We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“A great experience !!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the Central Square Village Residences for 3 weeks during april and may 2013, and for one month in jan. 2012... The very nice, efficient and helpful staff alone would make it worth staying there ! Add the good location, near Clark Kay and Robertson Kay, walking distance to the financial center near the bay area, MRT, very nice clean and spacious apartments with simple but well equipped kitchen, very convenient shopping and a great swimming pool and it will definitely make you feel more at home in Singapore then any hotel room.

Again, my special thanks go the lovely and efficient staff at the Central Square Village Residences, they make the difference, they contributed making my stay an unforgettable good one...

Ferry

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferry_Plus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Ferry,

Thank you for your compliments for the TEAM of Central Square Village Residences.

I am sure the TEAM will continue to do their best so that our guests will keep wanting to come back to stay with us, just like yourself.

The TEAM look forward to serve you again.

Best regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    83
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
111
19
4
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I lived at Central Square in a 1-bedroom apartment for nearly 2 years, and we really enjoyed our time here. After a year living in Singapore at CSVR, we actually went on a serviced-apartment hunt to gauge other options now that we knew the city and to see what else was available for our budget. We toured or visited 12-15 different places near the Robertson Quay and Orchard Road areas (both within and outside of our budget), and we walked away from those long weekends relieved that we were in the absolute best place for us, ultimately deciding to extend our stay for another year. We recently moved back to the US and miss our "short-stay" apartment in Singapore and the friendly staff that helped make it "home."

If you are looking for a short-term place to stay as a business person or even as a 3+ day visitor in what can be a very expensive hotel/apartment market in Singapore, I would highlight a few key reasons why CSVR is your best option:

--Staff--
Led by Ace, the entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful, from the front desk staff, security/taxi flaggers, housekeeping, and the maintenance guys. Whenever we had questions, requests, or minor issues in the apartment, everyone was quick to help, making our experience there feel like home. As we collected furniture over time from our travels, we would request that the pre-furnished items in the apartment be removed, which they did with no issues. We even hung about 10 pictures in the impenetrable concrete walls, which would not have been possible without the maintenance staff's assistance. The cleaning lady was very professional and always did a great job. Even the lady at breakfast ("Good MORNING!" and "THANK you, have a NICE DAY") was always happy to greet and serve people. As an example of their customer service, my wife actually requested that the gym be opened early so frequently that I think they decided to keep it open 24 hours just to accommodate her!

--Location--
The location is ideal for public transportation, the CBD, and restaurants and shopping. The Clarke Quay and Chinatown MRT stations are about equidistant walking from the complex (7 minutes flat), and there's a bus stop right in front of the building on Havelock. If you ever need a taxi, security will flag one down for you or the front desk staff will book one for you. Chinatown is just across Havelock, accessible from an overpass walkway, and the Riverside Pointe/Clarke Quay/Boat Quay/Robertson Quay areas are very close by. The CBD is about a 10-15 minute walk, but it's literally a 3 minute walk to the river where there are hundreds of bars and restaurants that snake along the river towards Robertson Quay or east towards the Marina. There was a Fairprice (grocery store) built about 5 minutes away on Havelock a few months before we moved back to the US, and we frequented the Subway and 7Eleven at the base of the building. While many of our expat friends lived further north closer to Orchard, we really enjoyed (and ultimately preferred) our location and the proximity to so many different transportation, commercial, and dining options.

--Amenities--
The hotel facilities themselves were great and were actually renovated in the middle of our nearly 2-year stay. The upgrades included a fire alarm system with sprinklers along with new furniture in the living and dining room area. The living/dining room area is huge, but overall, the apartments aren't enormous (though no apartment in Singapore is large by most peoples' standards). The kitchen, outfitted with standard cookware and features, is large enough to fit 2 people comfortably; the bathroom is a bit smaller and more of a solo mission. The beds are king-sized and comfortable, and there is good storage space in the bedroom. The internet is extremely fast, and there are some decent channels on the two large flatscreen TVs in the bedroom and living/dining room area. The pool/barbecue area is huge and family-friendly, though we didn't spend much time out there (FYI Singapore is real hot). The gym (now 24 hours!) is nice and has your standard exercise equipment.

All in all, we had a great experience at the Central Square Village Residences, which I have recommended to co-workers who are in town for short-term assignments or just for a few weeks.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, request a high-floor room facing the courtyard, preferably one that is closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewRachelUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Andrew and Rachel,

Thank you for sharing your two years stay experience with us and the wonderful compliments for TEAM Central Square Village Residences.

The TEAM are truly my service ambassadors and I am very proud of them.

Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay comfortable with us. If there is a chance, we certainly hope to serve you again.

With your great review here, I am sure that many others would choose to stay with us.

The TEAM is missing both of you already and we wish you all the best back at home.

Best Regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for 10 weeks on a business trip. Rooms are spacious, albeit old fashioned... the staff are very friendly and in general you will have a comfortable stay. The pool is very nice (although the jacuzzi never worked the whole time I was there) and the gym is small but modern. For the breakfast, ask for directions because there isn't ONE sign to show you the way.

Room Tip: Better to get a view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmccreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear djmccreedy,

I am glad that you have a comfortable stay with us.

Your compliments for the TEAM is much appreciated and they will be encouraged even more.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Exceptional customer service, we arrived very early in the morning and they were able to accomodate us with a room so we could sleep and enjoy our the start of our holiday.
Rooms were very clean and spacious.
The pool was very clean and is located up on the fourth floor, easy to access.
Location was 5 minutes from the MRT.
Staff very efficient and friendly and were determined to give their customer the very best of service.
An excellent experience can highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Michelle,

It is really such an honour to receive your great compliments for TEAM Central Square Village Residences.

I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed three months.
Front staffs are very polite.
Guests can have breakfast every weekday.
breakfast staffs are friendly and they have good manner.
I like this service apartment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetsusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Tetsusi,

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The TEAM will be encouraged to know that their service and efforts have been appreciated.

We certainly hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a very long search in Sydney for serviced apartments that would accept our large dog we finally found this place for our initial stay in Singapore before finding our own place.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on level 4 which was the same level as the pool and garden which if it was planned was really thoughtful so our bear didn't need to go up and down in a lift when he needed to go to the toilet.

Firstly the apartment - It was a good size for what we wanted, clean with a well equipped kitchen. The apartment was quiet and often felt like we were the only ones on this floor. Cleaners can three times a well on Monday's, Wednesday and Fridays, which was great! They did a great job and was lovely having fresh towel and linen.

The property - is in a great location, you are short stroll to Clarke Quay (if you want lots of bars to drink in, a bit tacky but fun). Robertson Quay for nice riverside walk, food shop, good restaurants (Boomerang allows dogs so we would walk the dog down there for a drink and something to eat), there is also an unofficial off leash area a but further down where locals let their dogs case the ball (everyone is really friendly) and of course the great China town. Clarke Quay MRT and Buses are right on your door step.

The Facilities - Great is all I can say, good sized gym and pool which was constantly clean and nice BBQ area. There was a free BBQ on the Friday night we arrived and I would strongly recommend you go. Food was really nice and free flowing beer so my husband was happy. But gave us a chance to meet some new people.

The Service - Was really good, from the grounds people to the maids everyone would say good morning. The reception team are really helpful and if you have a question just ask they will give you great advice. Once again couldn't fault them.

My Dog - He settled in really well. The maids where a little scared of him so I would take him out for a hour when they wanted to clean the room but apartment from that he was well liked. Even had the reception watch him while I had to pop back up to the room to grab something and when I came back he was getting a lot of love which he lapped up!

Only thing that annoyed me a little bit was that they had to change the light fittings on rooms and I was told it would only take 2 hours but ended up being the whole day. So my dog had to be out of the room and being in a very hot country he couldn't stay outside for all that time. But the team was very help, gave us a spare room and even followed up by calling and apologised.

If you are looking to relocate to Singapore with you dog and worried. Don't be. Its not as bad as some of the blogs say. Yes there are times when people get scared and run away but that's their problem and I can only just laugh as I know that all my bear would do is lick them to death. Singapore does love dogs and Central Square Village is a great place to stay with your dog until you find somewhere more permanent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnsleykb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Barnsley,

It has been great to have you and your 'large' family member with us!

I would like to apologise again on the inconvenience caused to you during the lighting replacement. I was equally disappointed that the time took longer than expected. However, I am glad that we managed to cut down your inconvenience with a temporary room arrangement for you then.

We wish you and your family all the best at your new home.

Best Regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Central Square has service apartments located next to the happening place ‘Clarke Quay’.
There are many pubs on one side of hippos river and other side has got a mall on top of Clarke Quay metro station.
Facilities:
Staff is friendly and always willing to help you on places to visit in Singapore. They also have information cards for package tours to Zoo, night safari, bird park, sentosa etc.
On top of parking floor is swimming pool, next to it is gym and Sauna bath. There are some plants to give it garden pool look, but don’t expect outstanding view from pool.

Apartment:
We stayed in one bedroom apartment.
Next to entrance gate is small kitchen with utensils, microwave, fridge, kittle and storage cupboards.
Living room is big with nice LCD, sofa for 5 people, 2 ACs and a dining table with 4 chairs.
Bedroom is bit small compared to living room but bed is comfortable, so sleep quality is excellent.
Bathroom is ok, toiletries are also ok. There is no bathtub, which was disappointing.
No balcony attached to apartment.

Breakfast:
Standard breakfast with variety of stuff. However to have breakfast, you need to walk a bit and go to another building altogether.

Laundry:
This being a service apartment should contain washing machine and dryer in the apartment which is not there.
There is dedicated laundry room and you need to be in queue to get your clothes done.

Enjoyed one month stay at Central Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ashwin81,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We understand the importance of having a washing machine in the apartment and we are trying our best to make this possible in some of our units.

Be sure to request for a unit with washing machine the next time you stay with us. We await to welcome you in our residence, which has been renamed to "Village Residence Clarke Quay".

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#20 of 312 in Singapore
2,815 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality
Address: 20 Havelock Road Central Square, Singapore 059765, Singapore (Formerly Central Square Village Residences )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance away to Singapore’s Central Business District, Village Residence Clarke Quay provides easy access for executives on short stays in Singapore who have regular work commitments or frequent business meetings at Raffles Place and Tanjong Pagar areas. The serviced residences is also accessible by foot to a wide range of dining and shopping options along the Clarke Quay riverside and the rich cultural heritage which awaits at Chinatown. A brisk 5-minute walk will also bring you to Central shopping centre and Clarke Quay MRT, which connects to rest of Singapore. In addition, the Orchard shopping belt is only 5 minutes away by car.Village Residence Clarke Quay has Straits Chinese elements with its corridors’ decorations of wood carvings and hand painted ceramic tiles. Each of the 128 service residences comes with a fully-equipped kitchen, cable television, Wi-Fi and wonderful city views which include the subordinate courts, and even some authentic Peranakan terrace shop houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Square Village Residences Hotel Singapore
Village Residence Clarke Quay By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing