We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great budget hotel!!!!”
Review of Hotel 81 Selegie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 Selegie
Ranked #224 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great budget hotel!!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Family room spacy enough for 4 adults.clean, crisp sheets and towels changed everyday. same as the free supply of mineral water( 4bottles ) everyday. hot shower works efficiently all the time. Kettle is provided to heat water, as well as free coffee in sachets. Personal refrigerator is also available to store food/beverages bought outside..

The best thing about this hotel is the great location. selegie rd. Is a one way rowd and because of this the road is not crowded at all, easy to cross to nearby Bugis street which is 5 min away, as well as Sim Lim Square and Burlington Square and Bugis Junction Mall. there is a lot of restos around, Starbucks, KFC, Mcdonalds,as well as small, quaint specialt restos..
Important to know since the hotel doesnt serve breakfast..
I would definetely recommend this place to families who want a good place to crash after a day of touring the city.. The staff in the front desk are always accomodating and ready to help..
Overall experience quite satisfactory.. Well done hotel 81 selegie!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toothfairy1573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    79
    15
    16
See reviews for
41
27
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room is very small. The cable channels very few.
No internet. Not worth the price.
receptionist not friendly. The lobby is very small. No sofa to seat while waiting.
no breakfast included.

Very good side is it is just outside the selegie bus stop and a 2 minute walk to little india MRT. That's all.
i wont recommend this at all. there are other hotels cheaper than hotel 81 but executes BETTER services.

Room Tip: No pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanniepex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Very spacy family room for 4 person. If you are in a group consist 4 person better choose family room. Superior room very small. But for family room it very large room. And just a block to little india mrt and tekka mall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsSannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room is too small even to fit a suitcase. We had to keep it behind the shut door to have some room to walk to bathroom. Strange smell and mould on ceiling. With no ventilation, while we were out we had turned off the aircon only to find the floor and wall wet with moisture.
Also since they let out the hotel on hourly basis which I only realise on the second day, it is used for dodgy purpose.

Room Tip: don't stay here unless you need room for less than 5 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel 81 Selegie is a great hotel to crash after a tiring day of sightseeing. Reviews here are quite nasty but each and everyone of us has their own experience. Ours was good! The rooms were always clean so was the bed. The family room was bigger as compared to the twin room. Twin rooms were a bit cramp especially if you have a lot of luggage but it wasn't really a big deal since we spent 90% of our day sightseeing. The hotel is located in a good location. 711 is just a few steps away and there's a hawker stand in the next block where you can eat. Bugis is a couple of blocks away and the best thing is that there's a bus stop in front of the hotel and Little India MRT is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kwipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, which near to MRT Little india and Dobby Ghaut; i stayed 2 nights on 7th floor, the provision is fine for hotel: a double bed with own toilet/bathroom, 1 bottle of water for 2 nights, windiw with curtain that cannot be lifted, 2 sets of toothbrush which looks like toothpaste dried on it when i just open the packing; no breakfast, very small room, a lot of mosquitoes in the toilet at day1 and some start to appear in the sleeping place at day2. Don't even know how they appeared, and the bed sheet looks like there are some oil when strange color appear at pillow bag...

Helpful?
1 Thank Bistop
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The receptionists seem friendly when we checked in. The location is good, it is near 7 Eleven, plus a bus stop, and a few minute walk from Little India MRT Station. It is also convenient to have our Night Safari tour because one of the pick up/drop station is in The Verge, which is also near Selegie Road. Little India area is just in Serangoon Road, which is just on the other side of Selegie Road.

No chairs or lounge in the lobby for guests who will check in. It rained so hard in the afternoon so when we waited for the rain to stop we don't even have a place to sit.

We were given a room on the 7th floor when we checked in. The room was so small, even the bathroom has so little space. As we were about to go down to start our tour of the city, we found out the elevator was no longer working. So we had to use the fire exit. 7 floors! After our tour, we came back by night and found out the elevator was still not working and even the receptionists don't know when it will be fixed! I don't want to climb the stairs every single day up to the 7th floor! So we asked the girl receptionist to give us another room. She was kind enough to give us a room in the ground floor with no extra charge. The room was slightly bigger than the 7th floor, but this time it has no window and it smells. But we'd rather have a smelly room than climb the stairs to the 7th floor just to have a small and cramped room. The ground floor room was convenient because it was easier to get in and out of the hotel without worries about the elevator. The downside, aside from the smell (which we eventually got immune of in the succeeding days), was the noise. You can hear the people coming in and out of the hotel, including TV, telephone and music from outside. But the (indian?) music we have been hearing actually lulled me to sleep. However, we had one disturbing night, when I realized that some couples use the hotel as some sort of a love motel. We heard moans and other noises. I had to drown the noise by surfing the internet and preoccupying myself with other things.

Meanwhile, wifi is free. You just have to log in the username and password every time you switch on and connect your device. There's a bottle of water and instant coffee everyday the room was cleaned so having a newly cleaned room and replaced towels every night we arrive made us feel a bit better after a tiring day of touring the city.

I can't say that I got my money's worth. But then again, Singapore is an expensive city. If you are not entirely on a tight budget, you should try other better hotels. If you are an on a tight budget and your main purpose is to tour the city the whole day and just use the hotel room mainly for rest in the night, then I guess it's not entirely a bad experience because you won't stay that long inside the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eunjung2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#199 of 315 in Singapore
193 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#169 of 315 in Singapore
311 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#159 of 315 in Singapore
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#213 of 315 in Singapore
161 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel 81 - Heritage
Hotel 81 - Heritage
#221 of 315 in Singapore
147 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#153 of 315 in Singapore
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Selegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Selegie

Property: Hotel 81 Selegie
Address: 161 Selegie Road | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Selegie 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Selegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Selegie Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing