We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food @ reasonable price at Turf city branch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansang Korean Family Restaurant

Hansang Korean Family Restaurant
Ranked #3,240 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food @ reasonable price at Turf city branch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I came across this restaurant when i wanted to find out what are the changes to turf city. I was attracted to western eating places next door cos it was very cosy & uniquely designed. I almost missed out on this yummy korean restaurant because it's so spacious & quiet , I thought it's for private functions. Luckily they display their menu outside & I took a 2nd look. My son's favourite bugogli chicken is in the menu and the price is reasonable, though not on the lower end but not on high end too. The 1st time, my family ordered bugogli beef, chicken & half ginseng chicken soup. The food is of good standard though we were really puzzled by the quietness of the place. Can the food be good? Where are the customers? What blew us away was the sheer authenticity of the cuisine. It was very close to what we have tasted in seoul. The ginseng chicken was tender & the glutinous rice nicely done. The soup was rich & tasty. Then the little add ons. the bugogli comes with a pumpkin rice. it was served in a stone pot with pumpkin, dates steam together with the rice. My husband love it! The side dishes were not fanciful but are tasty. My girl loved the salad. I observed that the weekday bbq buffet for lunch is good value for money @ $19.90. Therefore I went a few weeks later. It didn't disappoint! It came with free flow of pancake, a variety of meat for bbq, cooked dishes, and freeflow of ice cream. The ice cream was of superb quality. My fav is the green tea & strawberry with lovely strawberry bits. I couldn't remembered much as I have company, I only remembered we were so full, eat until couldn't move, really good value! I was craving for the ginseng chicken, so I returned with my family & found that they have a 1st year anniversary promotion. I returned a few days with my son for the army stew promo set. It comes with pancake, side dishes, stir fried rice & free flow of ice tea at $39.90++ for 2. I really missed this dish I tried in seoul, cos so far the army stew i tried here are expensive or stingy in serving portion & just not nice! Needless to say, the army stew though not huge in serving but it's enough for a teenager boy & a greedy mother! They used 2 type of tasty sausages with rice cake, pork, mixed vege, teng hoon, salted soyabean. After we finished the stew, they emptied the hot pot and the lady boss Ms Minjin Son came to stir fry the steam rice, condiments & seaweed, exactly the korean way we experienced in seoul! My son enjoyed the food & remarked it's awesome! okay, the fried rice is only 1 bowl, quite small in serving I would say but we were both very full after the stew so the portion was enough & not wasteful to us. For the price we paid, I would say it's a fair portion, not generous but enough & with the great quality of the dishes, it's good value for money to me. Of course, the free parking at turf city is a plus point. I will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
546 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Average Koeran food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I often passed by Hansang Korean Restaurant at Novena Square 2, and decided to give it a try. Truth be knownst, other than the Korean BBQ lunch I had at Awon Korean Restaurant (Excelsior Hotel) years ago - which was supposedly a very authentic Korean restaurant, I seldom take Korean food in Singapore.

Hence, I decided it was time for another Korean meal in Singapore. The traditional looking Hansang Restaurant is resplendent in shades of white and beige, light wood furniture and a cosy setting

Chicken Bibimbap came - served with a fried egg - the ones I ate in Korea came with raw / semi-raw egg which I could mix easily into the bowl of rice and vegetables. I loved the spicy Kimchi taste and large beansprouts of Bibimbap (hot stone bowl with rice and assortment of vegetables) but for the one served here, I did not get much Kimchi overture, so I had to add them from the array of side dishes. The overall combination when mixed together, still tasted pretty good.

Then the Korean Ginseng Chicken - very tender chicken flesh that was mentingly soft, and tiny grains of glutinuous rice reckoned into a hot Ginseng brew. The taste was very bland - we did not know if it was because it was meant to be so, or if our tastebuds were conditioned to enjoy the bolder Ginseng flavor in Chinese Ginseng brew.

For more detailed information and photos, do feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2013/12/lunch-at-hansang-korean-restaurant.html

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheArcticStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Given that this was my first time sampling Korean Food, it was awesome. The service and staff were friendly, well worth the visit. We ate at the restaurant in Sinaran Dr, Square 2 Would definately go back againrecommend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Cool Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Food was good. I think it was very tasty. Although they missed our ordered Cola, but we got complentary water ;-). Beside that it was okey, but a bit expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Robin8863
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average korean food @ above average prices @ Turf City branch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Turf City was revamped so we went to celebrate my mum's birthday there. After looking around, the family decided on Korean food @ Hansang restaurant 'outside' Giant supermart. There's a large screen showing Korean pop video visible to diners at the entrance of restaurant but not to diners seated after the buffet bar.
Half the family (teenagers) had buffet [lunch] and the others chose ala carte meal menu. The teenagers were hungry so were happy with the buffet quantity and not so concern with food quality.
Ala carte meals came with side dishes but they were no re-filled like other korean restaurants. Service not efficient - had to spend time trying to catch the attention of service personnel.
The grilled mackerel, unagi (eel) and cold noodles were good. We ordered what we thought was Ginseng Chicken but used chicken drumsticks, probably we ordered half-chicken. This was below par for Korean Ginseng dish.
We are unlikely to come back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SingaTrav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hansang Korean Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Hansang Korean Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing