We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well sign-posted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinatown Complex

Chinatown Complex
Ranked #184 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well sign-posted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Interseting information around Chinatown reveal its past history.The Chinatown centre provides useful maps.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenmairib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    123
    36
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We ate here a few times as it was near our hostel. It was definitely the most authentic foodcourt we ate in whilst in Singapore. There was just so much variety and the prices are so low. The food is up and down but that's to be expected. I had some excellent meals here, and some not as excellent meals. Everything was far from horrible though. If you're serious about having a true Singapore food experience, make sure you visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“a jewel in the grot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

It looks dirty and smells nasty but its full of excellent culinary surprises. the locals eat here at a fraction of the price of the tourist food stalls and its so very much better. Suspend your prejudices and concepts and trial new foods and you won't be sorry. Despite appearances its clean and you won't get ill anymore than you would at the chinatown hawker stands

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Original and Sumptuous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have visited the food centre numerous times and have not completed eating our way around all the popular stalls. So far I have been bowled over by the popiah, seow long pau, tim sum, and beef kway teow noodles. Cheap, excellent flavour, but I wish I had two stomachs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiverDanWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and diverse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved the cheap beer and the mix of all kinds of dishes (Malay, Chinese and Indian). Just note though that you will find better dishes vs the ones you sample here, but you need to explore Singapore and find the specialty restaurants,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_Aurelius_3779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Complex also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing