We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
8
18
25
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
18
25
11
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

I have few business/personal trip into Singapore and have a good idea on how budget hotel might have to offer. This Hotel 81 Classic, as title describes, a very good hotel in its class. I gave 5 stars for amenities provided in the hotel room and I must say its adequate for short and long stay. Beside basic amenities of a budget hotel room, this hotel also provide safe box, TV, kettle, hair dryer and even small fridge. Just, the rooms are somehow too cold as the aircond control seems "unable" to comply. Anyhow, hotel's staffs are aware of the situation and will help to offer an extra blanket or even transfer you to warmer room if available. Lets go outside of the hotel. Especially for muslim, you shouldn't worry about halal foods as it all over the place. Food price are quite cheap too. There are few bus stops 100- 300 meters away from hotel where traveling make easy. As I stay quite long in this hotel, about 50 meters away, there is FairPrice grocery supermarket to cater your needs.

To hotel management, my experience staying in your hotel, I've using 3 difference room and I can say your rooms decor is simple and nice. All of your staffs from front desk to house keeping are very friendly and supportive. I would to suggest on using few automated air freshener in your corridor and hall way for refreshing surrounding air and lifting positive atmosphere in the hotel.

Special thanks to Front desk personnel Diana, Angle and Justin.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Dev V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear Dev V,

Thank you for your informative review. Front Office team will definitely be motivated by your warm compliments.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

This hotel is a great find. The staff are very friendly especially Angel and Toon, we requested for a late check-out and was granted additional 2 hours without extra cost. Our room has a twin bed and surprisingly big enough to move around with our luggage. A shower curtain for the bathroom would be nice as to prevent the flooring getting too wet when taking a bath. Basic amenities like towels, soap, toothbrush as well as bottled water, coffee and tea are provided with an electric kettle to boil. Great location as there's a 24 hours hawker center (food court) that just in front of the hotel that you can eat anytime. Bus stop is just about 100 meters away that brings you to many places. Old and new shopping malls surrounded the areas. If you are looking for a place to stay and friendly to your pocket, this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can control the aircon temperature by yourself .
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Classic, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Dear John S,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Classic. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality. However, we will work hard and propose to the management with regards to the shower curtains for our bathrooms. Nevertheless, we would like to welcome you once again on your next visit! Cheers!

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This is reasonable location for short stay. Room was small, but the bed was comfortable. However, we got a room with temperature of the air-con that cannot be controlled. We wonder whether all the rooms were the same. We were freezing inside the room at night. However, we were just too tired to ask the hotel to change room late at night. ... also smell smoke at the corridor of the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tahkhengsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Classic, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear tahkhengsoon,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. The management is currently looking into refurbishment for Hotel 81 Classic to serve our guests better in the near future. Hence, we are looking forward to your next visit in Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

I come to Singapore for business purposes. The hotel here very comfortable. The service here very good. Staff is are good and helpful.The rate here is acceptable compare to other hotel. Halal food easy to get here and also nice to eat. Near to Fair price(Hyper market), so quite easy if have forget to bring your toiletries. By the way, they have free WiFi connection.
For location, its easy to access public transport as near to taxi,bus stand and also MRT station. For MRT need to walk but you can still hop in into bus as they will stop at MRT station ;)
Only need to improve for room condition, where the for the wardrobe, i suggest to add some air freshener as there is a slightly unpleasant odor. For air ventilation hole need to repaired as the it in bad condition. look likes tear-off. But overall, It still good place to stay with low budget.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nur Faizah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Classic, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Dear Nur Faizah J,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Classic. Thank you for taking your time to write us an informative review. Nevertheless, we will take note on the issues that you have mentioned. We are definitely looking forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

I come Singapore for business purposes. The hotel here very comfortable. The service here very good. Staff Angel very friendly and good. Will come back to stay again on . my next trip. The rate here is acceptable compare to other hotel. Food easy to get here and also nice to eat

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank ZiadA650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare_Putri, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Classic, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Ziad A,

Thank you for your positive feedback, especially the notable hospitality that you received from our Senior Front Office Executive, Ms Angel. We are thrilled that you are planning to stay with us again on your next trip to Singapore. Thank you once again! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews