We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel in singapore”
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81-Tristar
Ranked #215 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
brunei
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good budget hotel in singapore”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good value, clean, and easy to find muslim food , because it is located in malay area. We've been staying in this hotel many times. Recommend for those who is looking for good budget hotel.

We're stayed in the family room, which can adequate 4 pax. It was quite big and clean. And also there is also swimming pool in this hotel. Wifi connection is excellent and its free.

The only thing is it is away from the center of the city but hey, Singapore is'nt that big. The best thing is that it's located near the airport.

I would stay in this hotel again on my next visit to singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarywylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    83
    25
    14
See reviews for
78
51
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have chosen this hotel for an overnight stay between flights. What we were looking for was a basic hotel for a good price for four people. We have got what we expected. I would recommend this hotel for overnight, but not longer stay.

Pros:
- big room
- good price for a room for four people
- close to subway
- free wifi
- friendly stuff

Cons:
- ants
- dirtiness
- no ordinary tea or coffee available
- noisy AC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is overall clean and the rooms are nice and big. The problem is if you want to explore the key attractions of Singapore, you are miles away from the center of the city. It is near the airport but far from There is a pool in the hotel for guest use but no hotel restaurant. I wouldn't recommend it for families or couples as areas of attraction are too far away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisyelSolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean and good size rooms, very good baths, stuff are friendly, but helpless. Area is not so clean, but safe(like an others Singapore`s areas), not close to downtown, but you can take a taxi without any problem. Near it, you can find some shops, food court is in few steps from main entrance. But, be careful to eat something without asking about spice! Most food is too spicy for european taste. For Singapore, this hotel`s good choice, because it`s cheap(for this city) and good enough to spend 2-3 days in it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It's like the best deal you can find in Singapore and with the airport so close by.. But then again this is my first trip to Singapore in many many years... So I would not know if anything has opened near the airport :) it's gud value for money..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venkatvishwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

You get what you pay for and this is a budget hotel - but the rooms are spacious. I would regard it as one of the better basic hotels in terms of the rooms. Expect no frills - but why would you in a budget hotel?

The one extraordinary thing about the hotel is that they room key provided is a standard key - a metal key - not a swipe card. And there is only one key per room regardless of the number of guests. No second key is available.

I stayed at the hotel with my wife and we had separate plans during the day - we did not know who would be back to the room first - but we could not access the room separately so had to coordinate our movements - a ludicrous inconvenience. I ended up having to wait in a nearby coffee place for her to return.

Cannot recommend this hotel if you are a couple unless you are travelling as a pair and have no separate plans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had a fantastic stay at the Tristar 81, this hotel must have been the 'Taj Mahal' when it was originally built, the rooms are huge, the bathroom huge, the fittings in the rooms were top quality and the aircond was brilliant with little noise. That said the place has not been lovingly kept and is dirty and in need of a make over, if you are into fine accommodations only do not book here as you will only complain.
On the other hand if you can put up with a bit of dirt, leaky aircond, worn fittings and a few critters then this may still be your 'Taj Mahal'. The bedding, mattress and pillows were all clean (always check before accepting a room) and the flatscreen TV even got a movie channel and BBC news.
Free wifi was a bonus and they have a fantastic swimming pool on the first level. The people on the desk were friendly enough and once I was booked in they would have my key ready when I got back to the hotel every day for the four days I was there.
It is not near the city but as I was in Singapore for a few days of Tai Ji training and a celebration of Kung Fu at the nearby Nam Wah Pai world headquarters it did not bother me, the bus is only 2 minutes and train station is only 5-10 minutes walk.
There are many shops and food outlets right at the door and I highly recommend Mr Teh Tarik fare although I must warn you the Tarik coffee is really good and I did have cravings for it for some days after I returned home to my country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#235 of 314 in Singapore
70 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#202 of 314 in Singapore
140 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#132 of 314 in Singapore
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#150 of 314 in Singapore
368 reviews
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#101 of 314 in Singapore
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Property: Hotel 81-Tristar
Address: 1 Onan Road Tristar Inn, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing