We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at Village Residence for 8 months starting Oct 2012 and have been amazed by the hospitality of the staff and services available at the apartment. Their staff is one of their biggest assets - very polite, warm and always eager to help out..
The apartment is well furnished. In case of any issues, you can call up their 24 hour reception desk and they look into it promptly and will try to fix it as soon as possible.
Their breakfast buffet spread is good and they offer a variety of fruits, breads, baked products, juices, etc... They also have excellent launderette, swimming pool, and gym.
The location is perfect as its walk able from Raffles Place which is where my office was. Clarke Quay is very close by. Fairprice is also walk able so weekly grocery is very convenient.
In fact, the best part about being in Singapore was a stay in these apartments and something that i miss back home.
All in all an excellent experience and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu_s1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Anu_s1111,

Indeed the staff in TEAM Village Residence Clarke Quay is our biggest asset. It is our aim to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible.

We are glad that we have made you feel at home during your 8 months stay with us.

Don't forget to share your stay experience with your friends and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 268 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at Village Residence Clarke Quay and it's a very good option of accommodation near Clarke Quay (5 minutes walking) for a short or long stay. It is a service apt. There is a launderette at 4th floor and all machines work well. 7eleven downstairs. The building is not so new but everything is well kept, no complains about their service, cleaning three times a week. You have a small kitchen where you can prepare some dishes or you can eat at Clarke Quay where you will find many options of food. The monthly rate is not so cheap but housing in Singapore is not cheap as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renatofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Renatofs,

I am glad that my TEAM had made your stay comfortable.

Indeed Village Residence Clarke Quay is within a short walking distance to MRT, restaurants and shops. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience too.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the friendly and efficient greeting on arrival to the family friendly checkout time of 12pm an all round super experience.
We have just spent 4 nights at Village Residence Clarke Quay (family of 4).
Our apartment was on the 4th floor right near the pool and conveniently located near the laundry too. (You need to purchase credit to use the washers and dryers).
On arrival the apartment was spotlessly clean and cool with the aircons (aircon in living area and in both bedrooms) and lights all switched on for our evening arrival. Ace came up to our apartment with us and gave us a comprehensive explanation of everything. Housekeeping takes place every second day and was excellent.
Pool was a good size, beautiful temperature and kept very clean. It was never very busy and a good supply of lounges was available. There is a kids pool attached.
This is such a great location for tourists in Singapore. A short walk to Clarke Quay MRT station, 2 stops to Vivo City mall and the Sentosa monorail, walking distance to Chinatown and to Riverside Point and Clarke Quay..at any of these you can find anything and everything you could possibly want to eat. 7/11 is just around the corner. The Security Guard at the front door will call you a taxi at any time and they come very quickly.
You have to walk about 2 mins to the Business Centre for breakfast which we didn't find to be a problem. We found the breakfast to be basic and adequate...it is a continental style breakfast with the option to ask for eggs, sausages or bacon, available til 10pm.
Service all round is incredibly friendly and prompt. The highlight of the service being the birthday present for my son which we came home to find after a day out for his birthday - beautifully wrapped and a card and all!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 403 was great. Very close to pool and laundry.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank deblmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear deblmans,

The team is excited on your review. We are glad that you and your loved ones enjoyed your stay with us.

Please share your stay experience with your friends.

We look forward to serving you again.

Take Care.

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at Village Residence with my family - Mum and Children and from the moment we arrived where made so welcome by all staff special thanks to Ace and Lay Ying for looking after my Mum's many Q and A about day to day issues and supplying the Smog Mask and giving friendly advise each day.
My Mum received a lovely surprise of a basket of flowers from the staff on her birthday and the staff in the breakfast bar were very polite and helpful especially Jun whom my mum enjoyed exchanging a few words in Malay...we miss you all.
The poolside and facilities in room where excellent and all in all a very enjoyable stay and hope to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Keith,

TEAM Village Residence Clarke Quay thank you for your wonderful review.

Having you and your family with us is a joy. Your mum is simply adorable. The team enjoys chats with your family.

We certainly hope that you will choose to stay with us again. Do remember to share your stay experience with your friends.

Take care and Regards,

Seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children age 5 & 7) stayed for a week in a 3-bedroom apartment on the top floor (level 7) at Village Residence Clarke Quay. Reservation experience was the best of all the Far East properties we enquired with – a very helpful and enthusiastic response from Carine Tan and Winifred Peter made the booking process very easy, and made us feel that they wanted us to stay.

Check-in about 6pm after flight from Australia was fine, reception staff escorted us to our room and showed us how the apartment worked (including how to access the wonderfully fast and free wifi).

Apartment was a good size for Singapore, about 100 square metres, with a big master bedroom with king be and ensuite, and two other bedrooms – one with a queen, one with two singles. Two large TVs in the master bedroom and living area accepted our Aussie DVD player input no problems, a very small but functional kitchen (full-size fridge, gas stove, crockery – but we mostly ate out) and 5 split-system airconditioners, which were great to get rid of the humidity. Big couch, an armchair, and a 6-seater table. There’s a shower over the bath in the large ensuite, and a much smaller shower and toilet/basin in the second bathroom. The windows opened, for a breath of fresh air before it warmed up each day, and there was a nice basic view towards the city and Clake Quay. The apartment was beautifully quiet – no street noise at all. Beds firm but extremely comfortable.

Free (well, included in the tariff) breakfast in the complex’s business centre Mon-Fri is fine, a good selection of yoghurt, cereals, bread, croissants (kids liked them) and bacon & eggs available on request.

Cleanliness was very good – apartment looks a little quirky at first but is clearly very well maintained, and was very comfortable for our entire stay. Servicing is advertised as 3 times/week, for us only twice though (we arrived on Saturday, room was serviced on Tuesday & Thursday) – but we didn’t really require servicing apart from emptying bins (we since discovered spare rubbish bags and a garbage shute, so not a problem for next time). No washer/drier in our room, there’s in in-house laundry for $4/load, but we just hand washed in the room and air-con dried the clothes overnight.

Location is excellent – about 5 minutes walk to either Clarke Quay MRT or Chinatown MRT stations, and again about 5 minutes walk to Clarke Quay eating precinct. There’s a Fairprice supermarket in the basement of Chinatown Point mall for bread/milk and other essentials. We mostly ate at the local hawker food centres, there’s a small one in the Hong Lim complex behind Chinatown Point mall (about 3 min walk from the apartment), however our favourite was in the Chinatown Complex, on the corner of Smith St & Trengganu St, awesome noodles, rice & black carrot cake for $3/plate each. Kids loved the food!

There’s a great pool on level 4 with a kids pool and a large, clean adults pool that’s suitable for doing laps or playing tips with the kids (as we did). We also visited the fantastic Sengkang and Jurong East swimming complexes, where the kids loved the waterslides (and at about $4 for the family, payable on your MRT card, a lot cheaper than the resort-style waterparks).

We enjoyed our stay here – apartment quality and location were certainly high points – and we’ll come back when next we’re in Singapore. This is a very good place to base yourself for a family holiday – thanks to all the team at Village Residences Clarke Quay for a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with washer/drier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear CandN73,

Looks like you and your family had an exciting short stay in Singapore.

Village Residence Clarke Quay is near to Chinatown where one can be spoilt with choices on local delicacies.

We do apologise for the number of maid service given as there was a mistake on the schedule arranged.

We look forward to having you and your family back to stay with us soon.

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 10 year old daughter.

2 bedroom, with Kitchen. Was well laid out, clean and plenty of room in the lounge and dining area.

Great location, short walk to Clarke Quay or Robertsons Quay. Cose to the Clarke Quay MRT.

Alround a good place to stay, a little expensive but probably comparable to most places so central.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Weallgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Weallgo,

Thank you for your review for us.

I am glad that you and your loved ones had a plesant stay with us. We look forward to having your repeat stay with us soon.

Best regards,

seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When- June/ July
Who - 2 adults, 2 kids
How long- 7 nights ( this is the minimum stay)
What- 2 bedroom serviced apartment with small kitchen & washer/ drier.

We have stayed in many apartments but these were perfect. Great location, with a 7/11 downstairs (5-10 minute walk depending on your speed to 2 MRT stations, plus a Fair Price supermarket) close to Clarke Quay and China town with a great swimming pool. A shallow pool for toddlers plus a larger pool that you can easily swim laps in.
A continental breakfast is available Monday to Friday ( not swanky hotel buffet but very nice with pastrys, fruit, cereal etc) but ask for directions to breakfast room as a little hard to find.
I loved that we had an in room washer/ drier and an asked for drying rack materialized no sooner than I hung the phone up- great service and really clean well serviced ( 3 times per week) rooms. Really good showers too.
Lovely attentive breakfast, reception and cleaning staff with cheerful security guards always happy to flag down taxis.
If you are after a hotel experience with room service etc don't stay here but if you want some of the comforts of home plus great service you can't go past this property.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room had no common shared walls and overlooked the pool- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear CandN07,

We are glad that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to be of service to you again.

Remember to recommend us to your friends.

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#16 of 319 in Singapore
1,158 reviews
The Quays
Village Residence Robertson Quay by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Forest by Wangz
#1 of 241 in Singapore
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality

Address: 20 Havelock Road Central Square, Singapore 059765, Singapore (Formerly Central Square Village Residences )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $184 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance away to Singapore’s Central Business District, Village Residence Clarke Quay provides easy access for executives on short stays in Singapore who have regular work commitments or frequent business meetings at Raffles Place and Tanjong Pagar areas. The serviced residences is also accessible by foot to a wide range of dining and shopping options along the Clarke Quay riverside and the rich cultural heritage which awaits at Chinatown. A brisk 5-minute walk will also bring you to Central shopping centre and Clarke Quay MRT, which connects to rest of Singapore. In addition, the Orchard shopping belt is only 5 minutes away by car.Village Residence Clarke Quay has Straits Chinese elements with its corridors’ decorations of wood carvings and hand painted ceramic tiles. Each of the 128 service residences comes with a fully-equipped kitchen, cable television, Wi-Fi and wonderful city views which include the subordinate courts, and even some authentic Peranakan terrace shop houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Square Village Residences Hotel Singapore
Village Residence Clarke Quay By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing