We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Japanese food which comes at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mikuni

Mikuni
Ranked #273 of 10,518 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mikuni offers a culinary tour through exquisite creations from its three stunning Teppanyaki, Sushi and Robatayaki live stations, each helmed by a master chef, that highlight the most premium of seasonal Japanese produce. Be delighted with Mikuni's multi-sensory dining experience complemented with signature creations by Executive Chef Moon's novel and exciting modern kaiseki dishes that seamlessly blend modern and century-old Japanese culinary techniques with a dash of theatrical humour.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
212 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food which comes at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We ate Teppanyaki and choose the standard menu. We wanted to change some things in order to have it glutenfree which was not an issue. The Glutenfree diat was well respected and the staff was very knowledgable of what needed to happen to make it glutenfree.

The quality of the food was excellent. Every single dish was presented and served with style. Ingredients were all fresh and topclass. We were truly impressed.

Of course, this all has its price and it is easy to spend 300 SGD per person for a standard meal. Really expensive ! THough you get something in return. Also the environment is cosy and very pleasant. We will be back !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    90
    25
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive but food quality is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We ordered a variety to share and found the general quality here pretty high. The sashimi platter, the makis, the teppanyaki courses, especially the fried rice and the steaks were done very very well. Service is prompt and the food is served very quickly. Price is a little on the high side but that is the case for good japanese food everywhere in SG these days.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AhweiSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
984 reviews
809 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,052 helpful votes
“Excellent with top-quality ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The cuisine may not be very creative, but the food here always uses top-quality ingredients, and it shows in the superb taste. Zen ambience. The service, however, is the weakest among the various components of a great restaurant. My lunch partner has soup spilled on him, without any offer of compensation or apologies from the management.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
216 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 star Japanese cuisine in singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I went there with my wife recently and surprisingly found that the restaurant has changed it's name and the entire decor as well. The new look was fantastic, it's a real zen place. Sure it's expensive so be prepared to splurge, we ate at the teppenyaki table, the chef was excellent and took special care as my wife has food allergies. The food was excellent including the sashimi. Everything was very fresh and the service was only to please us. Waiting for our next trip to Singapore to go and dine at the mikuni

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Good Japanese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the second time that my friend took my to this restaurant and the second time that I enjoyed it and this time even the decoration is beautiful and very zen. We had the set menu for lunch which had a lot of very good plates. The Sashimis were very good and perfectly fresh (you can always tell by the Sea Urchin), The Miso Soup was great as was the service. Very good address, nothing to add ;-)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jclinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikuni also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Mikuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing