We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food , poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Deli Moroccan

Deli Moroccan
Ranked #7,406 of 10,518 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Kampong Glam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food , poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The sweet talks of the managing lady lured us into the resturant and after we ordered , the not so bothered waitressinformed us that the food we ordered was not available . We waited for almost 45 minutes to recieve the food. The food was good. The stafee were not friendly not a smile in their face. Very snappy . They were only focused in getting customers. Woudlnt go there again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irshsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    12
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I agreed with SzczRob, 'I felt a little nervous going in because it looked a little TOURISTY'. But we didn't regret. We were seated outside the street pedestrian with nice weather. We ordered the Lamb Couscous and Lamb Briyani, and it was delicious. Food serving time were acceptable with reasonable price. However, the staff was so pre-occupy with getting customers to dine in their restaurant and they forgot about the diners inside the restaurant. Overall, acceptable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Should have looked here first...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I felt a little nervous going in because it looked a little "touristy". This in the pedestrian street in front of the mosque surrounded by stands of postcards and pashmina scarves. We should have listened to the voice of experience.

The prices seemed reasonable until the dishes came. The hummus was good, though topped with a canned olive (instead of real olive we have had in other similarly priced nearby places). The bread/tomato/cucumber salad (fattoush?) was tasty with a good dressing. The milk tea and hibiscus juice were passable. The felafel was terribly prepared and priced (S$8+ for a couple of felafel and no toppings). The fries were cold but the wrap had nearly been desiccated. It was cooked until the wrap and felafel inside were tough and dried out. It crunched when bitten - and not in a good way. There was no flavor. The staff was mildly engaged but nice enough.

We have become accustomed to such a toilet arrangement in our travels, so did not notice it at first, but a previous post about the toilet/kitchen arrangement is still accurate. I don't know if this is standard for this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SzczRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stopped in here with a group of co-workers.
The inside is very cramped, but seemed cozy.
That's the best thing I can say about it.

It took nearly an hour for my co-workers vegitarian rice to come out after ordering it. It wasn't even busy.
I was served my appetizer with no cutlery or napkins.
My food was actually ok, but my co-worker's vegitarian dishes were reported as being completely bland. Pity to have waited so very long for such terrible food.
In general the customer service was extremely poor.

We will certainly not be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePelikans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French fries in Tajin???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have ordered Lamb Apricot Tajin (recommended by owner) and Vegetarian couscous and were really disappointed by both.
Tajin as apricot were not cooked in the tajin most likely added at the very end, lamb was nothing exceptional and not cooked in tajin either, and finally probably the worst sin, french fries in tajin, I am not sure how French fries made it to the tajin, we asked politely and the answer was that it was for decoration then that the chef was creative.
Couscous was dry, vegetable overcooked and not served in stock as it usually is.
And tea was OK but not much minty other than the few mint leaves added in the glass.
So overall not a good experience at all, will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenner_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deli Moroccan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Deli Moroccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing