We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms at a decent price”
Review of Hotel 34

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 34
Ranked #208 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Well located and not too far from the airport, the Santa Grand Aljunied has rooms much bigger than the Santa Grand West Coast. There is a nice view from the 7th floor. The staff is very accomodating and the friendly woman at front desk explained to us where to walk to get to the restaurants area and she was kind enough to lend us an umbrella as it was raining. Of course it is not the Hilton but the price is not the same either.....Considering the price of hotel rooms in Singapore the Santa grand is a fair and honest deal. And thumbs up for the front desk lady !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_QuebecQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Your valuable compliments on our front desk staff have been passed on to the top management to recognize her effort. We are sure that she will be even more motivated in maintaining a high level of customer service.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with us and look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Its closed to Paya Lebar mrt station if taking bus no.70 and 70M instead of mrt Aljunied station.
The hotel is nearby 7-11 and many restaurants there. Howerver, hotel should has more international plugs.
Anyway, over all is good but the elevator is too small.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kringjarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and also easily accesible with the public transport, malls and acttractions just a stone throw away. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about the international plug, we will look into it and make improvement.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great to always know that SantaGrand Aljunied frequently has room promotions which are really worth to spend for the neccesities u can find in the room..Love the location that is by the roadside..so many convenient stores around..7-11 is just less than five minutes away along with 3 petrol kiosks within sight from your room. Love the quiet ambience..the staff are friendly too.Lastly..free wifi available n great tv channels with a dvd player.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaniZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I m so glad with this hotel due to my guest Mr Deng Xayalath left his gold neckless in the room and was found by the Chamber maid Vikramjit Singh and the front desk staff Ms Felicia Hoeden called to inform the case. Appreciated to Mr Sam Lee, the hotel manager for his helpfull to send the neckless to guest immediately as to let the guest enjoy his tour without worries!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Your valuable compliments on Felicia and Vikramjit have been passed on to the top management to recognize their effort. We are sure that they will be even more motivated in maintaining a high level of customer service.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and look forward to serving you again very soon.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have no clue that the entire Singapore would have a such terrible hotel. Super tiny room with dirty bathroom. The bathroom seems like a 1950's product to me. I have been traveling around the world, especially in Asia. I really expect something good from this "developed" aisan country. I am telling you all that a regular motel in China or S. Korea is much more better than this place. Also, the loaction, It's just couple of blocks away from prostitution. Really bad area in Singapore. Keep away from this place if you can!!

Room Tip: There is simply no good room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has attracted our management's attention. Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. This reflects the ambience and local taste in this heritage area. As the location may not be preferred by all travelers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

We recognize that the hotel room including the bathroom is time for a refurbishment due to wear and tear, and your feedback makes it a pressing need to do so. Thank you for highlighting the matter to us.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As per other reviews I wouldn't stay here if your a solo female traveller as It is in the red light district.when I've first walked into the room it smelt of urine. The housekeeping is poor, as well as the room maintenance. The receptionist in the morning is less than helpful. On a positive there is free wifi, and the bed is actually surprisingly comfortable, we had to ask for extra pillows however. We only stayed one night as we were only passing through. It was good to see how the locals lived I suppose, the room is cheap which is also a bonus. Tea and coffee facilities available in the room. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank lazysundaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and noted some positive points about Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. As regards our housekeeping standards, we have taken your feedback and made improvements. We have addressed the temporary problem of a shortage of staff during your stay. Your feedback has been raised up and attracted our management's attention.

Whilst the location of Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not a place for lone women traveler. Area not good. Only stayed there because it was the only reasonable priced Hotel left that had rooms available at short notice due to peak season. Bathroom is out of date and smelly. Room was dirty & dusty when I arrived.
Housekeeping just left dirty linen in the corridor, not a pleasant sight.
No restaurant not even breakfast is available.
Can not expect too much from a 2 * but clean a room is a must anywhere.
Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawar_1749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has attracted our management's attention.

Whilst the location of Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers. As regards our housekeeping standards, we have taken your feedback and made improvements and have addressed the temporary problem of a shortage of staff during your stay.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#191 of 317 in Singapore
121 reviews
Geylang
Home Suite View Hotel
Home Suite View Hotel
#278 of 317 in Singapore
20 reviews
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#252 of 317 in Singapore
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BudgetOne Hotel
#250 of 317 in Singapore
7 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 317 in Singapore
825 reviews
Geylang
ZEN Rooms Evergreen Residences
ZEN Rooms Evergreen Residences
#286 of 317 in Singapore
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 34

Address: 34 Lorong 22 Geylang Hotel 34, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $44 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 34 is an eight-storey character hotel, comprising of Superior, Deluxe and Family rooms - giving a very intimate and homely atmosphere to all guests. The rooms reflect a modernistic style specially designed using different colour combinations to create varying moods. Just 18 minutes from Changi International Airport and a stone throw away from the city centre - Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, Suntec City Mall and the financial and business districts at Shenton Way. Hotel 34 is ideally located for both regional business and leisure travelers. In addition, Hotel 34's location within walking distance of Singapore Indoor Stadium means that for iconic regional performances, we are able to host regional travelers for very short stays for whom convenience to the venue is the primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 34 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing