We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local taste with great price”

Amoy Street Food Centre
Ranked #30 of 453 Quick Bites in Singapore
Price range: $35 - $7,980
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Central Area/City Area
Reviewed April 9, 2016

It's located near Tanjong Pagar MRT. It's my favourite place to eat breakfast and dinner during weekdays. But be careful during lunch on the weekdays, it's kinda nightmare (because you have to queue). I think everyone is going here since the price is relatively cheap and reasonable.

My favourite place is : Chicken Rice, Porridge and also Mr Salad
Mr Salad of course is my new favourite. They serve fresh veggies, even grilled chicken and grilled salmon with decent price. And my favourite dressing is Honey Mustard.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank G20481
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 130 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2016

I randomly stumbled across this place and was pretty pleased. There is a good variety of cuisines served and prices are very cheap. It's not a popular tourist spot so the food is authentic local food.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MyNameIsJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

2 floors of delicious options by a heritage rich neighborhood. 4.5 stars

Highlights:
- Black pepper beef hor fun: looked for the long lines and stood in this one. Loved watching them stir fry it in the big wok. Beef was tender, noodles were fresh, and gravy was peppery. 5 stars.
- Carrot cake: this version seemed to have larger rectangles of the rice cakes, bit more sweetness, and eggs more in big pieces than mixed in. Loved it. 5 stars.
- Chicken and rice: I'm not a fan of the traditional boiled version and here got the roasted and cha sui versions. Tender chicken was delicious and rice extra flavorful. Cha sui non pork to be halal was a trip with only difference in taste being thinner slices. 4.5 stars
- Tonkatsu: my son loves this dish so we were excited for this find. He ate it all and hub said it was good too. 4 stars

Lowlights:
- Layout: hard to navigate with the upstairs and downstairs. Lots of short rows with tables in between so lots of squeezing around.

Love the hawker's fare and would be happy to try more here.

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank eak49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Between 11:30 and 1:30, it's CRAZY busy. Every stall that's even half way good will have a significant wait. There are several very good local options (Fish Porridge, Noodles) as well as western options like Salads.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PJC1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

There are many food centers in Songapore but if you happen to stay at the CBD and want to try the most authentic food icons of Singapore, thisi is the place - much better than the much much bigger Lau Pa Sat center in front of our Sofitel Hotel.

Do not miss the Ho Kee rice-dumpling (bak-changs), the Char Kwee Tiauw and the Porridge.

Don't come too early if possible, the earliest around 8-9 as only a few stalls are open before 8.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Ronny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amoy Street Food Centre also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Amoy Street Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.