We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be considered for business trip.”
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81-Tristar
Ranked #203 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Rate as Average for business trip stay.

Internal Conditional:
Street noisy for rooms near the roadside.
Some facilities in the hotel are bedly damage and out of order. Such as light bulbs, control unit of air condition, TV remote control, the brightness of light bulbs is terrible.

External Environment:
Walking distance to at least 3 food courts.
Walking distance (10-15min) to Paya Lebar MRT Station.
Next door to mini store.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WkwkMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 259 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I think I will give it a 4 star. :)

We stayed in hotel 81 tristar one onan rd for 5 days starting september 5 to 9. On our first day, I was truly disappointed by how they accommodated us. We were there at around 1pm and we asked if we could check in early. The gay guy told us we could not until 2pm. (he was not very approachable) So we asked if we could leave our bags, and he just told us OK but did not really help us doing it (we had several luggage with us and we were hoping once we got to the hotel atleast someone would help us with our things as we were all very tired by then). He did not even tell us where to put our belongings. So we just placed them near the lounge where some luggage of other tourists are already placed. Even when it was time for us to check in (and if I didnt even bother asking him, he would not assist us) He is still not in an accommodating mode when It is his Job to be so. When we got into the room (without any assistance considering we each have our small luggage, personal bag, and one big luggage with us, and a child), I must say I liked what I saw. It was really huge and looked squeaky clean! The room on 208 has nice interiors, and we could all make a cartwheel. It has an odd smell though. Not really bad, just odd. Then we went to our room in 409. I think it looks bigger. It looks clean too but when I got a closer look, the room isnt thoroughly cleaned. There were empty bottles of yakult on one of the drawers and a few trashes. On our first and second night, the staff on duty were more accommodating, very accommodating in fact, and really nice and polite too. Very different from the first one. They also have a really cool swimming pool, on the side there are tables and chairs and lounges where one, or a big group can hang out. We did not, unfortunately, had the time to do so. Big thanks also to Ms. Surani for being helpful upon our check out. :) She is also the one that made me think, maybe Id come back to hotel 81 tristar. :)

All in all, I did enjoy my stay. Rooms are big, beds are 9/10 clean ( one bed has a stain coz of dripping water (for fire) ), smell of the room 8/10, staff 9/10.

And yeah, there are food stalls just outside the hotel, a convenience store and a 10minute walk to paya lebar mrt station.

nikki xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachbumkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Decent location near MRT staition. Plenty of 'local' food courts.

Pool is great and a quite sun trap.

The rooms are a great size. nicely layed out but a bit grubby for the price. I.e our windows had been screwed shut. The shavings from where they drilled the frame were still on the window sill. So they do not pay much attention to detail.

No food available or breakfast so I struggle to see where the Hotel part comes into it.

ATM on the door step that was really usefull.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treblker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Room is of good size but filled with "surprises". There were plenty of tiny ants in the room, possibly because it is such an old building. The control panel of the air conditioner was badly damaged and barely functional. Stopper in the tub was missing ... just to name a few.

Lucky, staffs were great and efficient. On one day, we reported about our dripping air conditioner in the morning and it was fix by the time we are back in the evening. I do enjoy the location not only because it is close to MRT station, but because there are some housing estate nearby, giving you the opportunity to feel the life of genuine local people.

WiFi is free but only available in the lobby. Swimming pool is small in size but since only a handful of guests ever use it, there is not much of a problem. Because there are no restaurant in the hotel, you have to go out for meals. Although there are plenty of food stalls and small diners in the nearby streets, hot weather simply kills all the mood in exploring side streets for local cuisine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

hotel was good...near to eating places. Great for big family as we are staying in the family room. very specious....with small swimming pool.

Texi was a bit of problem. The room floor need to be clean or polish at least cos it was so dusty.

will be staying there in future near to the airport, Mrt and food centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank haslina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived from the airport at 7.30am and straight away, we were given a key to our room, which we were very grateful for after a long flight. The staff were excellent and gave us clear directions to the MRT (underground) This was a real cost saver as only spent $SD5 each for .2 edays.

Food places around the hotel were clean and cheap. Mr Teh had some great little food places and the drinks stall (no alcohol) was so clean it sparkled.

We had a late flight but were welcomed to stay in the pool area and given towels and a key to the facilities. Such helpful staff! DO NOT DIVE into pool. Only 1 metre deep, but huge.
Will stay again as good value for Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for one down Onan road. I woud imagine that the poolside rooms could get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Poor location - not a great area and very far out from city centre. Hotel not very clean overall and expensive for service and facilities

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#229 of 317 in Singapore
73 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#205 of 317 in Singapore
147 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#133 of 317 in Singapore
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#151 of 317 in Singapore
376 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 Changi
Hotel 81 Changi
#219 of 317 in Singapore
13 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#105 of 317 in Singapore
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Address: 1 Onan Road Tristar Inn, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing