We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Bumbu

Bumbu
Ranked #639 of 10,675 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampong Glam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've been here for lunch with co-workers and lunch with my wife.

The pineapple rice is awesome with a great presentation. Great to share.
I've had the curry chicken and the coffee chicken. The Pandan chicken is a must.

This place has some magic going on. Everytime I've been there, almost all of the tables have been reserved for lunch!

The service is a bit lackluster. The food is great, and well priced too. If you have a large group, call ahead for a reservation. Open at 11am.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePelikans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mostly good, but lacks consistency in cooking”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have dined in this outlet on many occasions over many years always as an invited guest of a local Peranakan family. We would always occupy the largest table on the ground level as we are a group of 9 to 12 diners and the matriarch has mobility restrictions.

The owners are ALWAYS on site, always at the entrance, always pleasant and never over-bearing. Their omni-presence ensures smooth running in terms of service.

Cooking, however, lacks consistency. What was mind-blowing on one visit may be lacking in seasoning on another occasion. I have developed an expectation of taste for certain dishes. I am disappointed when it fails to deliver. Since Peranakan eating involves a myriad of dishes, every visit has good dishes and the not-so. On the basis of cooking alone, I would give a rating of 3.5 but with the added touch of the bosses, I rate this 4 out of 5 overall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyBurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MUst visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I,m a hard marker but this gets top marks for excellence of food and value. Charming ambience and very pleasant and efficient service. You must try the soft shelled crabs.
Can,t wait for a return.
Also, it,s set in Avery picturesque neighbourhood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

There is just nothing bad to say about this place! Even though I read that it was relatively quiet away from the crowd at Arab St, I made reservations just to be sure and sure enough, there was just one empty table left in the restaurant waiting for us when we arrived. I was awed by the decor, it made for such a nice dining ambience. As the portions did not look big on the menu, we ordered freely and were warned it was enough! Sure enough, the portions were generous and we could not finish. We loved all of it - deep fried kangkong, tomyam soup, assam prawns, steamed fish in spicy lime, bean sprouts. Prices are reasonable for the quality. I will definitely return and share this with the rest my family and friends. What a true gem!

Helpful?
2 Thank naimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's good...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I think this place is a little under rated and I think everyone should give it a try. I think they place is located in a very 'low profile' area since that place is full of eateries.

But your determination will be worth it.

Upon arrival, the staff were friendly and we were seated. Then throughout the service, I had an enjoyable time. Partly also because of the friendly staff.

The place is also well decorated and the atmosphere is just right.

Next, the food is decent and the buffet is well worth it. You get a handful of selection and each brings out the trade of the theme where it's Indo-Thai style of food. The spice and everything is just right. Not everything is perfect in terms of the food. But I love most of the selection.

Worth a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meowth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumbu also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Bumbu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing