We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is the first but last time, terrible experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 34

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 34
Ranked #192 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is the first but last time, terrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Staffs are cool, not helpful especially when you encounter some problems.
We stayed 2 nights only. At the first night, we found a cockroach in our room and felt so terrible. We immediately went downstairs to ask them for help. But their attitudes felt like .. Come on, its normal. and sent a staff help us to kill it.

The air condition is super cold. We must turn it off at night, otherwise you will keep freezing the whole night. And I got flu at the end of the trip as well. The water heater sucks. You will feel sometimes cold and sometimes warm when taking shower.

But for a budget hotel, you may have a try. For me, I swear I will never go to there again.
It is not only just based on the facilities, but the location. It located near a red-light district. It is very dangerous for girls to stay, especially when sometimes you back hotel at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florence830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management’s attention. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet you expectation during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities. As Singapore is a tropical country with summer all year round, we make a conscious effort to keep our guests cool while in the comfort of the room. Corrective steps are also taken to check on the water heater. We work closely with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We have also counselled our front desk staff and encouraged them to take more initiative to speak out and find out how to address the needs of our guests.

Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. This reflects the ambience and local taste in this heritage area. While the location may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse needs of our customers.

Please accept our apologies that some of the areas did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We will work hard to improve our standards and it is feedback like this that helps us to do better. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
20
27
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung,Indonesia
Level Contributor
515 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was by far our cheapest stay in Singapore.Stayed at many Santa Grand hotels throughout Singapore ,but its our 1st time to stay in the Aljunied area.
We booked through Agoda , and paid just about $ 200 for a 3 nites stay.
We took off at the Aljunied MRT station and walk about 600 metres to reach this hotel.
We are surprised of what we get , for the price we paid.
We were given the 501 room ,with 2 twin beds.A relatively spacious room compared to other budget hotels in Singapore ,fast check in and out.Complete amenities with toothbrush ,hairdrier, small fridge, a safe deposit box, body and hair shampoo and even a half sized bathtub ! Quite friendly front desk, and they provide us 2 bottles of mineral water
We saw a mini gym also but we didn't manage to try.
The room came with no breakfast ,but its not a problem at all ,because everywhere you can see restaurants and kopitiams scattered within the hotel.
Overall are satisfied staying at this hotel,a minor glitch was the surroundings of this Geylang area.In the afternoon ,many people gathers at the road intersection here and some of them staring at us when we passed by.Felt a bit unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. This reflects the ambience and local taste in this heritage area.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to having you back at Santa Grand.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Service is good. Staff working there are all very polite. Clean spacious hotel. Free wifi. Sports channel. Value for money. Best choice for a budget hotel. Nice sitting area. There is also a mini gym now under construction.  

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego Garcia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My stay at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied was very pleasant... I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions in the past, and for this area of Singapore (Geylang District) it is very nice, and if you are looking for a clean, quiet, and affordable hotel then this may fit the bill... the hotel is located close to the transit system (i.e., train station, Al Junied)... it does not classify as a five star hotel which I stayed at the last few nights before returning to work, but then again, my company paid for the 5-star which is always an added benefit... in any event, for the price it was comfortable and included all the amenities that I need as a traveller, and then again, how many amenities do we really need ?

Room Tip: You may want to look at a few rooms to get a good feel for the one that is conducive to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service. We look forward to having you back at Santa Grand again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've been in this hotel for 3 nights with my family, the rooms is bigger than my expectation with nice view and big window(room no. 505 and 506)

Facilities are good and comfortable enough

I want to say thank you to the lady at reservation centre (name Sandy? not sure) due to her enthusiastic), I had booked a family room, then 2 more ppl from my family wanted to join the trip but the hotel Santa Grand Aljunied was fully booked, I did make an email to Reservation centre and the lady did try her best to find a room for us

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhamThuHoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your valuable compliments on our reservation staff have been passed on to the top management to recognize her effort and her name is called Sha. We are sure that she will be even more motivated in maintaining a high level of customer service.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Used to be excellent condition 2yrs back when we stsy.
But this time room aircon not cold as used to be,housekeeping poor in cleaning.They even let me to see another room,the aircon is the same which is not cold too.
Tourist n reviewer pls don't stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Cleaniness is very important in the room n toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffreybtchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation.

We appreciate your honest feedback and we are constantly working to provide a comfortable accommodation to our customers. We did find some of the rooms air-condition were not cooling enough especially during this humid and hot weather in Singapore. However, we have since rectified the issue and will work to continue improving in other aspect of our product and service as well. As regards our housekeeping standards, we have taken corrective actions to improve our cleanliness as well as the housekeeping procedure. It is through such feedback like yours, we are able to maintain and further improve our hotel standard.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us here. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

First of all, im not the type of person who usually complain and leave the comments.
Compare to other hotels around, more expensive than others and the room is not that nice. Everthing is old except the paint is new. Sanitarywares are so old, not clean and no soap provided. I have been to other hotels in this area. But this place is not worth for this price at all. I have read reviews from this hotel before i arrived. I was expecting that all the complains about room should have already been solved, especially the old ages of sanitarywares. Towels are crazy old, i would have thrown away if this is in my own home. I'm wondering if the management of this branch has ever known that other hotels around are cheaper and nicer. Or they probably dont care about this branch at all? I am also the owner of small-medium hotels in Thailand. But i would never let this happen to my hotel.
The size of room is OK with me, eventhough others might complained but i understand, it doesnt have to be bigger, because other hotels are also small.
I feels so regret that i paid for this price with this kind of room. I will have to stay for 1 more night.
If it didnt charge me already i would have changed the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maynard9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has attracted our management's attention.

Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. This reflects the ambience and local taste in this heritage area. We recognize that the hotel room including the bathroom is time for a refurbishment due to wear and tear, and your feedback makes it a pressing need to do so. Thank you for highlighting the matter to us.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#145 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#137 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#128 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#185 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#129 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#198 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 34

Property: Hotel 34
Address: 34 Lorong 22 Geylang Hotel 34, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 34 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 34 is an eight-storey character hotel, comprising of Superior, Deluxe and Family rooms - giving a very intimate and homely atmosphere to all guests. The rooms reflect a modernistic style specially designed using different colour combinations to create varying moods. Just 18 minutes from Changi International Airport and a stone throw away from the city centre - Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, Suntec City Mall and the financial and business districts at Shenton Way. Hotel 34 is ideally located for both regional business and leisure travelers. In addition, Hotel 34's location within walking distance of Singapore Indoor Stadium means that for iconic regional performances, we are able to host regional travelers for very short stays for whom convenience to the venue is the primary concern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel 34 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing