We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
Ranked #38 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Singapore's "Hive" backpacker hostel is safe, clean and one of the cheapest places to stay in this expensive city state. The young staff are extremely kind and helpful. With the all important air conditioning, the dormitories can get pretty chilly at night, so it might be sensible to bring your own sleeping bag liner. You also need to bring your own towel. The hot water in the showers IS hot ! The free breakfast is basic with only bread, cornflakes accompanied by tea and instant coffee but it sure fills your belly at the beginning of the day. The Free WiFi works well throughout the hostel, plus there are two Free computer terminals in the reception area. There are several good and cheap restaurants close to The Hive plus two "Seven Elevens" within a short walk. "Farrer Park" is the closest MRT subway station. Turn right out of the subway, and with the "City Mall" behind you, turn right and walk North East up Serangoon Road and "The Hive" is about five minutes walk on the right hand side, on the corner with Lavender Street. This is a good budget choice for Singapore. Andrew Bruce, Dumfries, Scotland, U.K.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank andrewbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for The Hive Singapore Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 406 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Allthough situated far away from Singapore City I have only positive to tell about "The Hive"
And with only 15 minutes to Little India or 2-300 meters from the Metro it should not keep you from
booking with this compfy and very cheap hostel (SGD 17,85 per night including "breakfast" and FREE coffee whenever you like)
WiFi is working spotless… even so in the room and from your bed :-) I value that a lot as I have to work
along the road.
Staff is very kind and helpful
Just across the road you shall find a cosy and very in-expensive restaurant

So; when visiting Singapore, don`t hesitate to book a bed with "The Hive"

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Situated just outside the city, this hostel is within 200m of the MTR underground train network which can take you anywhere in Singapore.

The hostel is clean, offers both private double rooms to 10 bed mixed dorm rooms. I've experienced both and both are clean. The rooms are standard bunkbeds, the lower beds have a lot of head room which many hostels don't. Each room has padlocked lockers for your valuables and many plug sockets for charging electronics.

Included with your stay is free breakfast including toast and a few different spreads or corn flakes.

Tea and coffee free all day and internet wifi is available all over the hostel.

Showers and bathroom facilities are brill for what you pay for.

All round good hostel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: A room away from the busy road will help light sleepers.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is my first time at The Hive. Stayed 3 nights there. I booked private room for 2. The room is separate from the main building but very secure since they use key card to access the door and the room as well. Clean & nice. Free breakfast with bread, jam, milk, tea, coffee but you must prepare and clean it up on your own.
Very near from MRT & bus stop. Also not far from Little India & Mustafa Center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hive has a really cool vibe. It is pleasantly decorated with a dark and yellow colour scheme and one section of wall in the large common room is dedicated to guest commentary. In many ways its what you expect from a backpacker hostel; reasonably priced, clean, extremely friendly, complimentary tea and coffee and standard but welcome breakfast.

As a group of six, we stayed in the dorm room and had no real complaints. One top bunk bed was wobbly but after informing staff, it wouldn't move - even if it tried. The shower facilities are good but they are dark and are frustratingly occupied during busy times. Hive isn't in the most ideal location and requires a metro trip for a good few stops. Consequently, a late night will mean you need to hail a taxi or walk for over one hour.

Overall though. A good place at a decent price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is very cheap. The place is clean too. Near attraction place like little India. Only 300m from MRT station. I call this place a saviour when you only have limited trip budget. I greatly recommended this place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Paulus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in The Hive for 2 nights. Because it was really too expensive to book a private room, we decided to stay in a dorm with ten other people. It was ok, the room was clean with aircon and the breakfast was basic but good. The bathrooms were quite clean, but they didn't have any space to hang or change your clothes. Not always convenient as a woman :-). In the toilets and the showers downstairs we discovered some cockroaches. The staff is really helpful and nice. Wifi works well in the front room.
Overall a good place to stay in pricy Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#50 of 234 in Singapore
298 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#51 of 234 in Singapore
508 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#23 of 234 in Singapore
498 reviews
Mitraa Inn
#42 of 234 in Singapore
297 reviews
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#19 of 234 in Singapore
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hive Singapore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hive Singapore Hostel

Address: 624 Serangoon Road The Hive, Singapore 218223, Singapore (Formerly The Hive Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $14 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hive Singapore Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Before we tell you more about us, you have to read this: _________________________________________________ FREE WIFI - Connections are strong and stable in all corners of The Hive all the time FREE BREAKFAST - Unlimited Toast, jam spread, milk and cereals FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE - Safe keep your backpacks with us after check-out FREE COFFEE & TEA WHOLE DAY - a way to say "Thank you" to our guests FREE LAUNDRY SERVICES - no charge to use our washing machines & dryer between 1900 to 0700 hrs FREE MAP - helping you to get around easier FREE OVERSEAS CALL - always helping you to feel at home LESS than five minutes walk to nearest MRT station NO CURFEW - armed with our hostel access card, you can enter our hostel anytime COMPETITIVE RATES - beating off many competitions FAMILY / GROUP FRIENDLY - with so many dorm configurations, you'll find something just for you TV ROOM WITH CABLE TV - if you like to stay in, you can enjoy HBO movies, basketball, football, Formula One, Tennis and more XBOX KINECT & BOARD GAMES - more to do if you want to stay away from the scorching sun SPACIOUS LOUNGE - what many hostels are unable to provide, we have a huge lounge just for everything BRANDED MATTRESS - providing you a good quality and comfortable sleep after a long day CLEAN LINENS - cleanliness will bring you back to us again ......and lots more for you to experience when you stay at The Hive. Established since December 2004, The Hive is one of the pioneer hostels in Singapore. We enjoyed a long history of providing our guests with affordable accommodation and excellent service. With such a rich history behind us, there is only one characteristic about us: CHANGE. The Hive is always improving to provide better for our guests and their feedbacks are our best testimonials. Located in the centre of Singapore, we are every reason a traveller should stay with us. Boon Keng MRT Station, which is just less than five minutes away from our hostel, has a direct train to most tourist attractions. We have a more welcoming atmosphere, a big communal lounge great for interaction, cable channels offering The Premier League, Champions League, F1, tennis - something the hotels are lacking. Surely the next best alternative to hotels??? The Hive is also the place for a family/group stay-over. Groupacking...why travel in pairs when it's much more fun in groups? Start packing for your next Groupacking trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hive Singapore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hive Backpackers Hotel Singapore
The Hive Singapore Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing