circumstances, we do not accept such large groups at this unit and they are mostly referred to our other 2 branches. However as it was the F1 Grand Prix season and there was a shortage of accommodation in the city, we accommodated to their reservation request. We would like to apologize about the noise levels on that particular night of your stay. As a general rule, our night shift crew are vigilant when it comes to noise-control. Whilst we are not stopping people from enjoying themselves during a night out, we do advise our guests to keep their noise level to an acceptable level or to head out for a great night in the city. As for the hot water in the showers, perhaps we did not show you where the hot water switch is. Our apologies! We hope you had a great time exploring the city nevertheless, and wish you safe travels ahead!

Sincerely, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great stay here. We had a family room 4 beds. Room had no window and it did smell slightly of damp which the staff addressed quickly. Kitchen area was a little small for the amount of people staying . Free tea and coffee and toast with jam and peanut butter. Only 2 toilets and showers is also a bit problematic.
Close to the river and right opposite the subway.
We did have an issue with taxi though. Asked for one to be booked the day before needing to be at the airport early. 2 hours before leaving I asked the night guy if it was definatly coming and he said yes. When the time came he told us just to flag it down one on the street. As a result of not managing a taxi we almost missed our flight.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

More or less are already mentioned by all the peoples here which is a really cool place to stay... The interior decoration of this hotel is something I did not think about because I don't think there is one budget hotel in Malaysia is comparable to this Rucksack Inn... Our rooms are small with 2 bunk beds, free wifi, common sharing bathroom and there is small kitchen area where you can have drinks and breads for free... Common sharing bathroom are very clean and shampoos are provided as well... Have to booked very early because we're in Singapore for 4 days 3 nights but only manage to stay here for 2 nights as all the rooms are occupied... Therefore, no choice have to shift to another hotel...This hotel is located near Clarke Quay and can travel to everywhere by MRT...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at rucksack inn for 3 nights in july and loved it! We stayed in the dorm and had no problems with noise everyones really respectful and the bunkbeds are comfy. The hostel is so modern, the showers and toilets are clean, there's a kitchen area with a fridge where you can keep your things. Free internet and brekkies included. The hostels a 2 min walk from clark quey metro stop and is a 5 min walk from loads of good bars and restaraunts. I'll deffs be staying again the next time I'm in singapore!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katandamyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 231 in Singapore
680 reviews
Chinatown
Chic Capsule Otel
Chic Capsule Otel
#7 of 231 in Singapore
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
#16 of 231 in Singapore
98 reviews
Chinatown
Burrow Hostel at Smith
Burrow Hostel at Smith
#50 of 231 in Singapore
55 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown

Property: Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 058597, Singapore (Formerly Beds and Dreams Hostel Temple Street)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing