We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option for Singapore”
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81-Tristar
Ranked #215 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Huntly, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good budget option for Singapore”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel 81 Tristar. We have chosen to stay here twice (for a 2 - 3 day stopover on our way to other Asian destinations) because it meets our criteria of:

- Family rooms that will allow 2 adults & 2 teens (most budget family rooms only allow a maximum of 3 - or children under 12yrs)
- Budget priced (Singapore is not cheap and we just want somewhere to sleep)
- Good location - close to airport (for late arrivals and early departures) and public transport (walking distance from Paya Lebar MRT & buses within meters)
- Pool (most other budget hotels don't have a pool)

The hotel itself is fairly basic and somewhat dated but is more than adequate if like us you will be out & about most of the time and just need somewhere to sleep. The family rooms are very large and spacious and the surrounding area is safe & has many good hawker stalls (including a mini-mart and food center right under the hotel)

The one things that in my opinion lets this hotel down is the standard of day to day cleaning - the bedding & linen are great but while the hallways & rooms are clean enough to be acceptable a really good deep clean (eg dust under beds, removing scuff marks from the walls, polishing floors) would make all the difference!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyberbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    83
    25
    14
See reviews for
78
51
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Normal hotel, average service.
Normal speed of internet.
The best thing is near to the MRT station (Paya Lebar).
You can get a convenience shop and food just a corner of hotel.
I stayed here for 1 night because of business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaynePGMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was a plesant experience. We could easily walk to the train station and after we finished shopping it was nice to relax in the pool. In addition the staff was very friendly and informative. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonnalucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I tried to find a hotel near the airport for our last night in Singapore, but it ended up taking far longer to the airport than from a hotel nearer the city.

The pool was nice (but only 1 m deep) and the massage chair was relaxing.

However, overall I'm very disappointed with this hotel. The staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming and I found it very impersonal.

The room is possibly the nosiest I've ever struck at a hotel, with noise coming both from the street (several floors below) and for the corridor (a gap of more than 1cm under the door). The air conditioning was too noisy to use.

I'm unable to recommend this hotel given our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with no gap between the door and the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GavinTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,889 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here twice, bookends on a Trip to Thailand and we chose it be cause it was close to the airport. Well on that count it worked, the cab fare about 10 dollars than it would be to go to the city, but that is about the only good thing.
The area is pretty 'down at heel' so it is not great going out at night and the metro station nearly 1km away. We had quite a few major issues with our room and even left a list with the desk person - they promised to escalate this to the manager however we never heard back despite leaving our contact details. Our issues were:
1. Air Conditioning unit old and dripped water onto our luggage
2. Air Conditioning control unit had a damaged front plate so controls could not be read or altered - just on or off as the only options
3. Toilet not flushing properly
4. Dirty Shower Curtain
5. Mould around soap dispenser indicated that it hadn't been cleaned
6. Room smelt badly of stale cigarettes despite their protestations that it was a non-smoking hotel
7. Poor and broken furnishings
In short no response so they have had their chance. There seem to be many better accommodation options in Singapore for the similar price so my recommendation it to try a different hotel and a different hotel chain

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel provides you a very good value for its three person bedroom. They also provide a good service, combined with descent amenities and facilities (which unlikely found in any other budget hotel).

Room Tip: The three person bedroom is the real value here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed three nights at this hotel and wasn't too pleased, when we first arrived we noticed a lot of ants crawling around the room door, I first walked in and noticed that the shelves were dusty and the previous guest had left some make-up down the side of the bed which obviously wasn't moved. The plug in the bath did not work, there is a very loud noise on our floor 24/7 which sounds like pipes draining, also the pigeons drink the water out of the pool daily. The second night we stayed our room occurred a leak, this was coming from the air con and roof which kept me awake all night, this was fixed the next morning. On the other hand the room is spacious, flat screen TV with ok channels, the bed is comfy and the mini fridge is topped up with water. I would not recommend this hotel if you like your room to be clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#235 of 315 in Singapore
70 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#207 of 315 in Singapore
141 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#144 of 315 in Singapore
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#133 of 315 in Singapore
342 reviews
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#105 of 315 in Singapore
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Property: Hotel 81-Tristar
Address: 1 Onan Road Tristar Inn, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing