We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Hotel 81 Selegie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 81 Selegie
Ranked #229 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hotel nearest bugis and little india, at downtown, so If I want Going to shopping just walking no need bus or MRT. But I take family room and there is nothing a window. So can't see area outside. But still happy stay in 81 selegie.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with tiket.com
1  Thank Febrihani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 81 Selegie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

The staff was really nice and friendly. Sometimes they were really busy so cannot help you as much as you would like. The cleaning of the room was excelent and we didnt see any bug in the hotel. The location is excelent, 2 blocks from little india metro station. And the aircon worked all the time perfectly (this is indispensable in singapore) We booked a room for 4 ( 1 room - 2 queens) for S$120 each day aprox. The room didnt have any window, so everything was a little bit wet. The sheets, the mattress, also some of our clothes after 3 nights there. It seems there isnt any exhaust fan in the room or bathroom, so the room is like LAS VEGAS, what happens there, stays there :-S. . There wasnt more than 1 powerpoint in the room and when you leave the room, the electricity is cut off, so you cannot leave charging any device or any drink inside the fridge. There was no more furniture than a chair and a light table. The shower is in between the lavatory and the toilet with no shower place separately or curtains, so you can wash the whole bathroom while you take a shower.
Also, we think they offer the hotel as a "love hotel".
Anyway, I think there is no better product for that price in Singapore.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis Manuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I like the location of the hotel because it's near at Dhoby Ghaut station and there's a 24 food house near the hotel. I also like the service at the hotel. The room is also clean and maintained. During our 5 days stay, I can't remember any untoward incident. I will definitely going back to this hotel whenever I visit Singapore again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geymboi_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As a Budget Hotel, the Family Room is spacious and every staff was very helpful, they will answer any questions nice and politely. He even called us a cab for travel to airport which was quite a bit shocking to have it from Singaporean :-) The Hotel is very near to Little India MRT Station and convenience stores and food shops. 320 Below Ice Cream, 7-11, Chinese & Indian Food Shops 50 meters away, bean curd and snacks shop with nice and friendly owner across the street. KFC & Starbucks just right in the corner. Very convenience hotel for family with young children and teens.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cincinsugiarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I stay at hotel 81 selegie from 5 february until 8 february 2014 with my friends. This is the comfortable hotel.why? Because the rooms is very clean, free wifi, the receptionist and the hotel manager is polite to guest.the facilities is very good and the service is excelent. And also , the price is not expensive, approximately 497 SGD (3nights) for family room type.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nabyl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel are near little india and bugis MRT station, and bus station right in the front of the hotel.
Although it has no window, the room was spacy and clean.
I stay there one night with my family in the family room. Service was nice. The front officer offer me a to check the fare when was asking alternative transportation to changi. She also showed me the easiest and nearest way to MRT station and also the best route to changi.
The only thing bug me were the bathroom exhouse fan were off.

Thank rgy82
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Amazing service
They are very friendly, always smiling
Very helpful
Next time when we fly back we are defiantly staying at this hotel again
Very close to all the attractions that you want to go to

The rooms are always nice and neat love it :)

Thank you Ayu, Martin, Terrence for your great service
Thank you

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#198 of 316 in Singapore
197 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#168 of 316 in Singapore
314 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#221 of 316 in Singapore
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#165 of 316 in Singapore
1,191 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel 81 - Heritage
Hotel 81 - Heritage
#219 of 316 in Singapore
149 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#233 of 316 in Singapore
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Selegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Selegie

Address: 161 Selegie Road | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $54 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Selegie 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Selegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Selegie Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing