We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hongkong Soya Sauce Chicken Rice & Noodle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinatown Complex

Chinatown Complex
Ranked #184 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hongkong Soya Sauce Chicken Rice & Noodle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This stall is on Level 2. Unfortunately, I don't have the stall number but if you're there during peak meal times, that is 12:00-1:00pm and 6:00-7:30pm, just look for the long queue!
They are one of the few stalls in Singapore still selling chicken rice for S$2 a plate. Their chicken noodles are S$2.50 per plate. I would rate their soya sauce chicken as on par with their more expensive competition in Upper Cross Street, just a stone's throw away.
I had a plate of chicken rice $2, additional roasted pork (crispy and delicious!) $1 and a plate of bean sprouts $2. I was given a small bowl of soup (a bit bland but helps to wash down the meal :-).
I'd say it's very good value for money. During my queuing, I saw a Japanese couple studying the stall's food and prices and I encouraged them to try (with the help of some sign language..) and I noticed that they did. When I finished my lunch, I saw them near the front of the line. I'm sure they enjoyed the food.
Oh, I got a tip from a regular in the queue: if you're queuing in the evening check the chicken hanging in the glass case. Better still, ask the stall operators if they have enough chicken for everyone. The regular guy experienced queuing for more than 45 mins but the chicken had run out when it got to his turn.
For groups, you can order a whole chicken for $14 and

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    123
    36
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
678 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Food from all corners of Asia to tempt your tastebuds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to lunch at the Chinatown Complex today - there would be nearly 100 stalls in this building.
We had dumplings and seafood laksa washed down with a barley drink. There were so many options available that I became overwhelmed with choices. If you like the first you see buy it. Come back another day for your next choice.
On the ground floor there are clothing and general merchandise stalls - don't forget to bargain - you may get a suprise.
This is Singapore as the locals enjoy it...don't miss it - take your taste buds on a journey!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chinatown Food Centre - A Microcosm of Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Chinatown Food Centre is located on the second floor of the Chinatown Complex.

Personally it ranks as one of my top places for hawker food (street food) in Singapore.

Its not a pretentious place, its is not deliberately engineered to give tourists a "hawker centre" experience like some places in Singapore.

The Food Centre offers a wide range of great local fare at low prices. The crowd speaks for itself.

Be open minded and adventurous, dont let the dirt and smell put you off...its part of an authentic experience.

If you cant decide what to get.....look at the queue.

Not eveyone speaks English but dont be too worried.

If you think you cant communicate with the stall operators....use you fingers to point at the signs on stall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kikigirl12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well sign-posted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Interseting information around Chinatown reveal its past history.The Chinatown centre provides useful maps.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenmairib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We ate here a few times as it was near our hostel. It was definitely the most authentic foodcourt we ate in whilst in Singapore. There was just so much variety and the prices are so low. The food is up and down but that's to be expected. I had some excellent meals here, and some not as excellent meals. Everything was far from horrible though. If you're serious about having a true Singapore food experience, make sure you visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Complex also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Chinatown Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing