We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of Footprints Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Footprints Hostel
Ranked #56 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Decent hostel in a decent part of Singapore. Lots of food nearby, not so much local beer. Plenty of stuff going on outside. Free WiFi, and lots of beer available all through the night/morning.

Note, the poor rating I have given for sleep quality is no fault of the hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently stayed at Footprints for our 2 day stint in Singapore. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms were clean. Appreciated that each bed had it's own plug and booklight. Shared bathrooms but plenty of showers. They let us leave our luggage after check-out for about 2 - 3 hours. Not too far from downtown but not super close either. We indulged in some delicious Indian food that was only a five minute walk away!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really enjoy this place. Its good not so far away from the town. Safe and lovely staff. Good service and they always have an smile and want to help the right way. You can walk to all the main areas or take the metro.The staff were nice

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80catrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hostel itself is clean and tidy. Deposit needed for sheets etc.

Breakfast was ok and the location is good. You can walk to all the main areas or take the metro. I found it cheaper to book online with Hostelworld.com rather than direct or through another agent.

10 bed dorm was quiet but this is more down to luck.

Aircon is only on at night.

The reception gets really busy so make sure you give yourself plenty of time to check out. The staff are normally completely overwhelmed with large groups all trying to check out at once.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10_Downing_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Pretty average experience here. Front desk staff was friendly but not too helpful. The hostel charges you fees/deposits for everything imaginable. The rooms are a bit crowded and old. Lockers are a nice touch. There is a nice vibe here, but the place is pretty tired overall. The value isn't incredible (not as inexpensive as you'd like at a place like this) and there are comparable priced hostels in Singapore that are much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in this hostel hoping that the location was good and that we would experience the comfort other hostels could offer. The staff were nice. There were many Filipino crews whom we could talk to in case we needed something. The other backpackers we met were also nice except for one who complained and almost shouted us when we were still talking at night. Our voices were not that loud. That girl maybe just had a bad day.

The room we had was small. It was a mixed room anyway - boys and girls. It was dirty, not regularly cleaned. The bathrooms were big but not that clean. The comfort room floor was all wet all the time. One could easily slip on it.

The subway station was quite far. We did not enjoy our stay here. We regretted booking here. Not coming back.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msbenosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at Footprints last week, and is was a very good experience. Very friendly staff who were very willing and able to help us out with questions regarding public transport, restaurants, connecting flights etc etc. The room (mixed dorm, 6 bed) was not too big but clean and comfortable.
The area of Little India is perfect: low key, not too busy, but only a couple minutes walk from the city center and a lot of lovely markets and restaurants.
Would definitely recommend this hostel to all of you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#132 of 240 in Singapore
60 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 240 in Singapore
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#47 of 240 in Singapore
531 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 240 in Singapore
409 reviews
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#169 of 240 in Singapore
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Hostel

Address: 25A Perak Road Perak Court, Singapore 208136, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $13 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Footprints Backpacker Hostel - a HOME away from home! Looking for comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly, cozy and relaxed environment? You have come to the right place. Footprints Backpacker Hostel is conveniently located right smack in the middle of the culturally rich Little India, the centre for Singapore's Indian community. This ethnic quarter is packed with interesting treasures awaiting to be discovered. Retaining much of its authentic charm and distinct identity, this district is not what you would expect of the generally rather ‘sanitized’ Singapore. It is one of the most colourful and exotic places to visit on the island. The streets are dotted with small shops and eateries and if you are a bargain-hunter, cheap-gets are aplenty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Footprints Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprints Hotel Singapore
Footprints Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing