We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
119
208
75
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
208
75
20
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 428 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

2nd time staying at The Hive, although the first time was with the Kallang Location. I thought that the Hive@Kallang was the best budget accomodation in SG but was proven wrong as The Hive@Boon Keng is the bomb. =)

PROS:
It is near Boon Keng MRT (Remember it's Exit C), and across the street, there are some food stalls and a couple of blocks away is a 24 hour hawker centre. From Clarke Quay past midnight, I only spent around 9SGD for taxi, that's how near it is. Just one MRT station away from the well known 24 hour Mustafa Center where one can get supplies or mementos. Comfortable Bed. Dorm Room provided not as cramped as expected.Simple breakfast options are enough to start your day. Quiet, clean, and peaceful. Staff are patient with questions and requests and the cleaning lady was helpful and kind. Only 1SGD for a Coke in can.

CONS:
1.The blanket they provide may not be enough to keep one warm so just bring an extra.
2. The wooden bathroom doors at the main dorm area are starting to act up and should be replaced instead with alum/pvc/sliding doors to prevent from being accidentally locked up inside.

TQs:
A well deserved "thank you" goes to Bob for helping with the carrying of the luggage of the seniors I am with. As a backpackers lodge, one is expected to carry own luggage up a plight of stairs so this simple act of kindness should not be left unnoticed. Also to Aileen and Wei (hope I got the name right) for watching over my senior aunt who decided to stay behind one time. And Shan for the Wifi help and directions.

TIP: When taking a taxi going to the airport, hail a cab according to the traffic/route to cut through cost and time. I forgot the street but If you're still inside the Hive, it's to the left of the main entrance door. No need to cross. Or just ask reception to be sure. =p

Overall: Cheap but comfortable stay. Will definitely be back here when I do my reviews for an exam and research.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkheadphones2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Hey pinkheadphones2015,


We like that you find both our branches to your liking. At least we are doing something right. Unfortunately we had to give up on the one in Kallang due to business reasons. Fret not because then we are able to focus on improving the one and only at Boon Keng.

On the point about the toilet doors. I think I know what you are referring to. We had just changed the doors to wooden doors because of government regulations. We will take a look at the locks of the doors.

We will be going through an extensive renovation in November and we will look into replacing the current thermal blankets we have. Please allow us some time to find something suitable.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff. You made the effort to remember all their names. As service providers, we find that very heartwarming. It is always good to feel appreciated. I will convey your thanks to the staff.

Once again, thank you for coming back to stay with us and also to spend time sharing your experience in detail here.

See you soon ya? Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Staff were awesome (especially Aileen-incredibly patient despite the countless emails we sent back and forth). This was the cheapest place in Singapore I could find for my own room. Only downsides were lack of a soap dispenser in the upstairs bathrooms and the toilet in one upstairs bathroom becoming blocked. Am probably transiting in Singapore for one night in November and would most probably stay here again. Awesome work guys. Keep it up :-)

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljamieson1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hey pauljamieson1986,

We will let Aileen know about your compliments. Thanks!

And yes, thanks also for the feedback about the soap dispenser in the showers/toilets. We will have them when we are done with our renovations in November.

Take care wherever you are! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked this hostel based on the reviews and we were a little disappointed. There is two areas to the hostel, the reception area with dorms and another section in which you need to leave the main complex and go next door. the rooms at the Main reception are clean and tidy however the rooms in the other section are old and need work. The communal bathroom is a wet room which didn't have any hot water. Simple breakfast but it is enough before you head out. I would try a different hostel next time.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank peterstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hey peterstevenson,

Thank you for your feedback. We understand your position and apologise that we didnt deliver up to your expectations.

Please be assured that we will be under-going extensive renovations to the tired section by the end of the year. Discussions with our designer has already taken place.

Stay connected to see our change and hopefully we do get the chance to be of service to you again.

Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I went for a vacation in last month July 2012 and i think i really did the best choice of picking The Hive as my accommodation in Singapore!
1. Clean- Everything is just like new!
2. Comfortable- What can i describe about it only a word "HOME", It gives me home's feeling
3. Friendly staff- The staffs are so kind and polite!
Definitely i will pick The Hive again in my next vacation in Singapore! :D

Room tip: Reserve early please! :)
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicklausloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hey hey Nicklausloo,


Thanks for the many compliments. We will give the team a pat on the back for a job well done.

We will be going through an extensive renovation very very soon. Things are only going to get better here at The Hive. Stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This has everything you want from a backpackers. Clean, friendly staff with good english speaking skills, free wifi and computer services and close to transport. Would definitely stay here again next time I pass through Singapore and recommend highly.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hey Ben!

Thanks for the review!

We are glad you liked it here. It 's only going to get better!

Take care wherever you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews