We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience we will not Re-peat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Re!

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Re!
Ranked #122 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An experience we will not Re-peat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

Let's start with the good: the decor is different, especially in this part of the world; location is good for Chinatown and Clarke's Quay is within walking distance (15-20 mins); MRT station 10 minutes walk; attentive and friendly barman running the very underused hotel bar; L'Occitane shower gels and shampoo, which my wife tells me are high-end bathing products.

The bad: Upon arrival, the manager tells us he doesn't have a double room available (even though we showed him the confirmation that we had booked a double). His attitude was virtually couldn't care less. There was no apology. Upon my insisting he says he will see what he can do as the hotel is apparently fully booked. When I checked the following day all he could offer us was a windowless double room. We had booked via an agent (Air Asia package) so perhaps the price wasn't as high as the hotel might charge someone who comes in off the street, but that does not excuse shoving us in cheaper rooms.

The compact rooms include an en suite but the air con unit is piped to allow water vapour to flow into the bathroom. This results in a large puddle of water right in the middle of the WC and wash facilities (see photos). It would have been more sensible to pipe into the separate shower area if anywhere, but instead you have to wade through water every time you want to use the loo or wash your hands. When we raised this with the hotel the solution of the housekeeper was to keep a bathmat on the floor at all times. Consequently that bathmat was totally sodden at all times. I hasten to add that the housekeeper was very pleasant and polite and was clearly used to this issue being raised, but the "solution" was far from adequate.

Of the twin beds, one of the covers was heavily stained. Though changed immediately upon my raising a complaint, it should not have been left on the bed in the first place.

The kitsch decor suggests a sense of fun which is sadly lacking from the staff members, particularly the duty manager. It's rather jarring to see a hotel marketed as a fun and trendy place populated by certain members of staff who are po-faced, sullen and unhelpful. Of course not all the staff are bad, but this was sufficiently bad an experience for me to be able to recommend that the place be avoided.

Overall, not the worst place we've stayed, but far from the 'zany fun palace' that other reviewers would have you believe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    329
    166
    65
    27
See reviews for
89
322
98
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
LoCal (San Diego)
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Re! on our way back to the US from Malaysia. It was a shortish walk from the train station and, although we knew the way to walk, the signs were helpful.

The staff were more than efficient...Upon check in, I asked for a quiet room, as I am a light sleeper...Bingo, they gave us a 4th floor room on the park side. It was very quiet and appreciated. We called housekeeping for an iron and ironing board, and a staff person literally was at our door with them within 3 minutes.

The room was very clean, but the lime green color scheme was interesting. When we checked in, they had some workers doing some refurbishing in the elevators, which reeked of chemical adhesives. This did not last long, thankfully. We are big walkers, and Chinatown was a short walk away. We didn't need our room cleaned, and we were not disturbed.

One curious thing, though. We needed a 5AM cab ride to catch our plane. We asked how much the fare should be. We were told that it was about S$25, so we planned accordingly. The cab was on time, and speed racer got us to the airport very quickly. The meter read $23, so I was pretty happy, until the driver hit a little button and S$48 came up. There is a S$25 surcharge for cab rides between midnight and 6AM. We had enough cash to pay, but it would have been helpful to be informed of this before hand.

Lastly, the hotel's internet is something like S$10.70 per hour with taxes, and is very high speed.

I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drewmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seychelles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

Needed a break from the quiet that is living in the Seychelles (no, I'm not complaining, just needed some culture/vibrancy/shopping/bars/food etc) and fished around on tripadvisor until we found this one. Couldn't have made a better choice. Upgraded to Business Club when we arrived, still a small room but plenty big enough for myself, wife and 2 year old. Decor is as described, bright and busy. Only about a year open, used to be a school apparently. Bar, eatery and lobby all good, everywhere clean and tidy. Staff superb, couldn't fault the service or attitude of anyone we dealt with. Boy managed to unscrew the bathroom door handle, bloke came and fixed it pronto no complaints. Front of house staff were happy entertaining son while we ate and no-one seemed to mind him doing running around and making like a lion. Food was good, breakfast was american buffet style, eat as much as you like, which I did. I don't think 7 hash browns is excessive. Location is great, 5 mins from MRT, 15 from Chinatown walking. MRT really is as described, fast, clean, cheap and regular (every 8 mins!) and yet quiet, no sound during the night from in or outside. Saw a sea eagle soaring above the park next door, oasis in the highrise metropolis.
Chinatown is like every chinatown I've ever been to, Little India is grubby but great (avoid Sunday, absolute bedlam), Orchard Rd not as bad as expected, you really can sate any possible shopping need. Thieves market on a Sunday just like a carboot at home, only more shoes. Sentosa was also better than feared, cable car and monorail were ace, underwater world shoddy but still extraordinary, dolphinlagoon a bit ropey, Cafe Del Mar full of beautiful (and not so-) people. If taking kids, pack their swimmies wherever you go, both sentosa and zoo have lovely fountain/play areas for them to get soaked in. We didn't, but how we laughed to see how much water a nappy can soak up and still stay on! round his knees, admittedly, but still on.
hawkers markets have to be seen, amazing and intimidating food choices ( duck's head, neck, feet, and all points inbetween.) but everyone smiley, welcoming and friendly, didn't feel threatened once. Ripped off once by the taxi back from the zoo, claimed a 35% increase because of peak time. Hotel staff advised to ask for a receipt if suspecting ripoff and they'll have a look and phone the company if they agree and have words.
i could go on and on. We are fairly easily pleased and don't do hotels often but this place made oour stay what it was, which was brilliant. we will be going back.

  • Liked — Clean, unusual decor, everything worked, no surprises.
  • Disliked — Shower head didn't stay still. What a thing to not like!
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank transitphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyjo49
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed her for 5 days on way back from oz. This was ideal for us as we like to be away from busy area's but we only had a 5 minute walk to the railway station. A shuttle bus was provided a few times a day but we preferred to walk. The hotel has been refurbished from an office block, but has been very well done. It is a bit modern in the decor but everything was clean and comfortable. The room was great with a/c and a small fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, nothing was too much trouble for the staff especially the chap in the wine bar!!. One point to bear in mind, the concierge staff were reluctant to book us the airport shuttle and suggested a taxi, they probably get some sort of payoff. We persisted and were very pleased with the result. The hotel doesn't have a pool which is a bit disappointing when the temp. is in the 30's. Perhaps they could consider adding one in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyjo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
271 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

- close to Outram Park MRT station (using the back entrance and walking through the park area.
- fast check in, upgraded to a bigger room, on the 12th floor overlooking the park. Nice and quiet. Friendly and helpful staff.
- Room is quite nice – very clean and modern. No complaints about the room at all. Very good air conditioning (thank goodness in the Singapore heat and humidity). Nice modern bathroom, with quality toiletries.
- Breakfast is varied, with some changes to the hot dishes every day. Their coffee is excellent, freshly brewed on demand à l’Europe. Had café au lait at every breakfast.
- only drawback is lack of restaurants, shops and convenience stores nearby. A plus is the quiet location of the hotel.
- Free unlimited in the room WiFi is great.
- Could have another light near the desk as the room is somewhat dark.
- A surprise was the need to agree to have SGD50 per day pre authorized on Visa even though we had completely prepaid our stay. The amount is only a pre-authorization. When asked for confirmation that the deposit was unlocked, we were told not too worry and no receipt was issued.
- Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Nice and close to Outram MRT if you know the shortcut, this hotel is a very unusual hotel (my room was bright green, incidentally). Everything worked beautifully in the well-appointed room; I was rather pleased (arriving at 11.00pm) that there was a good spicy noodle meal available in the room.

Wifi is excellent; you get CNN, BBC World News and Channel NewsAsia on the television (in English), and the bathroom was splendidly clean and functional.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

My husband and I were delighted we choose "Hotel Re!" for our stopover and would definately stay there again. We were looking for somewhere cheaper than the usual 5 star hotel rates for SIN, but did not want to risk staying in a 3 star hotel. We also wanted a Hotel that has individual character, is clean and functional and conveniently located. Hotel Re! managed to deliver all of this and more.

The hotel looked exactly as it presented on their website and the owners have successfully recreated an interesting 60's feel about it throughout. We liked the zanny way, they utilised their "Re" branding on fittings and furnishings and have used this to name all the hotel services such as "Re-vive" (restaurant), "Re-lax" (Spa) etc.

When we checked in and asked for a purple room (because that is my favorite colour), we were upgraded without any further charge, which we thought was a very nice touch. Our room had all sorts of interesting nooks and crannies and was very hip with padded silver head board and purple people sillouette on wall. The bed was very comfortable and had a useful electronic control panel on the bedside table for lights, a/c, etc. The suite also had a modern large flat screen TV, free internet connection and a panoramic view of the city. The ensuite bathroom was very nice too with an open plan shower, frosted glass doors and purple tiles.

We could not fault the service and all the staff we encountered were efficient, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyrimington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#152 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kai
#121 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#120 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#111 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re!

Property: Hotel Re!
Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and decor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone's throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel's convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Re! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing